6 units and still in the high 500s

Status
Not open for further replies.

wlm

Member Since 2016
We have a 9 year female diagnosed 2 months ago . I have spent about 800 bucks at the vet . I ran a glucosamine panel , checked kidney and thyroid(came back normal ) and the cat has been on insulin . The Brand is Pro Zinc. SHe is on 6 units and her wieght is 8lbs. she was 11lbs when this started .

The vet keeps uping the dose and we are losing hope bc her sugars are in the high 500s . she drinks water constantly . I asked the vet is we could have missed the dose and are dealing with a symogi effect but she thinks not . THey are advising me to do a full body xray and more labwork .

I am going to start home testing her bc i think the vet is wrong .

My questions are

1. would the symogi effect showed on her glucosomine test
2. should i continue the prescribed 6 units and begin home tests immediatly
3. im using a human meter so do i need to convert results
any other input is greatly appreciated . She is definitly declining and i want to help her if i can . the vet is taking all my money every week we go
 
Hi and welcome. I can't answer your dosing question- hopefully some of our dosing experts will be along soon- but I can help you with the testing question. Absolutely begin testing right away! That is the only way to see how well the insulin is working in your cat. Using a human meter is fine, it's what most of us use. It will read a bit lower than your vets, but that's ok because we are looking for trends and when a cat is high she's high. Please set up a spreadsheet- http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/
and record all numbers you have. That will enable us to better help you with dosage. Always test before you feed and give the insulin, then try to get as many between shot tests as possible-the more data, the better. Do not feed your kitty for two hours prior to the pre shot test so that the number is not food influenced. Also what are you feeding? If it's one of the vet prescribed foods, it may be too high in carbs. We can help with that too. But first start testing and ask any questions you have.
 
  • Like
Reactions: wlm
Hi and welcome. I can't answer your dosing question- hopefully some of our dosing experts will be along soon- but I can help you with the testing question. Absolutely begin testing right away! That is the only way to see how well the insulin is working in your cat. Using a human meter is fine, it's what most of us use. It will read a bit lower than your vets, but that's ok because we are looking for trends and when a cat is high she's high. Please set up a spreadsheet- http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/
and record all numbers you have. That will enable us to better help you with dosage. Always test before you feed and give the insulin, then try to get as many between shot tests as possible-the more data, the better. Do not feed your kitty for two hours prior to the pre shot test so that the number is not food influenced. Also what are you feeding? If it's one of the vet prescribed foods, it may be too high in carbs. We can help with that too. But first start testing and ask any questions you have.

sharon

thanks . For the reply , I i am giving her high protien dry food . merrick i believe is the brand . she has never liked wet food and i want to keep her eating well which she is . She eats like a piggy . drinks likes a fish .

i will record the data but the spreadsheat is complicated for iphone use so i may just keep a chart and fill it out by hand then take a picture of my chart and post.
 
I just looked up the Merrick food. I don't know which one you're feeding, but the high protien one has potatoes and peas-both high carb. The best diet for your cat is a low carb wet food. How have you tried to transition her to it before? We have tips on how to do it. If you can get her eating that, it's possible her glucose levels will come down some. So make sure you are testing her BEFORE you attempt the transition.
 
at the present i cannot switch her to wet all day . i feed her in the morning and the auto feeder feeds her at night . then i giver her insulin when i get home which is sometimes up to one hour after she eats . our schedule is way to sparratic to try wet food at this time . i would like to get her sugars out of the 600s as my first priority but i do agree wet food is better and we will switch in the future . The auto feeder realeases small amounts of food during the day too . so she can have small snacks as needed. my other cat elvis wont eat her food but she will eat his if we try to feed her wet she will still get the dry anyway . i switched her over before and she ate the wet then stole his . i dont have time to watch them eat bc we have a hectic house hold and seperating the two just wont work . i will switch them both over to wet once her sugar is better managed . I think she is getting over the needed dose of insulin . the vet upped a full unit every time we went . plus she is very stressed at vet . she has always had oissues with strangers and new places. so im positive that her numbers are most likely way lower at home . very excited to home test ., im headed to walmart what brand should i get of testers.


THe merrick is low carb dry 74 percent protien and 26 percent carb.
 
If can not switch to wet, try to get a lower carb dry such as Young Again (only available on line) even Natures Variety is only 12 carbs and can be found at Petsmart. Walmart Relion Confirm or Micro use the smallest blood sample and is a favorite around here. I use the Relion Prime which uses a larger blood sample, but the strips are cheaper. Buy plenty strips and lancets for alternate test sites- 25-28 gauge
 
Last edited:
Hello! Welcome to FDMB and our little forum! Can we have your name and your kitty's name?

First off, 6 units is EXTREMELY high. A few questions for you: She was diagnosed 2 months ago? What dose did you start at? How quickly did you move up? Did you move up by whole units?

I ask because you could have easily skipped over the correct dose if you moved by whole units. We do quarter units or half units at most.

You do not have to convert the data you receive from a meter. Just make sure you let us know if you are using a human meter or a pet meter. We know what the numbers mean for both. :)

Please begin home testing ASAP. We can help you learn if you have problems. It's fairly simple. The trick is bribes...er...treats.

As we said, 6 units is really really high. Honestly, if it was me, I'd reduce to maybe 2 and see what happens. We can move the dose up from there. It is NOT necessary to go to the vet each week. You can do testing at home and adjust the dose based on what you get. We do 3-4 tests per day. ALWAYS before the shot. Mid cycle (5 to 7 hours after the shot) whenever you can. And a before bed test at roughly 2 to 3 hours after the PM shot just to make sure you aren't heading into an active cycle.

Anyway, I don't want to overwhelm you. I'm heading to bed in a bit, but I'm on early in the mornings. I'll check in here in a bit and then in the morning too. Please ask any questions you want and let us know any concerns you have! We definitely want to help, and we can help I'm sure!
 
If you decide to try lowering the insulin dose, please monitor frequently for urine or blood ketones (has your cat ever had diabetic keoacidosis? If yes, a blood ketone meter can detect ketone formation before ketones start showing up in the urine.). my signature link Secondary Monitoring Tools has tips on that, plus ways to assess dehydration and so on.
 
If you decide to try lowering the insulin dose, please monitor frequently for urine or blood ketones (has your cat ever had diabetic keoacidosis? If yes, a blood ketone meter can detect ketone formation before ketones start showing up in the urine.). my signature link Secondary Monitoring Tools has tips on that, plus ways to assess dehydration and so on.


I dont even know what a ketone . Here pee smells sweet.
 
Hello! Welcome to FDMB and our little forum! Can we have your name and your kitty's name?

First off, 6 units is EXTREMELY high. A few questions for you: She was diagnosed 2 months ago? What dose did you start at? How quickly did you move up? Did you move up by whole units?

I ask because you could have easily skipped over the correct dose if you moved by whole units. We do quarter units or half units at most.

You do not have to convert the data you receive from a meter. Just make sure you let us know if you are using a human meter or a pet meter. We know what the numbers mean for both. :)

Please begin home testing ASAP. We can help you learn if you have problems. It's fairly simple. The trick is bribes...er...treats.

As we said, 6 units is really really high. Honestly, if it was me, I'd reduce to maybe 2 and see what happens. We can move the dose up from there. It is NOT necessary to go to the vet each week. You can do testing at home and adjust the dose based on what you get. We do 3-4 tests per day. ALWAYS before the shot. Mid cycle (5 to 7 hours after the shot) whenever you can. And a before bed test at roughly 2 to 3 hours after the PM shot just to make sure you aren't heading into an active cycle.

Anyway, I don't want to overwhelm you. I'm heading to bed in a bit, but I'm on early in the mornings. I'll check in here in a bit and then in the morning too. Please ask any questions you want and let us know any concerns you have! We definitely want to help, and we can help I'm sure!



Rachel

We started at one unit twice a day
Then went up each week or every two weeks until getting to six units . The checked fructosomine also which came back high. I hope to be checking sugars by wednesday . Im headed to walmart today before work
 
How does his breath smell? the urine will smell sweet because it has sugar in it. Here is some info on ketones:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/ketones.htm

We take them very seriously with a cat running in high levels. Test daily.

I am with everyone else. Dry food can raise levels by hundreds of points. Have you seen this website by a vet - she transitioned some difficult cats from dry to wet and has some great ideas: www.catinfo.org. Meanwhile, try one of the lower carb drys. (But switch slowly and monitor carefully as you do - if the levels drop, you want to be ready)
 
Hello ProZinc folks! I have just been communicating further with wlm on his welcome thread and it seems the dose of insulin this cat has been getting is 6u twice daily (12u per day) which leads me to think the high carb food may be what has kept the kitty going so far so I have recommended lowering dose, not changing diet until such time as he is monitoring and posting over here for better guidance. I didn't know he had posted here already! It appears the vet has only been using fructosamine testing to determine dosing!
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-here-from-pennsylvania.156379/
 
Hello ProZinc folks! I have just been communicating further with wlm on his welcome thread and it seems the dose of insulin this cat has been getting is 6u twice daily (12u per day) which leads me to think the high carb food may be what has kept the kitty going so far so I have recommended lowering dose, not changing diet until such time as he is monitoring and posting over here for better guidance. I didn't know he had posted here already! It appears the vet has only been using fructosamine testing to determine dosing!
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-here-from-pennsylvania.156379/


Ok guys and gals . Just gotback from walmart and got the relion micro. First sugar is 493 which was two hours post insulin . I know i need todo it before she gets its and eats but i gotexcited . She got 6 units insulin this morning. As per all your recomendationshe is going to fancy feast classic becuase ofthelow carbs . Butnot yet . Wednesday i havethe day off so i am going to check her sugar every 1.5hrs and record results . The. I will ask for your advice when switching her over to wet food amd changing dose
 
First off congrats on getting your first test done. That's a big step forward in getting your cat feeling better.

Yes that's a high number but don't get hung up on that one number. If you gave 6u two hours ago, that number is being influenced by the food eaten pre-shot and isn't the lowest number of the cycle which usually occurs somewhere between 4 and 7 hours post shot (this may be a little off as I don't use ProZinc) . If kitty has been "defending" against going too low, that number is still being influenced by kitty's defence systems. You have been giving a high dose for a while now so what you are seeing now is not just the effect of what's happened today but also a carry over of previous days.

I very strongly encourage you to decrease the dose of insulin for the next shot. I suggested no more than 1u and Rachel said she'd think maybe 2u so while I made a more conservative suggestion, the point is, we both think the dose needs to be reduced now and before any food changes.

If you want to do a curve, test every 2 hours for a period of 12 hours to see where the lowest reading occurs. Right now I wouldn't be surprised if there does not appear to be a low point due to the high dose you have been giving.
 
Great that you've started testing and are going to change her over to Fancy Feast Classics. I look forward to seeing the results of your curve on Wed. What's your kitty's name? She's beautiful!
 
Okay so u guys think i should reduce to 2 units . Then recheck every two hours. What if her sugar goes even higher after the 2 units should i give more . I think i will have my wife give 2 units tonight then check her when i get home at modnight. If its is crazy high shiuld i hive more . She wieghts ten pounds
 
Great that you've started testing and are going to change her over to Fancy Feast Classics. I look forward to seeing the results of your curve on Wed. What's your kitty's name? She's beautiful!

I call her girl or hunny or girly. Her name is pricilla and our other cat is elvis lol
 
Great that you've started testing and are going to change her over to Fancy Feast Classics. I look forward to seeing the results of your curve on Wed. What's your kitty's name? She's beautiful!

also i am going to change to the famcy feast but after i reduce dose and get a curve . is it the regular fancy feast classic or does it say low carb ??
 
Fancy Feast Classic. Most of us use the Turkey and Giblets or Chicken Feast. You can give some seafood, but try to limit it to once or twice a week.
 
Shots are only given twice daily. Never ever give insulin to Girly more than twice daily even if you think you have missed and shot into her fur because you never know for sure how much insulin might have gotten into her. Each individual reading number is not important. It's the lowest number each dose of insulin takes Girly to that will tell you if she needs more or less insulin. Over time, if you track her readings on our spreadsheet, you will start to see a pattern and that is what you need to be able to determine the ideal optimal dose for Girly. Like humans, cats take a few days to settle into a dose, so if you decide to try 2 units tonight, stick with that dose for a few days. You can test her when you get home and make note of that number and how many hours since her insulin shot but DO NOT give her any more insulin no matter the number. Insulin is NOT medication. It is a hormone and doesn't come with an off switch. This is a marathon not a sprint. Girly is not going to get regulated overnight but if you take this step by step, she will start to feel better soon.
 
just to chime in about the dry food - there are a few dry foods that are quite low in carbs These are Young Again Zero carb (available on line only from the company - Young Again), Evo, Epigen 90 from Wysong, and Waggers - a semi-moist no starch no grain (www.waggers.com)
Wet food is clearly preferable but just wanted to provide this list
 
Shots are only given twice daily. Never ever give insulin to Girly more than twice daily even if you think you have missed and shot into her fur because you never know for sure how much insulin might have gotten into her. Each individual reading number is not important. It's the lowest number each dose of insulin takes Girly to that will tell you if she needs more or less insulin. Over time, if you track her readings on our spreadsheet, you will start to see a pattern and that is what you need to be able to determine the ideal optimal dose for Girly. Like humans, cats take a few days to settle into a dose, so if you decide to try 2 units tonight, stick with that dose for a few days. You can test her when you get home and make note of that number and how many hours since her insulin shot but DO NOT give her any more insulin no matter the number. Insulin is NOT medication. It is a hormone and doesn't come with an off switch. This is a marathon not a sprint. Girly is not going to get regulated overnight but if you take this step by step, she will start to feel better soon.

She got 2 units at 8 pm . Its almost 1am so aalmost 5 hours later and she is at 567 . I will check again tomarow morning before food and insulinand i will continue the two units untill i do a complete curve on wednesday bc i am off all day. Just very worried about her and hoping i can pull this off . Im going to bed . Thanks warfmen. As per your recomendations i will do 2 units tomarrow also at her normal shot time 8am
 

Attachments

  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    45.9 KB · Views: 158
wlm, Please take a reading in the morning BEFORE GIVING the insulin and post here for some guidance. Not sure what time zone you are in but hopefully someone can guide you. It's possible even the 2 units is too much causing the high reading .......please leave some food down overnight so Girly can "top up" if she needs to and then pull the food 2 hours before testing in the morning. The normal routine with ProZinc is to test, feed then give insulin. If the reading in the morning is 200 or less DO NOT GIVE insulin. If her high numbers are a result of too much insulin, it will take up to three days for the high numbers to calm down so please be patient. We'll help you figure this out.

Love the picture. She is one adorable little girl and we want to help you keep her safe. Tomorrow perhaps we can get you to set up a spreadsheet to track her readings and that will allow folks here to help you. The instructions for the spreadsheet are HERE.
 
The spreadsheet would be very helpful. It'll help us see what's going on. What was her PMPS last night (her number before the shot)?
 
@Rachel Thank you for chiming in. While I have a tiny bit of ProZinc experience from helping another member with their cat's shots last summer, I am by no means in a position to guide with dosing (save for knowing 6u twice daily is a hefty dose and very likely contributing to the high numbers) or sliding scales. I don't think they got a pre-shot number...just the +5 last night. I hope wlm comes on board with a pre-shot number this morning and can get a spreadsheet set up so he can get the help he needs. And I'm pretty sure he is on Eastern Daylight savings time. :)
 
@Rachel Thank you for chiming in. While I have a tiny bit of ProZinc experience from helping another member with their cat's shots last summer, I am by no means in a position to guide with dosing (save for knowing 6u twice daily is a hefty dose and very likely contributing to the high numbers) or sliding scales. I don't think they got a pre-shot number...just the +5 last night. I hope wlm comes on board with a pre-shot number this morning and can get a spreadsheet set up so he can get the help he needs. And I'm pretty sure he is on Eastern Daylight savings time. :)
545sugar. Just now this moring then feed then shot . I am on est timezone. I may get a few more readings today before noon but then am leaving for work . She got 2 units again. I am putting all my info in a vhart for wednesday bc i have i phone and spread sheet not work with that . I think i will test her again at
 
That's great! Please do get a few more tests today when you can. The info of what the shot of 2 units does today will help guide us in what kind of shot to give in the future. :) I'm on CST so I tend to be around early in the morning. I'll try to check in today while at work and will check again tonight when I get home (around 6/6:30 my time).

I have to run out the door, but I'm glad you're here! As Linda said, we can help you figure this out...it does take some patience though! A few readings before heading to work today will help make sure she stays in safe numbers, so I look forward to seeing what you get!
 
I am just hoping she does not require 6 units becuase she is sitting in front of her waterbowl just watching that and has not done that since before she was diagnosed . Inonly gave her the 2 units today


I want to add every week or every other whenbi would take her to the vet they would just do a ear prick then adjust her sugar based on that one reading. Then after a few weeksbher numbers were not improving so they ran fructosomine and kidney and thyroid. Also theyvalways checked her 6 or twelve hours post shot but i dont think they ever got a reading below 450
 
wlm, the readings at the vet were likely elevated for two reasons. First of all, most cats get stressed out at the vet's office and this causes them to have elevated BG numbers. Those numbers can be elevated by 100 points or more in many cases. This is why we so strongly urge people to home test their cats. The vet then decides the dose needs to be raised based on a stressed out reading and kitty ends up getting more insulin than they really need. The excess dosage then leads to even higher BG numbers the next week and the dose get increased again creating a vicious circle. We recommend increasing/decreasing doses by 0.25u or at most 0.5u when deemed necessary. It appears you have been increasing by a full unit every week or so (based on diagnosis 2 months ago) making it highly likely you have gone right past the ideal dose for Girly. It will take a few days to clear any bouncing Girly is doing from the 6u dose, so don't fret. While you want to get those high numbers down, you also want to avoid seriously low numbers which can be even more dangerous for Girly than the high ones. Patience is the key right now. :)
 
Linda is right! Patience is the key. Give it a few days on a lower dose to see if the number settle down. We'll go from there.

Remember, we dose based on preshot numbers and mid cycle numbers. Your vet is giving dose advice based on just an average of the past few weeks. Our dosing can be more exact since we are basing it on specific numbers rather than just an average. :)
 
That's great! Please do get a few more tests today when you can. The info of what the shot of 2 units does today will help guide us in what kind of shot to give in the future. :) I'm on CST so I tend to be around early in the morning. I'll try to check in today while at work and will check again tonight when I get home (around 6/6:30 my time).

I have to run out the door, but I'm glad you're here! As Linda said, we can help you figure this out...it does take some patience though! A few readings before heading to work today will help make sure she stays in safe numbers, so I look forward to seeing what you get!

she shot 500 even 3.5 hours post shot . 2 units . then i went to work . my wife just gave her the evening dose. tomarrow i am testing all day . i cant fill spreadsheet out but maybe i can print it at work fill it out by hand and post that . we dont have a cpu at home . just fablets and phones and such laptop currently down
 
wlm, I know this is very frustrating for you and you want to get Girly's numbers down ASAP. At 3.5 hours post shot, Girly's numbers may have just been starting to drop because with ProZinc, the nadir (lowest point in a 12 hour period between shots), usually occurs roughly between 4 and 7 hours post shot. Until you have more readings at different times in a couple of 12 hour cycles, it's impossible to see exactly what is going on. The average cat does not need the high dose of insulin you were giving Girly so odds are it was too high. By collecting data, you'll start to see what is going on and we can help you make the appropriate adjustments to get Girly on the road to feeling better.

Food plays a big role in sorting this out so I have a few questions.

How long before the pre-shot test this morning did Girly have food?
Do you measure out a pre-determined amount of food for Girly each day or just fill a bowl and let her have as much as she wants?
Do you leave food out for her overnight so she can free feed?
Was Girly free feeding between the readings of 545 and 500?

Food influences BG levels and Girly is eating high carb food which is going to elevate her BG. Now however is NOT the time to make any diet changes. It is however important to withhold food at least two hours before pre-shot blood tests to be sure it's safe to give insulin without food influence.

Did your wife get a reading before giving Girly her evening dose?

When you have more readings, the folks experienced with ProZinc will help you determine how to proceed from here.
 
She gets half cup of dry twice dauly . Am feed is at 8 and pm around 6 . No snacks alltgough she would eat whatever i give her . She has been a piggy lately

I am excited to switch her to wet but waiting to get some good sugar curves first .

My wife is not getting a reading before feeding . Im only out two nights a week but when i get home at midnight i check on her.


Whats the deal with snacks should she have snacks .
 
She can have snacks sometimes. You feed twice a day? We give freeze dried chicken treats here at my house for a treat sometimes.

Is your wife willing to learn to test? It's very important to be able to tests since BG can drop suddenly.
 
Just got 201 sugar 3 to 4 hours post injection and ate around 4 hours ago .

That reading of 201 at 3 or 4 hours after her shot is encouraging and suggests to me the 6u dose was in fact too high and Girly is now clearing the bounce that resulted. It does however also make me wonder just how low Girly went later in that cycle. It's possible the 2 units is still more than she needs so those readings you plan to get today will be very helpful.

It's very important to be able to tests since BG can drop suddenly

I second Rachel's comment. If your wife is going to be giving shots, it's important for her to be able to test Girly to ensure it's safe to give her shot. When you start transitioning Girly to a canned diet, this will be even more important as BG levels can drop drastically and Girly's will need to be monitored closely as her dose of insulin will no doubt need to be lowered.
 
I just saw this thread so I'll add my 2 cents. Lol

First, could we have your first name? It's nice to know who we're talking to. :cat:
Second, if you could go to your member page, then to your "signature" and add some info, it'd help us be able to help you better. If you look at some of the other members signature's, you'll see the info we'd like. The sig info is what you see below (in smaller and lighter gray) each members posts. This info saves a lot of repeat questions.

Now, that you're home testing, which is super smart, you'll not only save a ton of money, but Girly is already much safer!

As to the food change, you could probably start adding a small amount of canned to the dry now. You want transition slowly, over the course of a couple of a week to 10 days or so. You don't want to rush it. But when you start, testing more often is important, especially when you hit the 50/50 point (50%dry-50%wet) as the BG can drop A LOT! Goof hated the canned food so much, it took me almost 6 WEEKS to get him fully switched, now he scarfs it up so fast sometimes I don't even have his shot ready yet.

For the timed feeder, many people freeze that portion, that way it's thawed when the feeder opens up and is still fresh. For treats, I give plain tuna or cooked chicken. Goof's not wild about the freeze dries stuff, which is fine by me as its crazy expensive.
 
As to the food change, you could probably start adding a small amount of canned to the dry now.

I'd still be hesitant to make any diet changes just yet until we see what the numbers look like at least over the cycle today. We're not sure if the bounce (assuming that's what is was) has totally cleared yet, nor do we know just how low the 2u dose is taking Girly during the cycle. Until we get more data, and determine a safe dose for Girly on her current diet, I still suggest holding off on any diet changes that could bring about a dramatic drop in BG#s!
 
  • Like
Reactions: wlm
Looks you're making good progress! You might edit the title of this thread to reflect the current status by going to the top and clicking on the Thread Tools icon to the right.

When you have a moment, could you add a few tidbits to your signature? It will help us give you feedback.

Editing your Signature

In the upper right corner of the screen, within the dark blue bar, you will see ID, Inbox, and Alerts

Click on your ID.

On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature.
This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback. You are limited to 2 hard returns, so separate pieces by | or -.
This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
Add any other text, such as your name | cat's name | date of Dx (diagnosis) | insulin | meter | general location (city and state/province) any other pertinent issues like if there are any food issues, history of DKA, hepatic lipidosis, pancreatitis, allergies, IBD, etc.

Click the Save Changes button at the bottom.
 
Looks you're making good progress! You might edit the title of this thread to reflect the current status by going to the top and clicking on the Thread Tools icon to the right.

When you have a moment, could you add a few tidbits to your signature? It will help us give you feedback.

Editing your Signature

In the upper right corner of the screen, within the dark blue bar, you will see ID, Inbox, and Alerts

Click on your ID.

On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature.
This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback. You are limited to 2 hard returns, so separate pieces by | or -.
This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
Add any other text, such as your name | cat's name | date of Dx (diagnosis) | insulin | meter | general location (city and state/province) any other pertinent issues like if there are any food issues, history of DKA, hepatic lipidosis, pancreatitis, allergies, IBD, etc.

Click the Save Changes button at the bottom.
[/QUOTE
That reading of 201 at 3 or 4 hours after her shot is encouraging and suggests to me the 6u dose was in fact too high and Girly is now clearing the bounce that resulted. It does however also make me wonder just how low Girly went later in that cycle. It's possible the 2 units is still more than she needs so those readings you plan to get today will be very helpful.



I second Rachel's comment. If your wife is going to be giving shots, it's important for her to be able to test Girly to ensure it's safe to give her shot. When you start transitioning Girly to a canned diet, this will be even more important as BG levels can drop drastically and Girly's will need to be monitored closely as her dose of insulin will no doubt need to be lowered.

My wife will not be checking girls blood sugar . I am only away two nights so the other five days a week i am hone to check . I have to cone up with another plan for mon tues. i will updat thread later . Thanks for all the help . Working hard to get sugars ever two hours
 
It Looks like we have given you some valuable homework and you are zipping right up this steep learning curve that is the sugar dance of diabetes.

First, testing. Data is your friend. The more you know about how the insulin is working, the better you can adjust and work it to her advantage. We urge you to always test before each shot - to be sure the level is high enough for a shot and tha the dose you are planning is safe - and 5-7 hours after the shot to find how low the insulin took her.

Food. I am fine with waiting until you see how the 2 units works before changing the food. I am just wondering how much less insulin she may need if she is off high carb dry. I'd suggest getting the testing down and getting some data. Then, when you switch, you'll feel confident about testing if she goes low and adjusting accordingly.

You can maintain the spreadsheet on a tablet. The importance of it is, if you want immediate dosing help for instance, we can't give good advice without seeing her history of doses/levels. I'll tag @Marje and Gracie she helps people with tablet spreadsheets.
 
Treats; some good low carb treats for Girly are freeze dried chicken, ex. Pure Bite, plain cooked chicken breast or Bonito Flakes (dried tuna flakes). If you go for the Pure bites it's cheaper to buy the ones in the dog food isle (same ingredients lower price), if you go for Bonito flakes get the ones made for humans from an Asian Grocery (or Amazon) again same thing just way cheaper.
 
It Looks like we have given you some valuable homework and you are zipping right up this steep learning curve that is the sugar dance of diabetes.

First, testing. Data is your friend. The more you know about how the insulin is working, the better you can adjust and work it to her advantage. We urge you to always test before each shot - to be sure the level is high enough for a shot and tha the dose you are planning is safe - and 5-7 hours after the shot to find how low the insulin took her.

Food. I am fine with waiting until you see how the 2 units works before changing the food. I am just wondering how much less insulin she may need if she is off high carb dry. I'd suggest getting the testing down and getting some data. Then, when you switch, you'll feel confident about testing if she goes low and adjusting accordingly.

You can maintain the spreadsheet on a tablet. The importance of it is, if you want immediate dosing help for instance, we can't give good advice without seeing her history of doses/levels. I'll tag @Marje and Gracie she helps people with tablet spreadsheets.
 
Got a lot of testing done today messed up the evening pre shot bc she ate before hand but other than that did well took 6 sugar readings and will keep it up untill bedtime .

She already looks much better since i reduced her to 2 units. Her sugars have definitly came down a little as well . I will load all my data into a spreadsheet soon

I will aslo update the title of this thread
I
 
Glad to hear she is already doing better! It's very possible the wet food will mean she needs even less insulin. I agree with sue. Get the testing down, then switch the food and we'll go from there!
 
Glad to hear she is already doing better! It's very possible the wet food will mean she needs even less insulin. I agree with sue. Get the testing down, then switch the food and we'll go from there!
What kind of car litter to use . Its not even scoopable . I just dump it everyday and it trns into concrete.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top