Leslie & Sophia
New Member
and after trying to hash this out these last couple of weeks, with all the searching, and occasional lengthly or heated discussions with the DH, i coming back to post here...that someday our trials, tribulations and triumphs may uplift or help someone else.
have numbers, if someone would be kind enough to post link to find blank spreadsheets, super appreciations...am also looking for one that would
generate an actual curve on a graph....
so maybe being worn out at this point will help me be better sussinct: Sophia is coming off the Vetsulin and going on a Humulin N trial starting tomorrow. This is a compromise with the three of us, DH, myself and vet. DH is suggesting a trial withdrawl from insulin altogether while testing Sophia the diabetic and testing the others to get an idea of what healthy numbers are supposed to look against a "diabetic" (woopie! sounds like fun! j/k). {We have dogs and cats and different species of birds here/farm enviro}
Upon stopping the Vetsulin (her last shot tonight), she is at 2.0 u of Vetsulin, but started at .8u before efficacy came into question...but it has been more than a year's struggle to find some balance/happy medium for all, of which, i am going to plead the fifth amendment. As the weight started to climb, numbers fickle, discovery of her digging bits of dog food from kennels, etc, as well as other discussions about the care for the animals with the DH, i removed completely the EVO (dry 88% protein) and put her fully on wet foods (venison heart, rump, supplements and canned Evanger's, usually rabbit). This also coincided with the death of our elderly Gordo, whom we tried to woo with any food (free fed) in his last days. He passed at 18 yo on the 5th of this month. Sophia has had bits of dry here an there as she fishes bits of what DH feeds the dogs. Prior, she had free fed on the EVO, with the wet routine, but would generally leave most, if not all, of the dry food in the bowl. I am bending towards free feeding her again in this transition, so as to not super stress her as it seems if the food is there all the time, she doesnt go crazy trying to find some...maybe that will change once she is on a new insulin. (Am pretty sick about the Vetsulin myself, to be honest).
DH is suggesting to stop insulin on trial, but i dont know about this. I am currently testing her daily, on average 3-5 tests.
I am curious why it is that folks are generally steering clear of Humulin N, or advisement leans towards Levemir, etc...if you use or have used Humulin N, i would be interested in your experiences.
i am also curious about what an average cats' BGs are and what they normally oscillate between...
am curious if you use tight regulation with your sugar baby or if you have had a combo of dry/wet food experiences during transitions of any kind.
anyhoo, this bean concludes that being worn out and wanting to be finished does not make one succinct...
hope you are smiling where ever you are, be well, leslie & sophia
overweight, regularly hungry, fresh catnip on demand ;-)
average bg 250, no ketones as of yet
hometested, Ultra, now ReliOn brand
was Vetsulin, have Humulin N.
will plug into spreadsheet next couple of days <3
have numbers, if someone would be kind enough to post link to find blank spreadsheets, super appreciations...am also looking for one that would
generate an actual curve on a graph....
so maybe being worn out at this point will help me be better sussinct: Sophia is coming off the Vetsulin and going on a Humulin N trial starting tomorrow. This is a compromise with the three of us, DH, myself and vet. DH is suggesting a trial withdrawl from insulin altogether while testing Sophia the diabetic and testing the others to get an idea of what healthy numbers are supposed to look against a "diabetic" (woopie! sounds like fun! j/k). {We have dogs and cats and different species of birds here/farm enviro}
Upon stopping the Vetsulin (her last shot tonight), she is at 2.0 u of Vetsulin, but started at .8u before efficacy came into question...but it has been more than a year's struggle to find some balance/happy medium for all, of which, i am going to plead the fifth amendment. As the weight started to climb, numbers fickle, discovery of her digging bits of dog food from kennels, etc, as well as other discussions about the care for the animals with the DH, i removed completely the EVO (dry 88% protein) and put her fully on wet foods (venison heart, rump, supplements and canned Evanger's, usually rabbit). This also coincided with the death of our elderly Gordo, whom we tried to woo with any food (free fed) in his last days. He passed at 18 yo on the 5th of this month. Sophia has had bits of dry here an there as she fishes bits of what DH feeds the dogs. Prior, she had free fed on the EVO, with the wet routine, but would generally leave most, if not all, of the dry food in the bowl. I am bending towards free feeding her again in this transition, so as to not super stress her as it seems if the food is there all the time, she doesnt go crazy trying to find some...maybe that will change once she is on a new insulin. (Am pretty sick about the Vetsulin myself, to be honest).
DH is suggesting to stop insulin on trial, but i dont know about this. I am currently testing her daily, on average 3-5 tests.
I am curious why it is that folks are generally steering clear of Humulin N, or advisement leans towards Levemir, etc...if you use or have used Humulin N, i would be interested in your experiences.
i am also curious about what an average cats' BGs are and what they normally oscillate between...
am curious if you use tight regulation with your sugar baby or if you have had a combo of dry/wet food experiences during transitions of any kind.
anyhoo, this bean concludes that being worn out and wanting to be finished does not make one succinct...
hope you are smiling where ever you are, be well, leslie & sophia
overweight, regularly hungry, fresh catnip on demand ;-)
average bg 250, no ketones as of yet
hometested, Ultra, now ReliOn brand
was Vetsulin, have Humulin N.
will plug into spreadsheet next couple of days <3