7/10 Jubalee OTJ 5/2015 BG 196 Please Help!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kadie (Juba's Mom)

Member Since 2015
I'm needing advice on what to do with my kitty Jubalee Jujubee!!
Juba has been off insulin since May 1, 2015. Throughout many feeding program changes, we finally got normal BG numbers with Fancy Feast Turkey and Giblets classic.
Juba started having higher numbers on July 4, when she threw up that morning. I figured it was because I gave her Fancy Feast Savory Salmon and that made her stomach upset.
Juba has had constant higher numbers and hasn't dropped.
I'm beginning to worry.
Today, July 10 we bought Natures Variety Rabbit to see if that would help.
Juba was 169 at 10:50am and 196 at 8:00pm this evening.
What should I do????
Please help!!!!
 
Don't panic.
The most common reasons for the glucose to rise are medical and include infection. A vet visit is in order to check for infection or other issues.
If possible, take a look in the mouth - are the gums red? Is there tartar on the teeth? A dental may help return the glucose to normal.
Is Juba meatloafing - crouched and looking uncomfortable? Pancreatitis is a trigger for high glucose and there is a test the vet can do to check for it.
 
Don't panic.
The most common reasons for the glucose to rise are medical and include infection. A vet visit is in order to check for infection or other issues.
If possible, take a look in the mouth - are the gums red? Is there tartar on the teeth? A dental may help return the glucose to normal.
Is Juba meatloafing - crouched and looking uncomfortable? Pancreatitis is a trigger for high glucose and there is a test the vet can do to check for it.

Juba is acting completely and 100% herself. She's eating all her meals, playing, chatting, etc.
I'm considering a visit to the vet tomorrow and maybe run some tests to see if there's anything wrong.
The last time she went to the vet she had a complete blood panel preformed and the only test that came back abnormal was elevated lymphocytes. So we took away the beef and chicken and her numbers lowered back into the greens.
If we were to start her on insulin therapy in the near future....I have no idea what dose we should start her out at. Since she was so sensitive last time, I'm so nervous she may go hypo again after a short period.
 
If she needs insulin again and she was really sensitive, you may find that a U-40 insulin such as ProZinc or BCP PZI may be easier to use as it is possible to microdose (0.2 units) using a U-100 syringe and a conversion chart.
 
Hi Kadie

I'm sorry Juba's still having problems, but I have to agree with @Chris & China that it looks as though she might need just a little more support from insulin for a short while - she does look to have struggled a bit with her numbers since soon after she went OTJ. I think even if it's allergies or stress causing her numbers to be higher, if they're above normal most of the time, you might still want to put her back on insulin to stop them getting any further out of range. Though I think from the way she reacted to insulin before, you're probably looking at a very small dose and possibly even increasing the carbs in her food a little in the early part of her cycle - you don't want to put her back on and have her earn a reduction immediately if she's struggling without that bit of support for now.

I'm sorry - I know it isn't what you want to hear, but I do think it might be better to go for it now than wait and have her numbers go higher. :bighug: :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top