I can see where repetition of the BG ranges becomes fact through repetition. It seems like the human meter values are embedded in the spreadsheets though, with BG=50 as the upper end of the hypo range.
Yes, 50 is embedded in the spreadsheets because the spreadsheets were created
for those following a tight regulation protocol in the the Lantus Group many years ago. They were also written
for use with human meters. Other insulin groups on the board simply started using them. Pet-specific meters came into the picture after the fact.
When following a tight regulation protocol, one takes action when kitty drops below 50. One of the researchers who undoubtedly helped get the TR Protocol with Lantus or Levemir published
chose a drop below 68 (not 69) as an indication to take action for those using a pet-specific meter... "chose" being the operative word. It's a number that was "chosen" to essentially provide a little buffer for those using a pet-specific meter since pet-specific meters *usually* run higher than meters calibrated for humans. It's important to note, 50 (human meter) does not = 68 (pet specific meter). There is no direct correlation.
Fact of the matter is, we don't "know" how pet-specific meters and human meters compare (number for number). My best advice to those who insist on using a pet-specific meter
when following the protocols/methods written for use with human meters on this board is to do your own comparisons and do a lot of them. Those who have done quite a few comparisons have noted too many inconsistencies for my liking, but that's just me. One has to do their own comparisons because meters themselves have varying degrees of accuracy. For example, anecdotal evidence has illustrated some meters run higher than others, some lower than others, and some run higher/lower at different BG ranges! Personally, I think there's already too many variables when traveling this path. Who needs more? I've always strongly urged the use of human meters if the member wants to follow any of the dosing methods currently in use on the FDMB.
Another note: Those following a tight regulation protocol do not consider or call drops below 50/68 "a hypo" unless there are symptoms. The reason for that is
when following a tight regulation protocol, regardless of the insulin used, kitty usually doesn't even earn a reduction until falling below 50/68 once or sometimes multiple times... or in some cases, dropping below 40 mg/dL (human meter). In other words, when following a tight regulation protocol one wants BG numbers to stay low... sometimes in numbers you're calling "hypo". Example: In TR with Lantus/Lev, from the TR Protocol:
"
Don't let the cat go below 50 mg/dl (N.B. there are some cats that do well with BGs >=40 mg/dl and are difficult to regulate unless the dose is held at BGs in this range, but a cautious approach should be used until you are sure your cat reacts this way)." ---> emphasis mine
http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm
I say "you", but you're not alone. The all inclusive use of the word "hypo" is yet another result of the "repeat-speak" which has become common on the board these days.
@Tucker - I apologize for hi-jacking your thread!