7/1 Tessa AMPS 255 +2 258 +4 253 +6 258 PMPS 236 +2.25 245

tessa's mom

Member Since 2022
Previous: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-30-tessa-amps-337-finally-eating.291652/

Her appetite seems to be back finally. We set out about a can of food spread out in multiple bowls near her normal sleeping spots this morning and she had eaten almost all of the food by +2.

She's still on bupe but we decided to stop giving the gabapentin because she hates it so much. Prior to this surgery we could always add the gabapentin to her food but with her not eating we've had to give meds with medicine syringes which is not a fun time with her. She hissed at me when I gave bupe this morning and I think I can count on one hand how many time I've heard Tessa hiss and none of them prior to now have been at me. I just want her to feel better. :(
 
Previous: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-30-tessa-amps-337-finally-eating.291652/

Her appetite seems to be back finally. We set out about a can of food spread out in multiple bowls near her normal sleeping spots this morning and she had eaten almost all of the food by +2.

She's still on bupe but we decided to stop giving the gabapentin because she hates it so much. Prior to this surgery we could always add the gabapentin to her food but with her not eating we've had to give meds with medicine syringes which is not a fun time with her. She hissed at me when I gave bupe this morning and I think I can count on one hand how many time I've heard Tessa hiss and none of them prior to now have been at me. I just want her to feel better. :(
Awww. Hoping she continues to feel better :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Now that she's eating again, I think it's time to increase her dose again since she's staying pretty high right now. I'm sure part of it is inflammation and pain but she needed an increase before the surgery too. I'm thinking we can increase either tonight or tomorrow morning, I'm leaning towards tomorrow so I can see a full day of normal eating first. Any thoughts?
 
I agree on the increase. You've been on this dose more than long enough and she seems to have lost her greens.

Thanks! I just wasn't sure if I should increase tonight or tomorrow morning.

Her not eating really threw a wrench in everything because I could not in good conscience increase when I didn't know if she was going to eat. There was a point over the weekend that I was seriously considering syringe feeding because she just would not eat anything. Thankfully I think we've turned the corner on that. It's been a bit tough to get tests from her too because she chitters at me when I touch her sometimes. But she NEEDS this increase so she's gonna have to just get over it. I think she is just tired of being handled and really wants some time to decompress.
 
I would wait to increase until tomorrow. She's having a really flat yellow cycle. Sometimes that precedes a very active cycle.
 
Back
Top