7-1 Pepper +3.75/55, +4/60, +4.5/71, +5/70, +5.5/77,+6/77

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deb and Pepper

Member Since 2011
Looks like I will be lowing his dose again today. :-D Think I will need to watch him with this low number at AMPS. Oh well, planned to do a curve today any ways. :lol:

I also weighed him last night, he's gained 1 lb. :-D :-D :-D

I have a question. I have looked at a lot of SS's and Pepper seems to not have as high numbers as I have seen on a lot of them and his numbers continue to drop almost daily since I put him on ultra low carbs (4 & below). Does he have a good chance of going OTJ since his numbers are so low this early in treatment?
 
Re: 7-1 Pepper +2/86, +4/58, AMPS/108, +1/116, +2/59

If you're using the tight regulation protocol, what the research suggests is that cats within the first year of diagnosis have the best chance for remission. There's no way to know if Pepper's numbers give him a better chance than what the research suggests -- or trying t interpret the data that way could be misleading.

Please get a +2.5 test. The only way that Pepper gets a decreased dose is if his numbers drop below 50. However, you need to be vigilent when you see a +2 that's already in fhe 50s. You did great shooting low and getting the +1 and +2. We just don't want Pepper to sit in really low numbers overly long so testing to control the cycle is important.

This note on managing low numbers will give you guidelines.
 
Re: 7-1 Pepper +2/86, +4/58, AMPS/108, +1/116, +2/59

Thanks Sienne.

Since I changed his feeding times to shot, +2 & +4 his numbers have been holding pretty steady between shots, except for the trip to Ohio and for meeting the Husky my son has. That sort of raised his BG for a day. :lol: But since he got used to Talon and was more comfortable with riding in the van on the way back, his numbers have been pretty steady.

I'm a lot more comfortable shooting the lower numbers now that he's been so level, but I am doing a curve today so I will be watching his numbers pretty good today.
 
Re: 7-1 Pepper +6/75, +8/74, +10/65, PMPS/133, +2/33, +2.5/3

Well dang, thought I should have reduced his dose at PMPS by the way all his numbers were today, now he's very low. +2 was his 2nd feed after PMPS, (he will get another at +4) so that should bring him up again like usual. Got a 34 at +2.5.

My 11 yr old grandson was here today helping me unpack and helped with all the pokes today. We've been laughing at Pepper all day because he yowls like it's hurting him and we hadn't even poked him yet. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Will keep getting half hour pokes. Had planned to do a 24 hr curve so had already planned to be up all night tonight. Dose goes down to .25 at AMPS. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7-1 Pepper +4/59, +6/75, +8/74, +10/65, PMPS/133, +2/33

Awesome #'s!!! Keep going Pepper!!!! :RAHCAT
 
Re: 7-1 Pepper +4/59, +6/75, +8/74, +10/65, PMPS/133, +2/33

34 at +2?? Make sure you flag your post so the more experienced gals can help you (write HELP in your subject line). This # is way too low and you need to feed him some high carb food and/or give him karo syrup. You are very early in the cycle so his #'s will most likely continue to fall. You need to stay vigilent on these #'s and test every 20 minutes. I had the same night last night so make sure you stay on top of it! I am not an expert on this so I hope one of the other gals comes on....
 
Re: 7-1 Pepper +4/59, +6/75, +8/74, +10/65, PMPS/133, +2/33

I'm not too worried. If you look at his SS he's had a lot of low numbers since we started. And he's up and playing with his spin toy right now right in front of me (a ball inside a plastic circle that he hits and it spins around the circle, he loves it and get very aggressive with it). He seems to like them low numbers.

His +3 is 30. Gave him 1/2 oz of food mixed with about 1/2 teaspoon Karo. I don't want to give him high carb food yet unless this doesn't stick because it will take his numbers too high in a few hours. Would rather feed small amounts of low carb food more often until the insulin wears off.
 
Re: 7-1 Pepper +10/65, PMPS/133, +2/33, +2.5/34, +3/30

Just remember they can be fine one moment and crash the next so have your "what to do" instructions handy just in case! The karo syrup should help with the #'s, but keep testing about every 20 minutes to make sure his #'s are going up.
Good luck! It'll be a long night - but you guys can do it. Go Pepper Go!
 
Re: 7-1 Pepper +10/65, PMPS/133, +2/33, +2.5/34, +3/30

The Karo is probably higher carb than anything you could feed out of a can. It's corn syrup -- basically pure sugar.

Pepper may be completely asymptomatic and that's good. It's just that you don't want a cat sitting in these low numbers overly long. I'd really like to see him surfing at least in the 50s. Right now, you have absolutely no wiggle room and no room for error. Please get his numbers up. You are probably going to be at this for several hours. The Karo is going to wear off relatively quickly so you need his numbers up higher than where they are.
 
Re: 7-1 Pepper +10/65, PMPS/133, +2/33, +2.5/34, +3/30

Deb..the other thing to remember is karo can wear off quickly so you may think they are up but then it wears off and they come right back down again. We've used karo alot in the past and I do think that using HC food/gravy gets them up and lets them stay up. Once they have earned a reduction, you need to get them back up.
 
Re: 7-1 Pepper +10/65, PMPS/133, +2/33, +2.5/34, +3/30, +3.5

His +3.5 is 41. He get another full mean at +4 so that should bring his numbers up a lot in about 45 mins to 1 hr. And I am giving him 2 high carb treats for each poke so they will also help get it up.
 
Re: 7-1 Pepper +10/65, PMPS/133, +2/33, +2.5/34, +3/30, +3.5

If they are dry treats, they will take way too much time to get into Pepper's system Give HC food NOW. Surfing the 30s and 40s is too low. This is now 90 minutes in too low numbers. Do not rely on feeding his next meal. Give him his next mini-meal and add some gravy or karo to it.
 
Re: 7-1 Pepper +10/65, PMPS/133, +2/33, +2.5/34, +3/30, +3.5

41 is better but with meter variance, he could still be in the 30s. Any reason why he has to wait until +4? With numbers like this, I'd feed him now.....just my thoughts.
 
Re: 7-1 Pepper +10/65, PMPS/133, +2/33, +2.5/34, +3/30, +3.5

Marjorie raises a great point. Knowing what I know now, these numbers are making me really nervous. Above 50 is the safe zone.

Edit: Just saw the 55. TERRIFIC! I'll let the others with more experience guide you but I believe the next step is to test again in 1/2 hour to make sure that Pepper doesn't dip again.
 
Re: 7-1 Pepper +2/33, +2.5/34, +3/30, +3.5/41, +3.75/55

Good!!

You're going to have to keep testing. The HC wears off and may drop numbers back down. You can't get complacent. Numbers will wobble. Keep doing what your're doing -- test, feed, and then wait and re=test (or, as we sometimes refer to it, "lather, rinse, and repeat").
 
Re: 7-1 Pepper +2/33, +2.5/34, +3/30, +3.5/41, +3.75/55

The treats are moist treats and I had already planned last night to do a 24 hr curve on him today/tonight so I was already planning to stay up all night.
 
Re: 7-1 Pepper +2/33, +2.5/34, +3/30, +3.5/41, +3.75/55

Good luck Deb! You're doing terrific!

Please give extra kisses to Pepper's ears for me!
 
Re: 7-1 Pepper +2/33, +2.5/34, +3/30, +3.5/41, +3.75/55

Did someone suggest a 24 hour curve? That seems like alot. Sometimes we do mini curves where you test every couple hours.

I'm glad to see you've gotten him up. Bonnie is right that the 50s are a good place for him to surf. You have a long night ahead and I hope you can get him up for a nice surf where he doesn't wobble too much. I'll keep checking in. And yes, you can test him every 30 mins as long as he is staying up and once he's had a few tests like that and is coming up, you can later go to every hour.
 
Re: 7-1 Pepper +2/33, +2.5/34, +3/30, +3.5/41, +3.75/55, +4/

He just ate a full meal now and his numbers are up to 60 and he's still beating the daylight out of his toy. I have never seen him play that long. He seems to like them low numbers, he's a lot more active under 60. Anyone else notice that in their kitty?

No one told me to do a 24 hr curve, I just want to do one once a month so I know what he's doing in a day. I haven't been getting many numbers at night recently since I've been moving, too tired to stay up. I-) But I took it easy today knowing I was going to not get much sleep tonight because of the curve so I'm ready to watch him. :lol:
 
Re: 7-1 Pepper +2/33, +2.5/34, +3/30, +3.5/41, +3.75/55, +4/

lather, rinse, repeat. You probably have a couple more hours to go before Pepper is high enough to quit testing. It looks like sometimes he nadirs later in the cycle, so stay on top of things.

FYI, his new dose should be 0.75 units BID. I'm concerned that he stayed in the 30s so long tonight.
 
Re: 7-1 Pepper +2.5/34, +3/30, +3.5/41, +3.75/55, +4/60, +4.

Take another look at his SS Libby, he's now at .25 U not .75 U. I had almost given him .25 at PMPS but was afraid his surf wasn't going to hold.

He's coming up nicely, now 71 at +4.5 and 70 at +5.
 
Re: 7-1 Pepper +3/30, +3.5/41, +3.75/55, +4/60, +4.5/71, +5/

Deb: you are correct. His dose today was .5u, he went below 40, so tomorrow he'll be .25u.

He's just surfing right now but this is the time you really need to watch him because he can turn around. So just keep testing and when necessary, feed. As Sienne said, lather, rinse, repeat.
 
Re: 7-1 Pepper +3/30, +3.5/41, +3.75/55, +4/60, +4.5/71, +5/

Deb: how's it going there? I wanted to check in and see where he is before I think about going to bed. As Libby said, you have to keep testing until he's up a ways and hasn't had food for a while. Since you were planning on doing a curve anyway, this is a good time to do it :lol: :lol: They can be so sneaky....come up and you think they are fine at +6 and then turn around at +8....doesn't happen to all kitties but can.

BRB to see if you are still up and have an update.
 
Re: 7-1 Pepper +3.5/41, +3.75/55, +4/60, +4.5/71, +5/70, +5.

Deb: I was hoping to hear from you. I see Pepper is at 77....he's just surfing so it's really important to keep testing him. Please do not let him get back into the 30s. You can read the link in my signature block regarding low numbers but I think you know how to get him up. At this point, he has nothing to prove so I would aim to keep him where he is and not let him get any lower.

I hope you get some rest. I've got to get to bed as I have to be up early with the kits.

Good night.
 
Re: 7-1 Pepper +3.5/41, +3.75/55, +4/60, +4.5/71, +5/70, +5.

He's coming up slowly, just like I hoped he would. After this next check he'll be 2 hours past food.

Don't anyone get mad, but I didn't give him HC food, only the 1/2 teaspoon of Karo and an extra 1/2 oz of his low carb food when he got to 30. If that hadn't worked I would have given him the HC 15 mins later, but I thought he would slowly come back up without it and then not spike later from the HC and it did come up. I'd rather have to watch him at this stage since he has been doing so well rather than to throw him off again. I debated on the .5 dose and shouldn't have given it to him because I did give him too much as we can all see. :lol: I think I am getting to know his pattern pretty good.

Time for another test and if this one is still going up will go to every hr.
 
Re: 7-1 Pepper +3.5/41, +3.75/55, +4/60, +4.5/71, +5/70, +5.

Deb: no one will get mad. He's your kitty and you know him best. It's just not safe to let him stay in the 30s...as soon as you get a number like that, you need to get him up immediately.

I'll stay up a few minutes more to get your test results....just want to be sure he is still coming up!
 
Re: 7-1 Pepper +3.75/55, +4/60, +4.5/71, +5/70, +5.5/77,+6/7

When I use karo instead of HC food, I test until I get two rising numbers. I think you can wait an hour to test since he's stable. But you will need to keep it up until you get two rising numbers (remember the variance issue....so don't think an 80 is a rising number).

Mike will be up with Gracie about another hour and will check in and Julie will check in before she goes to bed.

Thanks Deb...hope he comes up so you can get some rest. If you have a cell phone with an alarm, you can test/sleep/test/sleep if the alarm is reliable and you will wake up. Ni Ni.
 
Re: 7-1 Pepper +3.75/55, +4/60, +4.5/71, +5/70, +5.5/77,+6/7

hi deb - just fyi, a non-diabetic cat runs between about 50-120. those are the ideal numbers for pepper to surf in. when a cat gets too low (below 30-35) it can develop seizures, brain damage and an ultra-sensitivity to insulin. i'm not trying to scare you, just letting you know. education is power. also i have seen multiple cats register too low here (below 35) and not show any signs of hypoglycemia. several beans have said their cats seemed fine so they don't do anything. we had one member here several months ago - i'm sure i wasn't the only person who thought she was going to kill her cat by keeping it too low. doesn't matter how they are acting - a brain deprived of enough glucose can become a crisis with permanent damage in a matter of minutes. again, not trying to scare you, but you are new to feline diabetes and if no one tells you, how will you know?

please don't be offended by what i'm saying - it's just what i said - someone has to teach all of us.

i'm off to bed. i hope you get some sleep tonight, too!
 
Re: 7-1 Pepper +3.75/55, +4/60, +4.5/71, +5/70, +5.5/77,+6/7

I wish! I'm still unpacking. I'll sleep tomorrow morning and the 11 yr old grandson will take over for me on pokes and feedings unless he goes back under 50. He's been learning a lot tonight. He's just now going to bed. Has been with me for each poke/feeding/and worried about the 30 with everyone else. He's really getting into all this. He's been keeping the spreadsheet tonight too :-D
 
Re: 7-1 Pepper +3.75/55, +4/60, +4.5/71, +5/70, +5.5/77,+6/7

Not offended at all. I think your the first to say anything about possible seizures, brain damage and an ultra-sensitivity to insulin. I just can't believe how fast he dived down to 30 and I can just kick myself for not going to .25 when I debated on doing it.
 
Re: 7-1 Pepper +3.75/55, +4/60, +4.5/71, +5/70, +5.5/77,+6/7

Deb and Pepper said:
Take another look at his SS Libby, he's now at .25 U not .75 U.

sorry about that. That's what I get for sleep-posting in the middle of the night. :oops: I would take a 0.25 reduction, which would leave him at 0.25 (right?).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top