7/1 Kasha AMPS 73, 48 @ +3, PMPS 86

Status
Not open for further replies.

kryskat

Member Since 2010
Yes. That's right. 73... And we shot 1/2 hour late - first reading was 75, so I waited 15 min and figured 73 is essentially the same, so I shot our regular dose (.5). Her appetite isn't good - She ate a little over 1 Tbsp FF... She's a little sniffly and keeps sneezing since we were at the groomer's. I've wiped her down with a warm washcloth several times to try to remove any dry shampoo residue and the one spritz of kitty cologne, thinking that one of those things is bothering her. She slept next to my head for a few hours, and during that time I didn't hear sneezes or sniffles, so I'm not sure how constant this problem is. I wish I could just give her a decongestant... She's been drinking a lot of water too. Well, she's been drinking often - not necessarily that much... She's always been a big drinker, which is why I don't think for the most part that I could monitor her diabetes by determining if she's drinking more or less like my vet would have had me do, cuz it's just really hard to tell. When she was a couple of years old, I would have to leave cups of water lying around the house for her or she'd drink mine. She preferred to drink from cups - for a while she had an amethyst glass goblet in the kitchen to drink from, but when the boys came, they kept knocking it over. (Kasha: "Boys ruin everything... ").

I'll tell you what - sure is easy to shoot when all that hair is gone. I realized today I should probably try the short, 31 gauge needles again... Not that she seems to mind the 1/2" 29 gauge we've been using.

Last night, Blue jumped down from the couch and vomited 3 times. Like he'd been saving up all of his dinner for that. I realized that it had been quite a while since I'd cleaned up cat vomit. Big Cat was throwing up a lot for a while there... Blue hadn't thrown up since being in the cage. I'll bet having the e-collar on and not being able to groom helped... No grooming, no hairballs. I didn't see hair in the vomit, so I'm wondering if there is a hairball lurking still... He ate a little later... And I woke up on the couch around 3 am and and he was eating quite a bit again. Almost every bit of his breakfast disappeared this morning.

I am really tired and debating when I should email work and tell them I'm going to be late again...


Yesterday (including link to pics of Kasha before and after grooming)
 
Re: 7/1 Kasha AMPS 73

I bet you are tired. Hoping your get some rest.
Kasha's numbers are incredible.
 
Re: 7/1 Kasha AMPS 73

Hi Krys,
Kasha is doing great according to her numbers, but I know the sneezing and her eating worry you. My Siamese GA kitty used to drink from my water glass. I always have water nearby, and when I would get up and do something, I'd return to find him drinking from my glass. If it wasn't my glass, he loved drinking water from the bathroom vanity faucet. Could you call in and say you're not feeling well - exreme fatigue = not feeling well! Or a personal day? We were always allowed two personal days a year when i was working.
 
Re: 7/1 Kasha AMPS 73

Those pictures yesterday were great! I imagine that it is a big relief when all that hair is gone...and the shooting is easier too!
I hope you feel better soon...what's the remedy for feeling tired again? :roll: Uh...I don't remember...um...OH! Sleep!! Of course...that's it! Guess there's nothing like a little R & R...hope you can get some of that soon! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/1 Kasha AMPS 73

Krys, I look forward to seeing Kasha's numbers every day now! She is looking fantastic! Those before and after pictures are so cute!!
Glad Blue is doing well, too.
Have a good day, Krys!
 
Re: 7/1 Kasha AMPS 73

kasha is looking fantastic! Her numbers have improved so much ... I'm sorry to hear that blue wasn't feeling well last night ... I hope theres no pukus for you to clean up today and I hope you get your much needed rest!
 
Re: 7/1 Kasha AMPS 73

Kasha is doing sooooo great! I would wait a bit before going to tbp--
Need to check the number at least at +2-3--Great Job Krys!!!
 
Re: 7/1 Kasha AMPS 73

Great numbers and very nice hooting! My civvie, George (GA) would drink pretty much anything I was drinking, including diet Coke. I think he liked the bubbles! Gabby would drink out of a glass I kept on the vanity. It got to the point that I put a water bowl up here for her. Since she's been on insulin, she hasn't been interested in having an extra water bowl.

It sounds like Blue was saving up for you.
 
Re: 7/1 Kasha AMPS 73

Kasha's #'s are great. Hope Blue is fine and it's nothing more than a hairball in the works.
Now call in late and get some much deserved sleep.
 
Re: 7/1 Kasha AMPS 73, 48 @ +3 Dosecrease Advice

And this is why I'm going to work late this morning!

Dosecrease advice: Should I got down a full .25 to .25 u? Or should I shave a little off the current dose? Just nervous since this is where we were last time when she didn't hold the dosecrease and got a UTI all at the same time... Of course, we didn't have the consistency of numbers then that we've had lately...
 
Re: 7/1 Kasha AMPS 73, 48 @ +3 Dosecrease Advice

There's no one "right" answer here. I think we could all argue convincingly in either direction. My inclination is to go in the shave the dose direction to give Kasha as much time as possible with insulin supporting her pancreas. I'll be curious to see what some of the others have to say.
 
Re: 7/1 Kasha AMPS 73, 48 @ +3 Dosecrease Advice

I can't believe I'm in the same condo I was not too long ago.
I'd go for the sneakdown approach. Pull a drop out of dose, watch numbers, if there riding in the mid DDs -- for a few cycles, sneak a drop out again.
 
Re: 7/1 Kasha AMPS 73, 48 @ +3 Dosecrease Advice

Oh my gosh :o I have been away for about a week and lookie whats going on with Kasha. Awesome!! :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
 
Re: 7/1 Kasha AMPS 73, 48 @ +3 Dosecrease Advice

Ok - I'm more comfortable sneaking down this ladder right now. .25 u would be a 50% decrease, which seems crazy! LOL... I'll go for a skinny .5 tonight... unless she's goes up higher...

I'm amazed that 1 tsp of 9% could bump her up from 56 @ +3.5 to to 89 at +4.... I again suspect that this FF elegant medleys that she so loves is actually higher in carbs than it indicates on the Janet and Binky charts...

Going to go into work soon...

We have a vet appt tomorrow afternoon to get a urine culture and I want to ask about a dental. Maybe ask about her congestion and these weird sneezy/hairball fits she has from time to time... I don't know what they are, they've happened on and off for years and I wonder if we can rule out asthma... There's also a good sized bump/growth on her head that's been there for years that I just want the vet to look at again.
 
Re: 7/1 Kasha AMPS 73, 48 @ +3 Dosecrease Advice

Kasha is amazing. Good luck with the dosecrease. Next Kasha and will Maggie can be twins with the 0.1 dosecrease. Maggie hasn't tried the Elegant Medleys yet.
 
Re: 7/1 Kasha AMPS 73, 48 @ +3 Dosecrease Advice

Hey Krys,

Blue is making sure he has enough room to gorge on cinnamon cake at Tori's birthday party later on! Hope he gets that hairball cleared out soon!

Lovely numbers with Kasha!
 
Re: 7/1 Kasha AMPS 73, 48 @ +3 Dosecrease Advice

Wowee....those are some great numbers! Good luck with decrease. I have bowls and glasses and mugs of water all over the house. Meadow will drink out of anything, but she prefers certain locations over others. Casey won't drink out of anything but a syringe that I must hold for him. Talk about spoiled! ;-)
Hope Blue is feeling better now.
 
I know, right?

She ate a little over 1 Tbsp. Then a little more when I put out a second type of food.

I tried to measure a skinny .5 and honestly, it just doesn't look that different from the way I would measure .25. I remeasured a few times... Trying to measure .5 and then squeeze out just a little bit more and then look at the syringe thru a magnifying glass... Hmmm... well, I'll try to be consistent, anyway.

I brought in the new (used but recently disinfected) pet steps from where they were drying on the front porch. They didn't dry quite as well as I'd like - I can smell a little bit of a mildewy smell. I sprayed them with the enzyme odor remover I have and... they still smell funny when I stick my nose close. The kitties wanted nothing to do with them when I was home... I put them between the couch and the papasan chair (which has its cushion back in place) so that Kasha and Blue could get up to their perches. When I got home, Kasha was in the papasan chair, all cuddly on a soft fleecy blanket, just facing the door. Blue has still not used the steps... It may take a while. He'll hopefully see Kasha using them. I've read that people often underestimate the value of learning by observation with animals. We try to teach them, but what they really need is to see one of their peers perform that task or whatever.

I'm going to treat myself to takeout food. Real food takeout - not pizza or whatever. I'm talking chicken with lemon sauce + broccoli + mashed potatoes. Yum...
 
Oh yum, that takeout food sounds so good. It must be from a nice restaurant. Real mashed potatoes! I can't remember when I had them last! I was so hungry when I was out and about earlier that I ate a fast food hamburger, but it was really good.

At first I had a hard time with the .25; it's such a fine line. The 0.1 is easier but I still have to squeeze out a drop. I bet one of these days Blue will just use the steps when you least expect or follow Kasha.
 
My cats have always picked up behaviors from each other. Gracie (GA) taught George (GA) to talk. Gabby would observe George sitting on the toilet seat or doing other things and I'd find her doing them. Part of it is that we end up reinforcing those behaviors, usually with attention.

I'm just loving scrolling through Kasha's SS these days!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top