64/63 @ PMPS. Can someone advise? Please see the bottom of my post.

Give the new dose time, hopefully you will see a change and glad she’s getting the antibiotics today

Mouzer has had, what I think are allergies, of late. I got Zyrtec and just started that yesterday.
Would you happen to know how long I should wait to see if it helps before taking him to the vet?
And would you happen to know what I should ask for if Mouzer needs an antibiotic?

I really do not like having to take Mouzer to the vet. Any time I attempt caution over medication because of his diabetes, I do not trust the vet to know what a diabetic cat cannot have. And I know either Clavamox or Convenia or both will be used if it is sinuses.

And any time the vet breathes the words - depo-medrol - to me, over any cat in my care, I automatically blurt out No! That can cause diabetes. And I speak of Mouzer at this time. The vets act like it is no big deal to give depo-medrol, which shows their lack of knowledge, therefore I do not trust them with Mouzer at all. I am trying to avoid the vet over this with Mouzer's sinuses.
 
Last edited:
Naples here :)

Every little thing makes a difference with these kitties...

Have a great day!

You had told me you are in Naples. I have not yet mentioned, I dont know why lol, but my mother has a childhood sweetheart who lives in Naples. We went down to visit when I was 12. His wife had passed away, so our family went because he needed someone to talk to. We went out to some island in the Gulf and camped. The sand gnats liked to had eaten us alive! We had fires going all over the island to smoke it up and keep them away.
 
Mouzer has had, what I think are allergies, of late. I got Zyrtec and just started that yesterday.
Would you happen to know how long I should wait to see if it helps before taking him to the vet?
And would you happen to know what I should ask for if Mouzer needs an antibiotic?

I really do not like having to take Mouzer to the vet. Any time I attempt caution over medication because of his diabetes, I do not trust the vet to know what a diabetic cat cannot have. And I know either Clavamox or Convenia or both will be used if it is sinuses.

And any time the vet breathes the words - depo-medrol - to me, over any cat in my care, I automatically blurt out No! That can cause diabetes. And I speak of Mouzer at this time. The vets act like it is no big deal to give depo-medrol, which shows their lack of knowledge, therefore I do not trust them with Mouzer at all. I am trying to avoid the vet over this with Mouzer's sinuses.

I think that if you feel that you don’t trust your vet I would definitely find another one, I’ve never give Zyrtec for allergies, I have given it for appetite stimulant to my cat Abby who has passed, I also know Bella has had Convenia several times and has had no reaction from it
 
What are the symptoms? I’ve given Zyrtec when Max had upper respiratory symptoms as unless there’s an infection that results from a cold my vet will not give antibiotics. It’s the same for cats as humans. If no bacteria antibiotics won’t work. He never needed Zyrtec for more than 5 days. It also can act as an appetite stimulant.
 
I think that if you feel that you don’t trust your vet I would definitely find another one, I’ve never give Zyrtec for allergies, I have given it for appetite stimulant to my cat Abby who has passed, I also know Bella has had Convenia several times and has had no reaction from it

I trust my vet more than any vet -- I trust no vet completely :)
I have had a lot of cats to get convenia but I see talk against convenia on the facebook group, so I was wondering if that is due to a diabetic cat.
Mouzer has had a convenia shot in past but due to the talk against it on the facebook group, I had to make sure it was ok for the diabetic cat.
Also, the vet may send me home with Clavamox and I have never given that to him, so I wanted to make sure it would be ok for the diabetic.
Zyrtec is used by many animal rescues for cats with allergies. That is also spoken of on the facebook group. I have used it for other cats with allergies.
Thank you for providing a response :)
 
We went out to some island in the Gulf and camped. The sand gnats liked to had eaten us alive! We had fires going all over the island to smoke it up and keep them away.

That does not sound like my kind of vacation! I'm sorry but camping and I parted ways a long long time ago. Some people seem to enjoy it...my son and grandson say it's the best - but this old lady's idea of camping now is roughing it at the Holiday Inn :rolleyes::joyful::joyful::facepalm:
 
That does not sound like my kind of vacation! I'm sorry but camping and I parted ways a long long time ago. Some people seem to enjoy it...my son and grandson say it's the best - but this old lady's idea of camping now is roughing it at the Holiday Inn :rolleyes::joyful::joyful::facepalm:

LOLOL You are funny! I do love camping and fishing, just not in Florida ahahahaa
Florida has too much insects and bugs and hot weather.
I moved to North Carolina for five years, latter 80's, early 90's, and we used to go camp at Philpott Lake in Virginia.
The water so clear, no insects,, and even though it was hot, it is not like Florida, and the fishing was great hahahaha
 
I trust my vet more than any vet -- I trust no vet completely :)
I have had a lot of cats to get convenia but I see talk against convenia on the facebook group, so I was wondering if that is due to a diabetic cat.
Mouzer has had a convenia shot in past but due to the talk against it on the facebook group, I had to make sure it was ok for the diabetic cat.
Also, the vet may send me home with Clavamox and I have never given that to him, so I wanted to make sure it would be ok for the diabetic.
Zyrtec is used by many animal rescues for cats with allergies. That is also spoken of on the facebook group. I have used it for other cats with allergies.
Thank you for providing a response :)
I tried Zyrtec in one of my cats with skin allergies and it didn't work for us. I was disappointed because so many vets really claim to have good luck with it. I tried Allergra and Chlortrimeton, too. Some of these pills really just made him groom less because he slept all the time! But I sure hope it works for Mouzer. It must work for some cats or people wouldn't talk about it so much.
 
Mouzer has had, what I think are allergies, of late. I got Zyrtec and just started that yesterday.
Would you happen to know how long I should wait to see if it helps before taking him to the vet?
And would you happen to know what I should ask for if Mouzer needs an antibiotic?

I really do not like having to take Mouzer to the vet. Any time I attempt caution over medication because of his diabetes, I do not trust the vet to know what a diabetic cat cannot have. And I know either Clavamox or Convenia or both will be used if it is sinuses.

And any time the vet breathes the words - depo-medrol - to me, over any cat in my care, I automatically blurt out No! That can cause diabetes. And I speak of Mouzer at this time. The vets act like it is no big deal to give depo-medrol, which shows their lack of knowledge, therefore I do not trust them with Mouzer at all. I am trying to avoid the vet over this with Mouzer's sinuses.
I have never heard/read of a cat getting diabetes from a single Depo shot. I would not allow Darcy to have one unless it was some kind of an emergency since it would play havoc with his glucose. Depo-Medrol has its place, but I am sure that some vets overuse it. For example, I had a cat with stomatitis and the treatment was a Depo-Medrol injection. It worked very well to reduce the blood-red inflammation in his mouth so that he as able to eat again. He never had to have another Depo shot. Another good example would be if a cat were in anaphylactic shock (which somebody on this board said -- just in the last few days -- happened to their cat after a single shot of Convenia) in the case of anaphylactic shock, a Depo-Medrol injection would be life saving.
 
I trust my vet more than any vet -- I trust no vet completely :)
I have had a lot of cats to get convenia but I see talk against convenia on the facebook group, so I was wondering if that is due to a diabetic cat.
Mouzer has had a convenia shot in past but due to the talk against it on the facebook group, I had to make sure it was ok for the diabetic cat.
Also, the vet may send me home with Clavamox and I have never given that to him, so I wanted to make sure it would be ok for the diabetic.
Zyrtec is used by many animal rescues for cats with allergies. That is also spoken of on the facebook group. I have used it for other cats with allergies.
Thank you for providing a response :)
This is what I got confused I guess about you maybe not liking your vet, sorry COVID brain:confused:

I really do not like having to take Mouzer to the vet. Any time I attempt caution over medication because of his diabetes, I do not trust the vet to know what a diabetic cat cannot have. And I know either Clavamox or Convenia or both will be used if it is sinuses.​
 
Susie just got a 64 at PMPS. I retested and got a 63. I went ahead and gave her her full dose of 2.25. Fed her her regular 3 oz can of FF (turkey). Okay folks, this is what you have been wishing for with Susie. What do I do now but continue to retest every 20 minutes and hope she goes up. I have the mc and hc food available. I have the toolkit available. Maybe I should not have given the full dose. Please advise.

@tiffmaxee, @Sue and Luci, @Bron and Sheba, @Marje and Gracie.
 
I tried Zyrtec in one of my cats with skin allergies and it didn't work for us. I was disappointed because so many vets really claim to have good luck with it. I tried Allergra and Chlortrimeton, too. Some of these pills really just made him groom less because he slept all the time! But I sure hope it works for Mouzer. It must work for some cats or people wouldn't talk about it so much.

I should have clarified what allergies :) I had referred to sinuses, so I thought it made it known sinus allergies :)
I do not use it for skin allergies. It is used for kitties who get all stuffed up with allergies.

What I was trying to find out is, if this turns out not to be allergies, and I meant sinus allergies, then I will have to take Mouzer to the vet and I know that for many other of the kitties, Clavamox and Convenia are often both used for nasal congestion. I did forget to mention that Prednisone is also used for nasal congestion - As in for colds and not sinus allergies. And I know I dont want Prednisone for Mouzer. I was not sure if Clavamox and Convenia are safe for the diabetic kitty. I am trying to find out, so that when the vet starts doing what he does, I can say a yes or no on it.
My vet does listen to me and he will do as I ask. I just have to be informed when I go.

I have never heard/read of a cat getting diabetes from a single Depo shot. I would not allow Darcy to have one unless it was some kind of an emergency since it would play havoc with his glucose. Depo-Medrol has its place, but I am sure that some vets overuse it. For example, I had a cat with stomatitis and the treatment was a Depo-Medrol injection. It worked very well to reduce the blood-red inflammation in his mouth so that he as able to eat again. He never had to have another Depo shot. Another good example would be if a cat were in anaphylactic shock (which somebody on this board said -- just in the last few days -- happened to their cat after a single shot of Convenia) in the case of anaphylactic shock, a Depo-Medrol injection would be life saving.

Mouzer had two or three depo-medrol shots due to feline stomatitis, I cannot remember if it was two or three, I actually think it was two, and he acquired diabetes because of it. And because it can cause diabetes in some cats, I do not want even one depo-medrol shot for any.

This is what I got confused I guess about you maybe not liking your vet, sorry COVID brain:confused:

I really do not like having to take Mouzer to the vet. Any time I attempt caution over medication because of his diabetes, I do not trust the vet to know what a diabetic cat cannot have. And I know either Clavamox or Convenia or both will be used if it is sinuses.​

And I should have clarified, I do not trust any vet completely. I have had enough go bad with even those known to be the best vets. I trust the vet I have now because he is the only vet I have ever had that will at least read and listen to information I have to provide to him. He is willing to learn. He asks questions of me on what I have learned, and he says I have helped him with things he did not know. He also admit, no vet can know all they need to know about any one particular subject unless it is cases they deal with on a very regular basis. I like him. He is not filled with pride, like many others I have gone to. It took me years to find this vet.
 
I should have clarified what allergies :) I had referred to sinuses, so I thought it made it known sinus allergies :)
I do not use it for skin allergies. It is used for kitties who get all stuffed up with allergies.

What I was trying to find out is, if this turns out not to be allergies, and I meant sinus allergies, then I will have to take Mouzer to the vet and I know that for many other of the kitties, Clavamox and Convenia are often both used for nasal congestion. I did forget to mention that Prednisone is also used for nasal congestion - As in for colds and not sinus allergies. And I know I dont want Prednisone for Mouzer. I was not sure if Clavamox and Convenia are safe for the diabetic kitty. I am trying to find out, so that when the vet starts doing what he does, I can say a yes or no on it.
My vet does listen to me and he will do as I ask. I just have to be informed when I go.



Mouzer had two or three depo-medrol shots, I cannot remember if it was two or three, I actually think it was two, and he acquired diabetes because of it. And because it can cause diabetes in some cats, I do not want even one depo-medrol shot for any.



And I should have clarified, I do not trust any vet completely. I have had enough go bad with even those known to be the best vets. I trust the vet I have now because he is the only vet I have ever had that will at least read and listen to information I have to provide to him. He is willing to learn. He asks questions of me on what I have learned, and he says I have helped him with things he did not know. He also admit, no vet can know all they need to know about any one particular subject unless it is cases they deal with on a very regular basis. I like him. He is not filled with pride, like many others I have gone to. It took me years to find this vet.
 
Tested again and she was at 74 at +1. I fed her about two tbsp. of low carb. This was shocking with how high she has been the last two days. Where did these numbers come from?
 
What % carb food do you have around?

It is unfortunately it is night... as always hard to keep monitoring. I would keep meassuring her every hour and giving a little bit of food. If you see dropping early in the cycle (before +4) give her some MC (~15%). If dropping a lot start testing every 30 minutes and give HC. If gets to 50, its honey/Karo time.
 
Tested again and she was at 74 at +1. I fed her about two tbsp. of low carb. This was shocking with how high she has been the last two days. Where did these numbers come from?

I dont want to be the one to advise but I will say that 63 does get me concerned and I test in 30 minutes, and I am not sure if one should test in 15 minutes at that time, but if I felt real uncomfortable, I would do that. At 63, now for Mouzer and due to that he can stay the same, go up or take a dive, I would give a tsp or two of HC -- But that is because Mouzer has shown me what he is capable of.
The 74 is great but early, so keep monitoring.
As for where these numbers come from, you tell me :D
I have not checked out your SS long enough to be able to say, unless it is a new dose and 4th cycle or so?
 
My low carb food is between 7% and 3%. I do have medium (12%) and I have high carb food too (24%). They are all Fancy Feast. Yes, I will continue to check her ever 30 minutes but I do think she is going to come up. This was most bizzare. I just increased her dose two days ago and her numbers remained high. She just dropped like a rock this evening. Thanks, Karen, for being there for me tonight.
 
I dont want to be the one to advise but I will say that 63 does get me concerned and I test in 30 minutes, and I am not sure if one should test in 15 minutes at that time, but if I felt real uncomfortable, I would do that. At 63, now for Mouzer and due to that he can stay the same, go up or take a dive, I would give a tsp or two of HC -- But that is because Mouzer has shown me what he is capable of.
The 74 is great but early, so keep monitoring.
As for where these numbers come from, you tell me :D
I have not checked out your SS long enough to be able to say, unless it is a new dose and 4th cycle or so?
Cherryl, Susie has been so high even after I increased her dose two days ago. All of a sudden she dropped tonight - like a rock. Who knew this was going to happen.
 
The difference between the +2 and PMPS should tell you a little bit of what kind of night you should expect. If it is similar or higher it should be OK. If it is lower, you may want to start with a tbsp of MC.

I know you are very worried about low numbers. Right now, these are very good numbers for Susie. Is just important to keep monitoring, because this is new for you and her.
I am afraid I cannot stay with you the whole night, as you can see Hercules is dropping quite a lot, so I am afraid I will be busy. But if I can I'll stop and check.
 
I can hang around for a bit.
I am no expert, but I often give myself less credit than I should, keep monitoring and posting numbers and I do know what to do in this much.
Now, I cannot say that I wont go overboard with what to do because Mouzer scares me hahaha
But until someone can be here with you, it is better to have an over-reactor than an under-reactor :D
 
What HC are you using that is 24%? I have what someone suggested and told me is 20% but I sure would like to have 24%.
Once you see going up without any food for 1 hour, you should be ok to meassure less frequently
Once you see going up without any food for 1 hour, you should be ok to meassure less frequently
Thank you. I'm pretty sure we will be okay. This night was a "wake up" call to the increase in insulin.
The difference between the +2 and PMPS should tell you a little bit of what kind of night you should expect. If it is similar or higher it should be OK. If it is lower, you may want to start with a tbsp of MC.

I know you are very worried about low numbers. Right now, these are very good numbers for Susie. Is just important to keep monitoring, because this is new for you and her.

She was slightly higher at + 1. I am not worried. I will monitor until I see her numbers continue to go up. Thank you, all.
 
I can hang around for a bit.
I am no expert, but I often give myself less credit than I should, keep monitoring and posting numbers and I do know what to do in this much.
Now, I cannot say that I wont go overboard with what to do because Mouzer scares me hahaha

But until someone can be here with you, it is better to have an over-reactor than an under-reactor :D

You are so sweet. I am so fond of you Cherryl and I don't even know you. I feel your compassion for animals. I feel a deep connection to you for some reason. Thanks for offering to stay around for Susie but I think we will be okay. By the way, you don't have to be an expert to help someone who needs help o this site.
 
Last edited:
You are so sweet. I am so fond of you Cherryl and I don't even know you. I feel your compassion for animals. I feel a deep connection to you for some reason. Thanks for offering to stay around for Susie but I think we will be okay. By the way, you don't have to be an expert to help someone who needs help who needs help on this site.

I just dont want to give wrong advise, but what you are dealing with right now, I think we learn quickly how to handle, or most do anyhow.
While Mouzer has his crazy drops, I only hurry to get here because Mouzer is nuts lol and I dont trust him, so I want to make sure I have my laptop out and am on site here, in case things really went awry.
So far, even in his nuts stuff he does, I have been able to do what it takes to get him up. I dont need babysitting but still, it is nice to have all ready in case something went really insane, of which I probably would just tear out of here in trying to get to emergency, which is a 30 to 45 minute drive away --
that time it takes to get to emergency is what scares me most.
Thank you for such kind words. That is so sweet of you. I am fond of you too because I think you get me :)
 
I am not sure if one should test in 15 minutes at that time,
No, carbs take 20-30 minutes from the plate to the blood stream, any sooner than that is a waste of a strip. Another thing, at the end of the cycle the insulin is wearing off, and you typically don't need as many carbs to boost her. Make sure you note the carbs and amount you feed when - it's a great learning tool for next time.

Do you want to shoot tonight, or do you want to skip? This is your decision to make and is a decision for you, not for Susie. Here, folks with experience would shoot green, and it's something you will have to do at some point.

Susie may have dropped because of the vet visit. It's counter intuitive but Neko dropped at the vet.
 
No, carbs take 20-30 minutes from the plate to the blood stream, any sooner than that is a waste of a strip. Another thing, at the end of the cycle the insulin is wearing off, and you typically don't need as many carbs to boost her. Make sure you note the carbs and amount you feed when - it's a great learning tool for next time.

Do you want to shoot tonight, or do you want to skip? This is your decision to make and is a decision for you, not for Susie. Here, folks with experience would shoot green, and it's something you will have to do at some point.

Susie may have dropped because of the vet visit. It's counter intuitive but Neko dropped at the vet.

I was told to test every 15-20 minutes when they get low - that may have just been for the 30's, I am not sure on that.
I did not ask about about skipping shot or not. I thought she already gave the shot :) And I already do shoot green hahaha
Perhaps you were not speaking to me at that point? Although it does fall under quote to me, so I am not sure on that either :)
 
Last edited:
Hi! So a couple things. First, it's a new dose, so you might have some new dose wonkiness going on while she settles in.

But something I don't think anyone else has mentioned and I believe it is worth it to keep in mind - she got a shot of Convenia today, right? Could be the shot did it. I know Wendy mentioned the vet visit, too, so keep these things in mind for next time she is at the vet or gets another shot and you can compare notes as time goes on, on whether these things affect her.
 
Back
Top