Howiesmom
Member Since 2020
Yesterday’s thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-9-help-howie-ate-bread.249651/
@Wendy&Neko
Today was another whirlwind with Howie as he got into my banana chocolate chip muffins after he got into bread last night. He has NEVER done this where he’s gotten into food like he did. I had to call the vet as he ate some chocolate so I tried giving him peroxide to induce vomiting which didn’t work. He was pretty lethargic all afternoon, but snapped out if it eventually. I’m glad I didn’t end up having to take him to the emergency vet.
I believe his insulin antibodies are breaking through. This would be great but I have to leave Monday afternoon through Wednesday afternoon for work. I have a friend coming to watch him and will begrudgingly test him but probably only at shot time with her work schedule too. I’m trying to figure out what dose to put him at while I’m gone as he has not been stable lately even with a dose decrease to 21 units Fri AM. I don’t know if I bump him down to 19 units or even more starting Sunday? These incidents yesterday and today with bread and chocolate chip muffins (with subsequent R doses) have not helped me figure this out very easily! I have a friend coming to feed him tonight as I have plans and she will do a BCS and mix in some MC food with his dinner. I appreciate all ideas/thoughts!
AMPS: 61
+4: 120 (after he ate the muffin)
+6.25: 176 (8R)
+7: 162
+10: 61 (too much of an R dose this afternoon apparently)
(SORRY…I THOUGHT I PUT THIS ON THE L/L FORUM BUT I DON’T KNOW HOW TO MOVE IT!)
@Wendy&Neko
Today was another whirlwind with Howie as he got into my banana chocolate chip muffins after he got into bread last night. He has NEVER done this where he’s gotten into food like he did. I had to call the vet as he ate some chocolate so I tried giving him peroxide to induce vomiting which didn’t work. He was pretty lethargic all afternoon, but snapped out if it eventually. I’m glad I didn’t end up having to take him to the emergency vet.
I believe his insulin antibodies are breaking through. This would be great but I have to leave Monday afternoon through Wednesday afternoon for work. I have a friend coming to watch him and will begrudgingly test him but probably only at shot time with her work schedule too. I’m trying to figure out what dose to put him at while I’m gone as he has not been stable lately even with a dose decrease to 21 units Fri AM. I don’t know if I bump him down to 19 units or even more starting Sunday? These incidents yesterday and today with bread and chocolate chip muffins (with subsequent R doses) have not helped me figure this out very easily! I have a friend coming to feed him tonight as I have plans and she will do a BCS and mix in some MC food with his dinner. I appreciate all ideas/thoughts!
AMPS: 61
+4: 120 (after he ate the muffin)
+6.25: 176 (8R)
+7: 162
+10: 61 (too much of an R dose this afternoon apparently)
(SORRY…I THOUGHT I PUT THIS ON THE L/L FORUM BUT I DON’T KNOW HOW TO MOVE IT!)