7/1 Buzz

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarah and Buzz

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18602

WCR: Buzz is normal this morning. Her ears have been very tender over the last few days and she has sometimes tried to nip me when I use the left one. I use Neosporin + Pain Relief each time I test; does anyone have any other suggestions?

I increased her dose this morning to a s1.0u (up from 0.75u). So far so good. I find it difficult to get excited even when she has good numbers on a new dose, though, because within 10 days or so, she will be having a poor response and need another increase (at least if her pattern holds true). Is this "normal"? I noted in yesterday's condo that she was down to 0.2u on Lantus at the beginning and now she is almost back up to her starting dose. I know sometimes you have to take two steps forward and one step back, but she doesn't seem (to me) to be making any steps forward, only back.
 
Re: 7/1 Buzz AMPS: 256, +1.5: 187/Dose & testing ?

HI Sarah,
Having an issue with Meadow's ears being sore myself. They seem so red and bruised and don't bleed quite as easily as they did. She often gives me a hard time when testing now too, which she never did before. I use the neo + too and am interested to see fi there are any other ways to help those poor little ears feel better. Have you tried testing from the paw pad? I tried twice and could not get any blood even with the lancet at the deepest setting. And I was also concerned about infection when using the paw and then going into the litterbox.
I hope Buzz can stay at this new dose. :smile:


Sarah and Buzz said:
Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18602

WCR: Buzz is normal this morning. Her ears have been very tender over the last few days and she has sometimes tried to nip me when I use the left one. I use Neosporin + Pain Relief each time I test; does anyone have any other suggestions?

I increased her dose this morning to a s1.0u (up from 0.75u). So far so good. I find it difficult to get excited even when she has good numbers on a new dose, though, because within 10 days or so, she will be having a poor response and need another increase (at least if her pattern holds true). Is this "normal"? I noted in yesterday's condo that she was down to 0.2u on Lantus at the beginning and now she is almost back up to her starting dose. I know sometimes you have to take two steps forward and one step back, but she doesn't seem (to me) to be making any steps forward, only back.
 
Re: 7/1 Buzz AMPS: 256, +1.5: 187/Dose & testing ?

I hope a dosing expert can take a look for you....glad it's in your header.

So, are you up there with Miriam now? drinking11 I brought the fan, tv and table with chairs up there earlier...hoping you remembered the area rug and plants. That ledge needs to be expanded so more people can hang out up there. Do you need any more pillows? :lol:

I hope the increase will bring nicer blues for Buzz today.... :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/1 Buzz AMPS: 256, +1.5: 187/Dose & testing ?

Meadow said:
HI Sarah,
Having an issue with Meadow's ears being sore myself. They seem so red and bruised and don't bleed quite as easily as they did. She often gives me a hard time when testing now too, which she never did before. I use the neo + too and am interested to see fi there are any other ways to help those poor little ears feel better. Have you tried testing from the paw pad? I tried twice and could not get any blood even with the lancet at the deepest setting. And I was also concerned about infection when using the paw and then going into the litterbox.
I hope Buzz can stay at this new dose. :smile:

I haven't ever tested from the paw pad. I do freehand, not with a lancet device, so I've felt that would make it harder, plus like you, I worried about the possibility of infection. I know there are people who do it, though, so whatever works, right? :-D

Thanks for your comments, and I hope Buzz stays at this dose, too. Sending healing vines to Meadow's poor little ears, too.
 
Re: 7/1 Buzz AMPS: 256, +1.5: 187/Dose & testing ?

Sending healing vines for Buzz's ears. Where on the ears do you test? On both ears we have about an inch of testing space on Blackie. Near the tip seems to be the least painful for him. I have also moved a little inside towards the center of the ear sometimes and I still get blood there. I seem to remember reading something of Steve & Jocks that you can pretty much test on any part of the ear.

Good luck with the dosecrease! Unless Buzz is getting a ride in the catillac with Purrcie, Blackie will pick her up for Tori's party.
 
Re: 7/1 Buzz AMPS: 256, +1.5: 187/Dose & testing ?

I test in the general area of that photo that always gets brought out on Health for newbies. I don't have it bookmarked on this computer, but it's the "sweet spot" photo. I do move up or down if needed, but I always stay close to the edge of the ear. I may try higher up like you suggested or even closer in from the edge. Thanks. :)

Buzz would love to accompany Blackie to the party. She didn't know there was a Catillac, but she likes to go with her friend. :-D
 
Re: 7/1 Buzz AMPS: 256, +1.5: 187/Dose & testing ?

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
I hope a dosing expert can take a look for you....glad it's in your header.

So, are you up there with Miriam now? drinking11 I brought the fan, tv and table with chairs up there earlier...hoping you remembered the area rug and plants. That ledge needs to be expanded so more people can hang out up there. Do you need any more pillows? :lol:

I hope the increase will bring nicer blues for Buzz today.... :mrgreen:

Yes, Miriam and I are up here, having a fine old time. I did bring the area rug and plants, as well as some end tables and coasters. I've only got a few pillows, so we might need some more. The weather's great up here, there's a nice breeze and the sun is shining. Might as well work on my tan while I'm here. Feel free to come up whenever you'd like, but I hope you don't need to. :lol:
 
Re: 7/1 Buzz AMPS: 256, +1.5: 187/Dose & testing ?

I move my test spot around and switch ears. I'll test anywhere between the vein and the edge of the ear, inside edge or outside edge. I also mix a little Vitamin E OIl w/ the neo. Vit E speeds healing and prevents scarring. I do it once or twice a week.

I know what you are feeling about the dose. Early on Tess was down to .1u for nearly 2 months. Then the deadly creep up. She finally turned around when I increased in a bigger step instead of micro increasing. Not more than a .25 but more than just a fattening. She needs to go down in micro doses, but need a little more oomph when going up. I don't know if this will work for Buzz. Let's see what the advisors say.
 
Re: 7/1 Buzz AMPS: 256, +1.5: 187/Dose & testing ?

+2.5: 170
+5: 142

That's interesting about the Vitamin E oil, Ann. Where do you get that, at GNC (or the like)? I will definitely try that. Also interesting about the way you increase; I was thinking of going to a full 1.0 and ditching the skinny but last time I increased from f0.5 to a regular 0.75 and she got some amazing drop (almost scary), so I was a little leery.

Thanks for stopping by; it's very helpful. :-D
 
Re: 7/1 Buzz AMPS: 256, +1.5: 187/Dose & testing ?

Hi Sarah! I can so relate to the ear thing - i went through a period with Mannie that was just plain awful. I had issues getting blood, finding a vein, etc etc etc... and his ears looked awful. I was testing on the inside edge, lower down, not in the tip - never knew I could do anything but that, as that was how I was trained. Some time ago I had a friend here show me where she tested: - top of the ear, on the inner edge. Ever since then I have had no problems - always get blood, first time out - and best of all: no sore ears, no raised edges, no hollering, no protesting from Mannie. Don't know if this will help you or not - but the switch to the very edge of the tip of the ear has made such a difference for us. i use neosporin with pain for Mannie a couple of times a week, as he doesn't seem to need much more anymore. Never tried the pad - that just makes me go OUCH, though I know some have success with that area. Good Luck!

Can't really advise on the dose - but hear ya on the one step forward, and two steps back. Mannie has been on what seems like a roller-coaster, up in dose, then down, and now we are going back up again.
 
Re: 7/1 Buzz AMPS: 256, +1.5: 187/Dose & testing ?

I have a couple of thoughts...

I think Ann is right. There are times when I know I've fattened a dose when I should have increased by 0.25. I'm getting a much better response from Gabby right now after having raised her dose the full amount. I also drop the dose in smaller amounts since she doesn't hold the decreases well.

I'm not sure I understand how you're using food in Buzz's cycle. Often what you're calling MC and HC are the same % of carbs. I'm not sure if you're trying to manipulate the curve with food to prevent a dose reduction or just trying to slow a drop. For example, the AM cycle of 6/25, you fed MC on a 112, HC with a 73, and LC with an 80. You SS says the HC and MC were both 15%. I probably would have suggested LC at +1 and seen where Buzz was at +2 and then decided where to go from there. I suspect I would have tried MC. Of course, I'm not sure how carb sensitive Buzz is and that's a factor. However, MC and HC should be appreciably different in their carb count. Also, when do you typically feed. The timing of meals/snacks can make a difference, as well.
 
Re: 7/1 Buzz AMPS: 256, +1.5: 187/Dose & testing ?

Sienne and Gabby said:
I have a couple of thoughts...

I think Ann is right. There are times when I know I've fattened a dose when I should have increased by 0.25. I'm getting a much better response from Gabby right now after having raised her dose the full amount. I also drop the dose in smaller amounts since she doesn't hold the decreases well.

That sounds good. I will do so from now on, however since I've already made it a skinny, I will go ahead and keep it if that sounds good for now.

Sienne and Gabby said:
I'm not sure I understand how you're using food in Buzz's cycle. Often what you're calling MC and HC are the same % of carbs. I'm not sure if you're trying to manipulate the curve with food to prevent a dose reduction or just trying to slow a drop. For example, the AM cycle of 6/25, you fed MC on a 112, HC with a 73, and LC with an 80. You SS says the HC and MC were both 15%. I probably would have suggested LC at +1 and seen where Buzz was at +2 and then decided where to go from there. I suspect I would have tried MC. Of course, I'm not sure how carb sensitive Buzz is and that's a factor. However, MC and HC should be appreciably different in their carb count. Also, when do you typically feed. The timing of meals/snacks can make a difference, as well.

I differentiate, perhaps incorrectly, between MC and HC not by the percentages but by how much of it I feed. For example, let's say that Buzz's amount of food is 1 tablespoon. If it's MC, I will give half LC and half HC. If it's HC, the entire amount of food is HC. Would it be better to do it by percentages? I think where I got that idea from is when I would read people saying that they would put HC gravy only in LC food to make MC. Although it's entirely possible I made all that up, but I believe that was my line of thinking. :?

I currently feed at AMPS, +1, +2 (the meal split into thirds) and the same at PMPS .Occasionally, if I have to be out of the house right after shot time, she might not get her breakfast Part II until +1.5 or +2 (no auto feeders yet). I also feed another meal, albeit a smaller meal, at AM +6 and PM +4 (depending on how late I have to stay up to watch Buzz; I try to do it as late as I can so it's close to +6). Originally I was trying to slow the drop because she has such a problem with bounces, but then it sort of moved into trying to keep her at a dose as long as possible because she doesn't historically hold reductions well either. So I guess in an ideal world, I would be using it for both purposes.

Thank you for your thoughts and questions. I think I covered everything, but if not, let me know. ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top