7/1 Shakes - interesting- ideas

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmartini4

Very Active Member
Is that a better subject line..... :mrgreen:

Hi everyone! hope everyone has a happy Friday and a long weekend!! :mrgreen:

So I was looking at his speadsheet and it hit me...it seems that every 5 days about..
is when he hits me with a low 200's preshot....so there is a pattern there..

but what could it mean> anyone have any ideas>??

thanks and have a great day!
 
Hi Denise,
I've not visited with you before, but I couldn't resist your subject line. I wonder if your pattern has anything to do with the food. Do you feed Shakes a variety of flavors and carb counts and on those days when you get preshots in the 200s, it's because it's a lower carb food?

Marcy & Klinger
 
Hi Marcy,

Shakes gets the same FF every day, very low carb...so its not the food... :?
I have also noticed that when he has a yellow amps he will have a pink pmps and vise versa...

I am thinking that there is a cycle here and I am not seeing why....
 
Denise, I will visit your thread if you put vomit in the subject line...but I sure hope you don’t have to!!!
;-)

Is Shakes better today, no throwing up or anything?

Looking at his spreadsheet, it kind of reminds me of Asher’s pattern of a good day with a nice nadir, followed by a flatter blah one.
Wish I had answers for ya but I don’t :(

The only thing I can say is I think we get better numbers usually if we feed a chicken snack mid day and about 3 am. And the variable is he eats a slightly diff amount every day. Do you only feed twice a day or do you have food out all day, (sorry I forget) ?
 
From the spot checks you have it looks like he goes between cycles that his body allows the insulin to work to its fullest and cycles where his body probably fights it a little bit (glycogen stores from the liver, etc....) Normally, I'd say hold the dose until things even out, but you have been at this dose for a while. Is TID a possibility for you guys with your schedule? Just trying to figure out ways to give Shakes a little longer duration.
 
Hi EVeryone,
Thanks for the input!

Donna, its crazy how if the insulin works well in the moring then he has a flat night and vise versa
and every 5 days he goes very low...
I am banging my head trying to figure this out

I feed him 2x a day, but I also leave the food out all day for him to munch on..somtimes he does and
sometimes he doesnt ...unfortuanely I can only shoo thim up twice a day...i work too far away..
I am afraid to raise because on the 5th day he drops so much,,,maybe if I am home, I wont reduce
the insulin on the ow day and track him and see what happens...maybe he is trying to break thru and I am not letting him because i lower the dose on the low day... :?
Guess I shall wait and see...If I am right he should have a very low day on Tuesday and I am off so I can shoot the same number and watch him all day (yes, fun day off)
sorry I am rambling! Have a great night everyone
Denise and SHakes
 
I like your idea of experimenting on Tuesday when you can test through it.

So who's going to come up with the secret handshake. :-D
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
He definitely qualifies for membership in the new and growing Difficult Kitties Club. You guys need a secret handshake!

Denise, sorry you have to join our club! But, glad to have you! :smile:
 
Oh have some wine Denise-- it will be ok!

Tomorrow is Saturday, so he will have a great day!
 
Interesting though, he had a low day on Thursday morning so I am wondering if he will have a low
Saturday....Let the saga continue...just add some wine, and dont forget the secret tail shake!! :mrgreen:
for the kitties!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top