7/10 Emma AMPS 200 PMPS 303

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kristen & Emma (GA)

Member Since 2010
Thursday

Happy Saturday AM all! ~O) I didn't post anything yesterday because it was a long busy day, and nothing particularly interesting was happening. She was hanging in the yellows and pinks all day. But today her AMPS is 200 - the lowest so far!

She's been a pretty happy kitty the last several days. I need to get a picture of her with her new toy. She snuggles it, and lays on it, and licks it. It's so sweet, because she hasn't had any interest in toys for a LONG time now. She's so interested in it that the dogs think it must be something pretty cool, and keep trying to get it from her. Good thing she's not afraid of them! She just stands her ground and lays on top of it. :mrgreen:

Given the low AMPS, I'm going to try to do some testing this morning. I spoke with her vet yesterday, and she reviewed the spreadsheet while we were on the phone. She is fine with what I've been doing so far, but asked me to leave her at 1.0 U BID for 2 weeks before I make any further changes.

Have a great day all! I think we're supposed to get some rain here in Boston, which we desperately need. It'll be a good day to stay in the house!
 
Re: 7/10 Emma AMPS 200!

Did your vet give you an explanation for why she wants Emma to stick at this dose for 2 weeks?

I would encourage you to take another look at the Tight Regulation Protocol. My concern is that letting Emma hang out in the pinks and yellows may be a set up for insulin resistance. The longer that Emma spends in higher numbers, the more her body interprets these higher than normal numbers as "normal." As a result, it can take more insulin to bring the numbers down and when they do come down, there is a good chance her liver will panic and she'll bounce. The bouncing is expected but it would be better if Emma spent as much time as possible in numbers that were healthier. The pinks and some of those yellows are ranges that are not conducive to getting her pancreas to heal. Based on the protocol, unless Emma sees some green today, I'd think dosecrease tomorrow would be indicated.
 
Re: 7/10 Emma AMPS 200!

SO cute about the way she protects her little toy! Very nice AMPS for Emma too!
ETA: I see on your SS that she has a blue too today! Nice! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/10 Emma AMPS 200!

Thanks Sienne. The doctor did explain her reasoning. I brought up the protocol during our conversation, and she is familiar with it. She also said she's seen many cats who don't react to a new dose for 14 days, and is concerned that Emma needs more time to adjust to the 1.0U BID she's getting now. Her stand is that doses should be maintained for a minimum of 7 days, and usually for 2 weeks.

I agreed to keep her at 1.0U BID for 2 weeks and see what happens.
 
So far today we've had a blue, some yellows, and some pinks. I was hoping she'd stay in the blues longer, given her AMPS, but I guess that's for another day.

I'm struggling with the right decision for Emma regarding what to do about her dosing. Her doctor has been great with everything else that's gone on with her, and has given me a lot of freedom to try different things with her other issues. She hasn't been very firm about most things, but she was very adamant yesterday about keeping Emma at 1.0 BID for 2 weeks. I've read the protocol, and like I wrote earlier, she is also familiar with it, and I know this strategy is not in keeping with that. And I'm very aware that Emma can become insulin resistant. I, myself have that problem. For me it involves medication not insulin injections, but it is a problem.

It's so hard to know exactly what to do. I do know that the doctor has had numerous diabetic patients, and has had many of them get OTJ. I think I need to at least try what she wants to do for the next week and a half (til we get to the 2 week mark). After that I'll make a decision on how to proceed.

I'm so appreciative of the assistance and advice I've gotten so far on this board, and I hope, should the doctor's approach not work out, that I can continue to ask you all for you input. Thank you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top