7/1 Munchkin PMPS 79, +1 73, +2 66, + 3 55, + 4 49, +5 48

Status
Not open for further replies.

Munchkin's Reagan

Member Since 2012
Hi LL,

6/30 Condo

I knew this was where we were headed today. :mrgreen: She let me know because she was super hungry. Licking an empty bowl. I'll be testing again in 20, gave some HC food.
I'm not sure how I'm suppose to be treating her. Is she long time, orig dx over a year, or is there a caveat because she was otj for 11 months? Should we hold this dose for two more below 50's? or Shave or reduce? She'll most likely bounce into high 100's tonight. Should I shoot through that, if she does?

TIA!
 
Re: 7/1 Munchkin AMPS 87, +1.5 96, +3 65, +3.75 46 -- Dose?

Hi Reagan

She is not considered a newly diagnosed kitty because even tho she went into remission, one a diabetic, always a diabetic and she was diagnosed over a year ago.

In regard to reducing based on a low number, the modified protocol we use says:
Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.

The Roomp/Rand protocol says:
If the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dL (2.2-<2.8 mmol/L) at least three times on separate days, reduce dose by 0.25-0.5 IU depending on if cat on low or high dose of insulin

If she goes below 40 once, then take her down either by .25u or by a shave if she doesn't hold reductions well.

Or if she goes below 50 three times on separate days, but not below 40 any of those times (see above...going below 40 once is automatic reduction), then you would take a .25u reduction. Three times under 50 is more aggressive, thus we strongly urge the .25u reduction instead of shaving.

Good luck!!!
 
Re: 7/1 Munchkin AMPS 87, +3 65, +3.75 46, +4.1 59 - Dose?

Thanks for the answer re: how to treat her reduction wise. We'll wait until under 40 for a reduction. :-D
 
Re: 7/1 Munchkin AMPS 87, +3 65, +3.75 46, +4.1 59

Hi Reagan, looks like Munchkin is going to keep you busy today. Good luck with the choice for under 40.
 
Re: 7/1 Munchkin AMPS 87, +3 65, +3.75 46, +4.1 59

Reagan:

Great numbers and wonderful job handling them.

Let me clarify just a bit. Regardless of when a cat is diagnosed, a drop below 40 warrants a reduction. However, Munchkin may not decide to drop that low. If not, and you are planning on holding the current dose (vs. shaving now), then you want to hold the dose until there are 3 drops below 50. Does that make sense?
 
Re: 7/1 Munchkin AMPS 87, +3 65, +3.75 46, +4.1 59

Yes, in our case, if she drops below 50 two more times she can have a reduction. (I wasn't going to count 5 days ago, because we shaved the dose that day) I'm not planning on shaving tonight-unless she heads below 40 later today. I'll be getting a follow up test in a few minutes here. (And I get chocolate, because I remained calm! :-D )
 
Re: 7/1 Munchkin AMPS 87, +3 65, +3.75 46, +4.1 59, +4.6 57

Lol!! You earned the chocolate!

I think you've got the gist of it. I hope Munchkin keeps up that green surf.
 
Re: 7/1 Munchkin AMPS 87, +3 65, +3.75 46, +4.1 59, +4.6 57

You deserve it also for always answering my questions! (You too Marje!) Thank you both!
 
Re: 7/1 Munchkin AMPS 87, +3 65, +3.75 46, +4.1 59, +4.6 57

Wow Reagan, congratulations on her numbers today, looking great. Quite a few of the kitties are on a roll today and ready for the Green Lagoon. Thanks for visiting us, and have a nice day.
 
Re: 7/1 Munchkin AMPS 87, +3 65, +3.75 46, +7 66

Nice nice greens today! Way to go Munchkin. Hope you enjoyed your chocolate Reagan. You deserve it!
 
Re: 7/1 Munchkin AMPS 87, +3 65, +3.75 46, +7 66

Reagan

I"m glad Sienne clarified what I was trying to say. Not enough coffee at that point on a Sunday morning. I did go back and edit my response so that if you read back over it later or someone else reads it, it's more clear.

Great day for little Munch!!!
 
Re: 7/1 Munchkin AMPS 87, PMPS 79, +1 73

I think we're going to have a long night. I think I'll be regretting never buying a coffee pot.

Thanks for stopping by Ann and Melissa. I'm very proud of my little girl today and I think she might have something to show me tonight. But we'll wait and see. :-D

Marje, Thanks again. I've printed this condo out and added it to our for future reference file!
 
Re: 7/1 Munchkin AMPS 87, PMPS 79, +1 73, +2 66

Impressive day and night for little Miss Munchkin! She is looking very good now. Doesn't heaps of chocolate have the same effect as coffee?
 
Re: 7/1 Munchkin AMPS 87, PMPS 79, +1 73, +2 66, + 3 55

I finished the chocolate earlier today. :YMSIGH: I've got two cats and a DH snoring around me tonight. We're all camped out in the living room because we were able to find a couple window unit A/C's, but they only fit in our living room windows. So DH and I threw the bed down stairs and have sheets blocking off the other levels just to keep the living room cool. It's not helping listening to everyone else sleep..hah.
 
Re: 7/1 Munchkin AMPS 87, PMPS 79, +1 73, +2 66, + 3 55

Woo hoo! It's a Sunday night PJ party... go Munchkin! :mrgreen: Now, where is that ~O) & chocolate?
 

Attachments

  • Chocolate-crazy-girl.jpg
    Chocolate-crazy-girl.jpg
    99.2 KB · Views: 444
Re: 7/1 Munchkin PMPS 79, +1 73, +2 66, + 3 55, + 4 49, +5 4

Wow! Munchkin really wants to get moving off this dose. Hope you get some sleep and cool air soon.
 
Re: 7/1 Munchkin PMPS 79, +1 73, +2 66, + 3 55, + 4 49, +5 4

That chocolate bar looks insanely good. I think I need to go raid the cabinets, there has to be a bag of chocolate chips, or maybe a stray easter candy in there somewhere!

I agree Wendy. I think she's on a mission.
 
Re: 7/1 Munchkin PMPS 79, +1 73, +2 66, + 3 55, + 4 49, +5 4

Lovely green Munchkin! Keep cool & surf on the green! :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top