6/9 Jesse AMPS 164 +12 64 +12.25 61 +12.5 59 +13 63

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/9 Jesse AMPS 164, +12 64 - ADVISE PLS

+12 is 64 :shock: :shock: I haven't fed him yet, but he's about ready to eat my face off.
From the Low Pre-shot guidelines, it says I should shoot the full dose (f2.5u). Uhhhh, kinda uncomfortable doing that although I will be home to monitor. Problem is once I fall asleep on the couch, I'm out!

So....advice?? Thanks
 
Re: 6/9 Jesse AMPS 164, +12 64 - ADVISE PLS

i think the idea is that you stall until you are sure the number is rising, not falling. while you're stalling you don't feed the little guy. sorry jesse.

but wait for some confirmation from someone else . . .
 
Re: 6/9 Jesse AMPS 164, +12 64 - ADVISE PLS

Yes, I can stall.

But here's what I read (neither of which apply to me :smile: )
Most kitties can be shot at +12 almost regardless of the number once you are data ready to do so.
Exception is if the cat is <50, stall until they are above 50 or
First time shooting green - stall
 
bump

from what I can see on SS, (edit,correction) in a recent past stall, a couple of them, numbers have continued to drop, which is why some stalling until you get a rise that's comfortable to for you to shoot is my option imho
plus you mentioned you were uncomfortable shooting the f2.50u...

giving you a bump for more eyes
 
Re: 6/9 Jesse AMPS 164, +12 64, +12.25 61 - ADVICE PLS

Another bump. Maybe a reduced dose??

Ella

p.s. from Rusty: Hi Jesse, please come to the party tomorrow at Camp Stu. Mannie will pick you up in the bus.
Rusty
 
Re: 6/9 Jesse AMPS 164 +12 64 +12.25 61 +12.5 59 - ADVICE PL

nahhh, thats too low for me.
you have some options, continue to stall - I like 70's or higher, but that's just me.
since you gave in and gave some food, that may help bring him back up to your comfort level.

or you can shoot a reduced dose - but do you have an alarm? you'd want to monitor closely
 
Re: 6/9 Jesse AMPS 164 +12 64 +12.25 61 +12.5 59 - ADVICE PL

Here's why I gave a bite:
If they are hanging in the 40s for awhile, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to fee a tsp or two of LC and retest.You want to avoid feeding too much because you don't want to artificially inflate the number with food.

I'll check in another 10 min. and decide. I can't stall in the morning more than an hour.
 
Re: 6/9 Jesse AMPS 164 +12 64 +12.25 61 +12.5 59 - ADVICE PL

+13 ~ 63
I'm not panicking, but I just don't know what I should do so I don't lose so much ground like last time I gave a BCS. Argh!

So if I shoot 2u and feed; shot onset in 3 hrs, then how many more hours do I need to monitor?
 
bump

I guess that's up to Jesse!
the early cycle tests will help, plus at least a bedtime check-you have MC and HC gravy foods?
sometimes I use a tsp of that to avoid a dive, but doesn't always work, lol
 
There's no way to predict how long you may need to monitor. If you don't want to stall further, you can shoot a BCS dose or skip. The latter is a better option if you don't think you can stay up or if you really can't stall further. You know from the first time Jesse was on insulin that there's no right answer and no way to know how long Jesse's numbers may need to be watched.

What are you comfortable doing?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top