7/1 China AMPS 421,+2 369,+8 162,PMPS 151,+2 148,+6.7 151

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris & China (GA)

Member Since 2013
Good morning LL

Yesterday and the day before, lots of pretty greens and blues, and then that scary 32 yesterday. Today we're starting at 421 and although I have nothing against the color red, I'd rather China stayed in the greens, blues or even a yellow. Since it took a longer than "usual" for her body to kick in, we have a "delayed bounce"?

IF I'm understanding "bouncing" and "clearing a bounce" correctly, is this how it works?

Bounce: China's BG goes really low, so her body (which isn't used to those numbers) sends out hormones and sugars to bring it back up to where it's used to being

Clearing the bounce: it could take up to 72 hours for the effects of the bounce to wear off, so just continue as normal and with any luck, China will come back down into the greens/blues we've been seeing for the past couple days...but we wouldn't want to increase her dose during those 72hrs because her BG may come back down on it's own at any time, and an increase could cause a hypo (I know we just decreased to .75, so understand even if the bounce never happened, we'd wait at least 6-10 cycles before changing it again

Thanks again for holding my hand yesterday during the hypo. It was much appreciated!!

Yesterdays condo viewtopic.php?f=9&t=98851
 
Re: 7/1 China AMPS 421...delayed bounce?

You've got the explanation down pat. Just a comment, though, on terminology. Unless China was experiencing symptoms of hypoglycemia, we consider those numbers as low number and not as a "hypo." Because you were monitoring and brought the numbers up with food, the likelihood of symptomaticc hypoglycemia is minimized. It can happen but it's also why we encourage you to monitor.

Also, this isn't a delayed bounce. If you look at the progression of the numbers, China has kept heading up since her nadir yesterday. There are also times when you can hold the previous dose -- we call it "shooting through the bounce." If China's numbers were high last night at PMPS, we might have suggested you continue to shoot the 1.0u and then reduce this morning.
 
Re: 7/1 China AMPS 421...delayed bounce?

OK Sienne, thanks! Took me this long to fully grasp the "bounce" and "clearing the bounce" concepts. There's so much new terminology to learn, but I'm getting there!


On "Shooting through the bounce" I'm not sure I understand this one yet. If her numbers were high at PMPS (How high is high?)

I might have wanted to hold at the 1 unit dose instead of decreasing to the .75 (Why?....just trying to understand the reason so if something similar happens again, I'd know what to do)
Is it because we saw so many good numbers at the 1 unit so you continue the same dose as if low number never happened, giving the bounce time to clear and hopefully get her back into the greens/blues?


No hurry on the questions...I'm just trying to understand how all this works

Thanks again!!
 
Re: 7/1 China AMPS 421,+2 369,+4 275,+8 162,PMPS 151,+2 148

it's been a nice quiet day and for that I'm thankful! China's been dropping down slowly, so I'm hoping tomorrow we'll be back in the green and blues all day! If I'm learning right, maybe she's clearing the bounce?

Here's a recap of our day

AMPS 421
+2 369
+4 275
+6 204
+8 162
+10.2 172

PMPS 151
+2 148
 
Re: 7/1 China AMPS 421,+2 369,+4 275,+8 162,PMPS 151,+2 148

Hi Chris
I know we just decreased to .75, so understand even if the bounce never happened, we'd wait at least 6-10 cycles before changing it again

No...you might not wait 6-10 cycles to change doses. On reductions, if she does not get back to low blue/green pretty quick, it could indicate a failed reduction. You do need to let her clear any bounce before making a dose decision. As an example, lets say she bounces after the reduction but clears in three cycles and just comes down into high blue. The you might assume the reduction has failed and you would want to go back up to the last good dose.

I might have wanted to hold at the 1 unit dose instead of decreasing to the .75 (Why?....just trying to understand the reason so if something similar happens again, I'd know what to do)
Is it because we saw so many good numbers at the 1 unit so you continue the same dose as if low number never happened, giving the bounce time to clear and hopefully get her back into the greens/blues?

If China earns a reduction and then bounces, we often shoot through the bounce with the higher dose one time in order to keep bounce numbers from going so high or lasting so long. Then we take the reduction the next cycle. So lets day she gets to 45 in the a.m. Cycle from the 1u dose but by PMPS, she is 320. You would shoot through that 320 with 1u in the pm cycle to keep numbers from being so high. Then the next a.m. cycle, you would shoot .75u as the new dose.

Does that help?
 
Re: 7/1 China AMPS 421,+2 369,+4 275,+8 162,PMPS 151,+2 148

she bounces after the reduction but clears in three cycles and just comes down into high blue.

OK...so if after a reduction, she's still not returning to the green/low blue numbers within 3 cycles or so, the reduction has failed and best to go back to the 1u where we were getting those, right?


So lets day she gets to 45 in the a.m. Cycle from the 1u dose but by PMPS, she is 320. You would shoot through that 320 with 1u in the pm cycle to keep numbers from being so high. Then the next a.m. cycle, you would shoot .75u as the new dose.

OK...using China's SS on 6/30...since her AMPS was 75, +8.5 32, and PMPS 162, would you still "shoot through the bounce"? I would just wonder if her numbers were still inflated due to the syrup/HC food (which I now know wasn't what was happening, but my crystal ball was cracked)

I now totally understand if her PMPS were in the 300's or more, it would be best to go ahead and shoot the 1u and then decrease at AMPS and see if she returned to the greens/low blues to see if the reduction was going to work or fail, but what about if it's not that high at PMPS?

Sorry for all the questions, but I just want to understand as much as possible about this sugar dance.

Recap of 7/1
AMPS 421
+2 369
+4 275
+6 204
+8 162
+10.2 172

PMPS 151
+2 148
+4 135
 
Re: 7/1 China AMPS 421,+2 369,+4 275,+8 162,PMPS 151,+2 148

It's best to only shoot through the bounce on a reduction if you know the bounce is already starting. If the cat is not bouncing by preshot, then you shoot the new dose. For cats with late nadirs, which it seems both China and Neko sometimes have, you often can't tell by preshot whether they'll bounce. Well, not entirely true, Neko will almost always bounce. :lol: :lol: But seriously, some cats seem to delay the start of their bounce, but you don't want to take a chance, just in case they don't bounce.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top