7/08 AMPS 425 PMPS 263 IAA results

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amber & Meadow

Member Since 2010
When I saw the BG this morning I was like, "Nooooooo!!!". Then when I saw the evening BG, I was like, "What??" Nothing makes any since. I received the IAA test results in the mail today. Normal is under 20%, and Meadow is 76%. So she is officially acro AND insulin resistant. I haven't had time to search the condos, but has anyone had an acro cat, who without surgery/radiation, eventually went OTJ?
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=19185
 
Nice sunny yellow Meadow

I'm sorry Amber,
rats, was hoping Meadow could of avoided that one.
I don't know anything about it, just learning about acro myself from the acro moms.
hoping you will get some options!





((((hugs)))
 
Carolynn's Fletcher has gone on and off insulin several times, and he has not had surgery. Don't make OTJ your goal, though. It might happen, the output of the tumor waxes and wanes, but you CAN aim for having a nicely regulated cat. Flat blue is a nice goal. It feels good for the cat and is easy on the bean (not much drama, there's a lot to be said for lack of drama).

As Gayle posted in your condo the other day, her Oliver is both acro and IAA. It's a challenge, but focus on the acro and let the IAA take care of itself. IAA does seem to be a temporary condition. One day when that clears, you may find that Meadow suddenly needs less insulin. It could be starting already, with all the nice yellow she is getting.

You're making great progress with her, just keep plugging along.
 
Any advice about a dosecrease? I think it's that time again. Sunday I'll be able to do a curve. I'm going to get a +3 tonight and maybe later tomorrow night.
 
Hey there Amber,
It looks like Meadow and Oliver are in the same boat but that's OK. The IAA is not a forever thing, so just keep on doing what you have been doing.
You are aiming for 100 as the low for Meadow.

Just focus on the acro and personally, I'll take a life of nice blues, no problem. No worrying about hypos and such.

I for sure can't afford any SRS, but I am OK with that. It's really all in how you look at it. If my daughter was diabetic, and needed shots all her life, it would be no biggie, and my cat is no different. There are plenty of cats that never go OTJ and are not acro cats. And there are some acros that are low dose.

yeah there is no reason why an acro can't go OTJ if you think about it because they are lucky as their pancreas is functional! And the IAA well there are two types of these antibodies, but the test can't differentiate between the two of them. Some of them are created because of the insulin high dose, but I could be wrong on the the reason. At any rate, look at Oliver's ss. Something happened a short while ago and since that time, I have not needed to give him any R at all.... it could be that we did a good smashing of his IAA, but no way to know for sure. We just know that something big happened.

Now keep in mind that an acro cat is diabetic BECAUSE it's acro. That condition caused the diabetes, so acros are a totally different kind diabetic.
Because the pancreas is working and healthy, if the tumor stops secreting, there would be no need for the insulin, right? So OTJ they go. Then if the tumor wakes up and starts to secrete again, the need for insulin may return..

I look on it as a good thing. Shadoe and Oliver are a couple happy cats, and pretty healthy too. I am shooting for blues, and adjust their insulin doses as needed. They are happy and so am I. OK, Shadoe still doesn't like Ollie but that's just tough for her.

How's Meadow doing these days? Put aside the test results and look to the cat because that's what it's all about.... a happy cat that is as healthy as possible. Never lose sight of Meadow, but don't let her take advantage now - just because she is acro and IAA positive, she can't have extra treats! ;-)
 
Hi Amber,

Can't help you with dosing, but want to give you a big hug!
As Libby said, a flat blue cat would be nice... we're keeping every finger and paw crossed for you over here.
 
Hi Amber, I just want to second what everyone has said: the important thing is a happy cat. So aim for blue and don't worry about OTJ. (Stu has been diabetic for over 4 years and I don't think he'll ever go OTJ, but he is a happy guy and otherwise healthy. That's good enough for me.) So hang in there, read all that you can, and learn from the experience of the other Acromoms. You are doing great!

Ella & Stu
 
Nice to see that yellow PMPS.

I didn't have KB tested for IAA (I tried, but the vet was pretty confused about all the acro info and different blood tests to different labs, etc., and it just didn't get done). It seems that while you're still trying to get regulated there might also be IAA involved but the TX doesn't change, just go after flat cycles below Meadow's renal threshold if you can.

For a dosecrease, well, I think you really need a few more spot checks. I know that's tough given your schedule but since dosing is based on the lowest numbers in the cycle I think you need more data. It's a conservative approach, but a safer one.
 
I have to agree with Nina; you are going to need to get some curves in so that you know where Meadow's nadir is. If you look at Oliver and Shadoe's ss, cover up the tests between shots, you would not be able to tell where their nadirs are. Uncover the numbers in the middle and you see that Oliver has a nadir very close to +10 and Shadoe has hers closer to +5 or so.

Once you have done a few curves, test every 2 hours, you will start to see what Meadow's doing with the insulin.

I think you may want to consider using R at some point, but only if necessary. I really think that my using R along with the Lev may have helped Oliver make his breakthrough.

Once you know what Meadow is doing, you will pretty much know what to expect. I like to test Oliver around +10 or +11 because I need to know if he is still dropping or if he is starting back up again. I don't worry about testing Shadoe in the 2nd half of her cycles because I know I won't see much except a slow rise.

After your curves, you too, will know when to save your strips.
 
+3 BG was 284 which I think is good because Meadow was gobbling down food up until 1 hr before. I was trying to read my work protocol manual, and Meadow decided she wanted to lay on top of it and roll around. She was purring and acting like she did a year ago. So I believe yellow makes her feel better. Can't wait for the blues.
 
It sounds like you may have your work cut out for you on your day(s) off!! Do ask for help if you think you will want to use Humulin R (it's a short acting, bolus insulin) with Meadow. It is probably not something that would be recommended on a day when you were going to be out of the house all day but it is very effective at dropping a high number a little so the Lantus has an easier time bringing numbers down.

If you want, you can increase tomorrow. That way, a curve on Sunday may give you some valuable information. Is there any way you can get a test in as soon as you get home from work? A +11 test can be exceptionally helpful. It's also important to get a before bed test every night. I know it seems like I'm nagging, but given your schedule, you really need to catch the numbers when you can.

It's good to hear that Meadow was behaving like you best remember her. I love when I see that with Gabby.
 
No advice from ignorant me, but sending many hugs. Meadow is a lucky kitty. I hope her treatment becomes more clear now that you know the diagnosis.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top