? 6/9 Ruby AMPS 205/+4 215/+7 221/PMPS 213/+2 174 vacation dose advice

Katherine&Ruby

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-31-ruby-amps-96-4-57-6-67-pmps-54-2-46-3-86.264006/

Hello everyone! I’m leaving on my three week trip on Saturday and DBF is leaving on Monday, and that will be the day that our nice housesitters will be arriving to take care of Olive and Ruby. Since I reduced Ruby’s dose about a week ago, she’s been doing a lot of bouncing, and this makes me more nervous than when I was doing her insulin more aggressively. Advice on a vacation dose? Will try to get the sitters to do four tests a day if they can. Otherwise she is doing just fine—eating and pooping and coming over for cuddles and belly rubs.
 
You could stay with this dose - she is seeing high green nadirs on it. Or reduce to 2.5U which is on the line and an easier dose to draw.
Will she eat okay if you guys aren't around? Has she had any issues with ketones after the DKA at diagnosis?

Tagging @tiffmaxee, @Sienne and Gabby (GA) and @Wendy&Neko for vacation dose advice.
Thanks, Bhooma! I’m gonna train the sitters to use calipers so we can just hold this dose. I’m not so happy with her numbers today but I’m not increasing since we will be leaving soon. Ruby will eat without us around, and no ketones since her DM diagnosis though I will check tonight since she’s been so high.
 
Thanks, Bhooma! I’m gonna train the sitters to use calipers so we can just hold this dose. I’m not so happy with her numbers today but I’m not increasing since we will be leaving soon. Ruby will eat without us around, and no ketones since her DM diagnosis though I will check tonight since she’s been so high.
Have a good trip! :bighug:
 
Back
Top