? 7/1/2017 Lily AMPS 76; Dosage Advice for her PM Shot Please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karen & Lily

Member Since 2015
Lily has been surfing in the greens all day today. I had to go out today for several hours so I fed her hc food at the AM +4 hour-checked her 45 mins later and her sugar hadn't gone up at all. So I gave her several Temptation treats which usually always raises her sugar. Came home and tested her at the +7 hour. She is currently at 71. I want to lower her dose tonite but not sure how much I should lower it. Any advice would be appreciated! Thanks!
 
OK, just wondering why you want to lower the dose. If you needed to shoot less tonight cause you couldn't monitor much, I would go 1/2 dose, but due to the depot it could still be active tonight for the first several hours. If you are nervous that her nadirs are a little lower than you would like, I might "shave" her regular dose down a couple of units.
 
OK, just wondering why you want to lower the dose. If you needed to shoot less tonight cause you couldn't monitor much, I would go 1/2 dose, but due to the depot it could still be active tonight for the first several hours. If you are nervous that her nadirs are a little lower than you would like, I might "shave" her regular dose down a couple of units.
Ok, Lily will get a shave tonite! :D I guess I am second guessing myself. On a facebook acro kitty page, they are saying that acro's blues are like greens for a regular diabetic kitty.
 
And I guess I am a bit surprised that she wasn't higher when I got home & tested her. Especially after having hc food and cat treats. :confused:
 
The FB page doesn't believe in TR for acro kitties, but we have had plenty of kitties here, including Neko, do just fine on it. I loved doses that got Neko into the 70's, as it meant less bouncing and more time under renal threshold. That "blues are the acro green" is hogwash in my book, as long as you know how carb sensitive your cat is and. And can get them up from low numbers. It is much better to keep the kitty under renal threshold as much as possible cause acromegaly is hard on the kidneys. That is advice I got from an internal medicine vet at CSU.
 
The FB page doesn't believe in TR for acro kitties, but we have had plenty of kitties here, including Neko, do just fine on it. I loved doses that got Neko into the 70's, as it meant less bouncing and more time under renal threshold. That "blues are the acro green" is hogwash in my book, as long as you know how carb sensitive your cat is and. And can get them up from low numbers. It is much better to keep the kitty under renal threshold as much as possible cause acromegaly is hard on the kidneys. That is advice I got from an internal medicine vet at CSU.
Ok, good to know! Lily is surfing along in the greens today and so far at her PMPS!
 
Surf safe tonight Lily!

The saying of blue=acro green came before my time, but I heard it originated because one member had a hard time getting her cat to come up when she fed him HC. The story started out as needing a couple of cans of HC and grew to 5 cans, last I heard the story. Acros can have a working pancreas, Neko sure did, so that can play into keeping numbers down. But I always found a little karo would pop Neko up if she was lower than I liked. Non acros can also take their time coming up to safe numbers. It's all about knowing how high a carb food they need. Neko did Ok with 16%, some need 25%.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top