6/9 Maggie AMPS 4.5, +4 3.9, PMPS 4.3

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emma and Maggie

Member Since 2023
This is my first post on the FDMB as opposed to Facebook group. I am a little confused, I don't see anyone posting their spreadsheets here, but I will post mine anyway.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet..._zdJxfxwWydTd32ml_8LcL9vCdS8T_LBz9ljRQw#gid=5

We haven't been testing her as often, but could start again based on advice here. We did watch her and did not notice anything unusual - behaviour, appetite, etc. I sometimes reduced dose based on pre-shot numbers.

I am using TR. I got scared seeing pre-shot numbers in the 4.3-4.5 so reduced the dose those days, not sure if that is correct. I don't know how "unexpectedly low" a number has to be in order to reduce dose. It seems that she doesn't dip into hypo anyway, if anything she bounces back higher? Not sure what that's about.

So I guess my questions are, stay at 0.25 for now? How low does pre-shot number have to be in order to reduce dose?
 
Welcome to our forum. We do things a special way here. We add a signature and in it is the link to the spreadsheet and other important information. we ask all new members to post an intro on the main/health forum. Once set up they will send you here. We also post the US bg in our subjects.

With TR you need an amps, pmps and one other test every cycle. You have most of the time. Maggie looks good. I’d stick with .25 as you have too many blue preshots. Why did you shoot .10 tonight? The pmps was over 50 so a full dose would have been fine.
 
You will see that almost all of us have our spreadsheets linked in our signature. This post tells you what else we like to see there.
New? How You Can Help Us Help You!

One of the things we like to know is if you are following a dosing method. The spreadsheet says TR, but we also like to see it in the signature as that's quicker to see. With TR, you do need more tests, as described above. TR is a more aggressive method and those checks are for safety. We reduce the dose based on how low the dose takes the cat, and that can be at any time during the cycle, including the preshots. Dose reductions are done if the cat goes below 50 if following TR. The other way to earn a reduction with TR is if kitty spends a week almost all below 100 (5.5). Lantus/glargine is great at producing very flat cycles if you shoot those lower numbers.
 
Welcome to our forum. We do things a special way here. We add a signature and in it is the link to the spreadsheet and other important information. we ask all new members to post an intro on the main/health forum. Once set up they will send you here. We also post the US bg in our subjects.

With TR you need an amps, pmps and one other test every cycle. You have most of the time. Maggie looks good. I’d stick with .25 as you have too many blue preshots. Why did you shoot .10 tonight? The pmps was over 50 so a full dose would have been fine.

Thank you, I made the requested fixes to my profile and will note in future to convert BG values to US.

I shot .10 last night because weird emotional reasoning. Started worrying as her pre-shots have been lower and lower. So to clarify, under TR you always do full dose for any pre-shot number above 50?

And if pre-shot is below 50 (just for information's sake, it's not likely for her, she's only been 50 at nadir once maybe twice ever) do you reduce or skip?
 
You will see that almost all of us have our spreadsheets linked in our signature. This post tells you what else we like to see there.
New? How You Can Help Us Help You!

One of the things we like to know is if you are following a dosing method. The spreadsheet says TR, but we also like to see it in the signature as that's quicker to see. With TR, you do need more tests, as described above. TR is a more aggressive method and those checks are for safety. We reduce the dose based on how low the dose takes the cat, and that can be at any time during the cycle, including the preshots. Dose reductions are done if the cat goes below 50 if following TR. The other way to earn a reduction with TR is if kitty spends a week almost all below 100 (5.5). Lantus/glargine is great at producing very flat cycles if you shoot those lower numbers.

Thank you, TR is now in my signature along with the other information.

Some background, I was posting on the Facebook group before. She did earn a reduction on May 1st evening, from 0.1 down to "some", but her numbers started creeping up again, so I went back up to 0.1, still a lot of blues and a yellow in there, so back up to 0.25.
 
And if pre-shot is below 50 (just for information's sake, it's not likely for her, she's only been 50 at nadir once maybe twice ever) do you reduce or skip?
If the preshot is under 50, I would stall, don't feed and see if it will rise on its own without food. Test 20 minutes later. It will most likely rise as it is at the end of the cycle.
From the sticky about handling lower than normal preshots:
Some general rules when stalling (ECID):
  • 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
  • 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.
    • When 40s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
  • If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
    • Example: if kitty is 43 and you feed a whole meal, or feed some HC, and the number bumps up to 52, is that the cat’s natural end-of-cycle rise, or is it food spike? What if it is food spike? Then if you shoot the 52, when the food wears off he might drop back to the 40’s (and when insulin kicks in a couple of hours later, you might have a problem). If the 52 is the cat’s natural rise, then he will probably keep rising for the next few hours until insulin kicks in. If you can’t tell whether the number is food spike or natural rise, it’s safest to wait. Your data will help you here. Study the spreadsheet. How much food spike does the cat usually get? How many hours after the shot does the insulin’s onset usually occur in this cat? At what number is the cat likely to be when onset occurs? If the cat does drop, how easy/hard is it to regain control of the numbers? How carb sensitive is he?
  • Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes). You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.
Perhaps the most important guideline in shooting low is that any time you shoot your lowest ever number, you should get a +1 and +2 to give you an idea of how the cycle will go. If the +1 is not higher than PS, or if +2 is much lower than PS, that means “pay attention” over the next few hours. Those tests will also help you become even more data ready for the next time you are presented with a low preshot reading.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top