7/10 Angie pmbg=54/57 +2=76 - skip in morning or leave food?

Status
Not open for further replies.

GraceAndAngie

Member Since 2013
Good evening everyone,

Angie had a funny day today. Her +3 (around her usual nadir) was higher than her amps but only slightly. It made me wonder if I gave her a fur shot but I thought it was a good one at the time. She skipped her +9 meal this morning - I slept through it and didn't realise that she didn't eat it until I refilled her automatic feeder at dinner.

I don't have a lot of strips left - about 10. I was expecting more to arrive in the mail any day since Monday.

She's already eaten dinner. I usually let her before I test because she is very uncooperative on an empty stomach but now I realise why I shouldn't - I can't stall and retest to see if she is coming up or not.

Today recap:
+9 skipped first breakfast
amps=103, second breakfast
+2, third breakfast
+3=115
+9= first dinner
pmbg=54/57 I tested twice, second dinner

Is there anything to do except skip, now that she's eaten already?

Thanks,
Grace
 
Re: Angie pmbg=54/57 - what do I do?

Well, I skipped - it's been an hour. Unfortunately Angie seems to pick the evenings for her anomalies, while most of you guys are fast asleep. I'd prefer the mornings but she's always had her own mind about things.
 
Re: Angie pmbg=54/57 +2=76 - skip in morning or leave food?

Hi LL,

I need to go out early in the morning tomorrow at about Angie's +2. I am going to queue up at a bureaucratic organisation so I don't know what time I'll be home. I imagine that it will be after her +4. Her nadir is usually about +3.

Given that I've skipped tonight, what kind of ambg should I shoot or skip on in the morning?

Also, I know that if I keep skipping, I'm reducing her chances of going off insulin. Is there something I should have done tonight instead of skipping?

I'm thinking of taking her back to the vet tomorrow. She's got lovely numbers so I would have thought her drinking and peeing would be back to normal but she's still drinking and peeing a lot. Her pupils are still sometimes different sizes. That started with her recent URI but didn't go away with the URI symptoms on antibiotics. I would have taken her earlier - I've just been really worried about money.

Thanks,
Grace
 
Re: Angie pmbg=54/57 +2=76 - skip in morning or leave food?

Hi Grace,

I can't give dosing advice, but wanted to bump this up for you. Great numbers for Angie!!
 
Re: Angie pmbg=54/57 +2=76 - skip in morning or leave food?

You might want to print out this post on dealing with low pre-shot numbers since Angie's timing seems to coincide with when the board is least active. The other option would have been to stall.

It's hard to know what Angie's BG will be like with a skipped shot. The last time you skipped, it didn't look like it had much of an effect on Angie's numbers. She is doing very, very well! At one level, I'm curious as to what will happen if you were to skip in the morning. Will Angie keep her numbers in a normal range? I think you're going to need to gauge where Angie's numbers are an whether you're comfortable shooting. Remember, you can always leave out some medium carb food since you'll be gone.

FWIW, I would not rely on Angie's nadir always being at +3. My cat typically has an early nadir -- except on days when she doesn't!

I don't know what to tell you about the excess urination. If you're taking Angie in to the vet, it may be worth asking if she may have a urinary tract infection. It may also be a matter of sterile cystitis. If it's the latter, antibiotics don't do anything. An over the counter product like Cosequin that contains glucosamine and chondroiten may help. While this is used for joint health, it has positive effects on the bladder.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top