7/1 Samwise AMPS 384 +5 185 +8 85 +12 110+15 78

Status
Not open for further replies.

sueandsamwise

Member Since 2010
AMPS 384 .75u
I am going to start using a lower dose today to keep Sammy in the higher #'s until I can test more consistently. I am so afraid of coming home and not finding him well.

+5 185 Got Sammy at lunch, He had some food and a couple of treats. I am still having trouble getting his ears to bleed and testing him.

+8 85

pmps 110 .5 u

I had the full dose of .75 loaded up and chickened out and shot .5 Sorry guys, I know that was wrong. I am testing him before bed.

+15 78
 
Re: 7/1 Samwise AMPS 384

yes, and if you get a number that is perhaps too low to shoot comfortably get on the board and ask.
you will likely stall to make sure she is rising. but ask. don't just shoot.
good luck sue,
you still have pzi friends totally behind you
lori
 
Re: 7/1 Samwise AMPS 384

Hi Sue,

I think lowering the dose until things settle down for you and DH is a wise choice. Safety first.

And like Sienne pointed out - with Lantus it's important to shoot the same dose, Am & PM.

Hang in there and test when you can. Who knows - given a chance, the lower dose given consistently just may agree with him.
 
Re: 7/1 Samwise AMPS 384

Okay, I'll do the pm dose at .75 and start tomorrow on the lower one. I hope it works out.
 
Re: 7/1 Samwise AMPS 384

lori and tom said:
yes, and if you get a number that is perhaps too low to shoot comfortably get on the board and ask.
you will likely stall to make sure she is rising. but ask. don't just shoot.
good luck sue,
you still have pzi friends totally behind you
lori


Thanks Lori. I miss you guys but I think once I get this dosing down on this insulin Sam will get better. He looks better already & is more alert and playful! :-D
 
Re: 7/1 Samwise AMPS 384 +5 185

sue, the more you poke their poor little ears, the easier they bleed. if i remember correctly, punkin's took about 4 weeks of poking him a billion times before they grew more capillaries and they consistently bled. and when i say a billion i'm probably not exaggerating too much - sometimes it took 7 pokes to get blood times 6 times a day, and sometimes i gave up, but i really did stay at it cuz i kept thinking too much depended on me hanging in there. at some point sam's ears will give it up! :lol:
 
Re: 7/1 Samwise AMPS 384 +5 185

Hey Sue!

Just dropping in from PZI land to check on you and Sammy.

Good Luck -- and yes, we wish you and Sammy all the best!

Kim
 
Re: 7/1 Samwise AMPS 384 +5 185

It's kind of funny because Sam's ears used to bleed at the drop of a hat. Then, it was just the left, then just the right, now it seems to be the right again. Poor SAm gets so frustrated at being poked 5 or 6 times that he growls, hisses, and tried to bite me again today. Little sod. I don't blame him though, I wouldn't like it either. :sad:
 
Re: 7/1 Samwise AMPS 384 +5 185

Hi Sue! I don't know if you've already shot for tonight or not, but have you considered going to the lower dose with tonight's shot rather than in the morning? He got a pretty huge drop last night, so I'm thinking go for the lower dose right away! I don't know Lantus, that's just what makes sense to me.

Someone yesterday mentioned 0.25. I don't know whether 0.25 or 0.5 is the right choice, but hopefully the Lantus crew will let you know! Then I'd just make myself a sticky with the dose on it and post it on the fridge or something, and stay with that unless he earns a new dose reduction, or if his PS is below whatever your no-shoot is (hopefully someone can tell you that too if they haven't already - I know it's different than PZI, but with the "data ready" factor hopefully someone can let you know what the PS level is where you have enough data to shoot - I certainly can't tell you, I just don't know how to interpret Lantus well enough, but hopefully others can or already have!).

Like people said, it's important with Lantus I guess not to raise the dose when the PS is higher, so that's why I'd make myself a sticky with Sammy's new dose, and take any factor of decision-making out of it.

Anyway, hope it goes great, and hope you are feeling ok!!!! :YMHUG:

[edited for typos]
 
Re: 7/1 Samwise AMPS 384 +5 185

I like the idea of reducing to 0.5. He got into the 40s on 0.75 a couple of days ago, and most likely did it again last night even on an empty shed, so I would go ahead and reduce tonight. Just be sure to test tonight too, because even if you reduce tonight, tonight's 0.5 shot will have some shed action behind it from this morning's 0.75 (meaning that even if you shoot less tonight, the cycle still might act like it was a 0.75u cycle). Good luck with the reduction!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top