6/9 Buca PMPS 145, +1/133, +2/68, +3/43, +5/73, +6/111 :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bucasmom

Member Since 2012
Good morning all :)
Well, it looks like I probably won't have to increase Buca back up to 1u after all?

He had 85oz of FF LC with his shot this morning, then I gave him some HC gravy food after I saw the 52. Is it too early in his dosage change for another reduction? Or does he technically have to get below 50 for that to happen?

His numbers two days ago skyrocketted and we thought we had contaminated the lantus cartridge because DH found a couple of air bubbles in it... it wasn't cloudy nor did it have particles, but we tossed it just to be safe because of the way his numbers were going....

He's slowly climbing up after a tsp of HC. Just so glad to not see his SS in red or black anymore :shock:
+4/61
+4.5/66
+5/68

I'll give him a break from testing a bit. He's happily eating his noon snack right now.

**UPDATE

Starting with his PM dive... trying to bring him out of it with LC rather than resorting to HC if I don't have to... I've kept track of his curve all day so there's some good info in his SS :)
 
Re: 6/9 Buca AMPS 221, +1.5/147, +3/55, +3.5/52

Morning Heather and Dave!

If you give him a reduction before he's ready for it, you might have to increase him if it fails which is not a big deal but he's coming down the dosing scale so I'd let him earn his reductions so you can keep the downward momentum. Normally we don't shave doses unless a kitty has a history of failed reductions which Buca does not. They also seem to earn their reductions when they are ready no matter what you do :-D

In looking at his numbers, I still have the same impression I did the other night. It wasn't his insulin....he's bouncing. He has gotten into normal numbers every day but his liver is still nervous about it.

Two things make a kitty bounce: dives and lower numbers than the liver is used to. You can try and minimize the dives. Sienne and I always try to stress to caregivers that you should always get a +2 and, personally, if I had a diver (which I did when Gracie was on lantus), I'd get a +1 as well. Sienne does because Gabby is a huge diver. If he does not get a food spike at +1 and his +2 is the same or much less than the PS, he's going to most likely dive on you.

You've been doing a GREAT job of getting the +1!! Super! Yesterday should have told you something because he was essentially the same at AMPS and +1. Today his +1 was much less. His +1 should have been higher both days. I would imagine the +2 was much less yesterday just like today. So you want to try and catch those drops before they start. If you can flatten out his curve with his normal food, then you can control the diving part that contributes to the bouncing.
 
Re: 6/9 Buca AMPS 221, +1.5/147, +3/55, +3.5/52

There is a positive side to a bounce, his liver is working as it should. Still, it sure is frustrating to see those BLECH numbers though after those beautiful blues and greens!
 

Attachments

  • Ninja liver.jpg
    Ninja liver.jpg
    33.3 KB · Views: 801
Re: 6/9 Buca AMPS 221, +1.5/147, +3/55, +3.5/52

Marjorie and Gracie said:
You've been doing a GREAT job of getting the +1!! Super! Yesterday should have told you something because he was essentially the same at AMPS and +1. Today his +1 was much less. His +1 should have been higher both days. I would imagine the +2 was much less yesterday just like today. So you want to try and catch those drops before they start. If you can flatten out his curve with his normal food, then you can control the diving part that contributes to the bouncing.


Thanks! It's really helped to have his am shot at 7 so that I can get his +1 before I leave for work. I have a break at 10am on days that I don't have meetings or am in the field, so I have tried to come home to do that as much as possible.

I took it easy with the HC food today, after he was 55 I gave him more LC, but then when it was 52 a half hour later I gave a little bit of the HC. today and tomorrow I am home all day so I will get him through the dives with just his regular food as good as I can.
 
Re: 6/9 Buca AMPS 221, +1.5/147, +3/55, +3.5/52

It's worth a shot to try and do it with LC instead of HC. But you might want to use a higher carb low carb. I use 8% and 10% (both LC) and they steer Gracie pretty well. You'll have to experiment...ECID.
 
Re: 6/9 Buca AMPS 221, +1.5/147, +3/55, +3.5/52

Anne & Zener said:
There is a positive side to a bounce, his liver is working as it should. Still, it sure is frustrating to see those BLECH numbers though after those beautiful blues and greens!

That. Is. Awesome. Ninja liver LOL

Yes it has been frustrating (and expensive.... accuchek strips are not cheap! lol)... I feel like I still have a lot to learn about this stuff, but am a lot less nervous of the numbers than when we first started 5 weeks ago...

But I am seeing soo many improvements in his personality and behaviour! He's such a suck again, and is even starting to get back to his usual "cave kitty" preferences (sleeping under the sheets with us at the end of the bed). And so glad that urinating outside the litter box has stopped!
 
Re: 6/9 Buca AMPS 221, +1.5/147, +3/55, +3.5/52

Marjorie and Gracie said:
It's worth a shot to try and do it with LC instead of HC. But you might want to use a higher carb low carb. I use 8% and 10% (both LC) and they steer Gracie pretty well. You'll have to experiment...ECID.

I feed fancy feast pate or whiskas in the resealable purple containers... I emailed whiskas and they told me the as fed carbs are 5.5%. What do you feed and what % is it?
 
Re: 6/9 Buca AMPS 221, +1.5/147, +3/55, +3.5/52

Gracie's normal food is 4% Wellness beef/chicken, chicken, and turkey varieties. I use WN Core chicken, turkey, liver (I think it is) as the 8%. And I use PetGuard Savory Seafood as the 10%. We used to feed PetGuard foods to our cats but they discontinued them locally and there were only two that were LC. I've found that not all 10% foods are created equal. I tried to use WN chicken/lobster (11%) to bring her up from low numbers one day and it didn't even affect her. Not sure why not.

That's why I say ECID. Jill's Alex gets a boost in her numbers from freeze dried chicken treats :-D
 
Re: 6/9 Buca AMPS 221, +1.5/147, +3/55, +3.5/52

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Gracie's normal food is 4% Wellness beef/chicken, chicken, and turkey varieties. I use WN Core chicken, turkey, liver (I think it is) as the 8%. And I use PetGuard Savory Seafood as the 10%. We used to feed PetGuard foods to our cats but they discontinued them locally and there were only two that were LC. I've found that not all 10% foods are created equal. I tried to use WN chicken/lobster (11%) to bring her up from low numbers one day and it didn't even affect her. Not sure why not.

That's why I say ECID. Jill's Alex gets a boost in her numbers from freeze dried chicken treats :-D

I'll have to do some research on what is offered in Canada... some of the tables for foods outside the US that I've seen on here don't really have many options that I can get my hands on here... and they make it tough by not listing the % on the label. Do you know off the top of your head what the carb % is for the FF classics? (just FF pate it's called here), I couldn't see that specific type in the food list.

Buca hasn't had any HC since after his +3, he's +6/75 now so slowly making his way back up.
 
Re: 6/9 Buca AMPS 221, +1.5/147, +3/55, +3.5/52

I'm sorry but I don't know the values on any of the FF because Gracie can't have them.....she can't have anything with byproducts in it. Remember that, at least in the US, you can't go by the values on the cans which are guaranteed analysis. I'm not sure if, in Canada, they have to put the "as feds" on the label instead of guaranteed analysis. Even if you have the "as-fed" values, you still have to do a calculation to determine the actual % calories from carbs.

If you go to "Health" in FDMB and search on "Fancy Feast carbs" or something like that, you might get some info telling you what some of the updated numbers are.

Nice that he is coming up!
 
Re: 6/9 Buca AMPS 221, +1.5/147, +3/55, +3.5/52

Marjorie and Gracie said:
I'm sorry but I don't know the values on any of the FF because Gracie can't have them.....she can't have anything with byproducts in it. Remember that, at least in the US, you can't go by the values on the cans which are guaranteed analysis. I'm not sure if, in Canada, they have to put the "as feds" on the label instead of guaranteed analysis. Even if you have the "as-fed" values, you still have to do a calculation to determine the actual % calories from carbs.

If you go to "Health" in FDMB and search on "Fancy Feast carbs" or something like that, you might get some info telling you what some of the updated numbers are.

Nice that he is coming up!

Oh that's right I remember reading about calculating it before... no in Canada it's just a guaranteed analysis and even then it's "min" or "max" never an exact amount.
 
Re: 6/9 Buca AMPS 221, +1.5/147, +3/55, +3.5/52

I believe the FF chicken and turkey are around 5%. There's been some debate about just what the carb content is since some cats are getting a spike in their numbers with the Turkey flavor. Very few manufacturers publish the "as fed" values anywhere. The FF people are pretty good about getting back to you with the numbers but you really need to reinforce that you want the "as fed" vs. the guaranteed analysis (which are the minimum/maximum values). There are quite a few members here and on the other boards from Canada. You could always cross post on several of the other boards (e.g., Health and Community) and ask what LC foods are available.

Beautiful cycle today! I agree with Marje -- I'd love to see if giving Buca some LC would keep the surf going.
 
Re: 6/9 Buca AMPS 221, +1.5/147, +3/55, +3.5/52

He's back into the blue and hasn't had any HC since about the +3.5 mark. I offered him a little LC afterwards but his bowl has been empty since about +5 or 6. Nothing now until pmps and then I'll give him another 85oz can of the FF (chicken pate).
 
Re: 6/9 Buca AMPS 221, +1.5/147, +3/55, +3.5/52

beautiful day today and you handled it perfectly. Gooooooooo Buca! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/9 Buca AMPS 221, +1.5/147, +3/55, +3.5/52

...I'll give him another 85oz can of the FF (chicken pate).
I've got to believe that's a typo. You really aren't giving Buca 85 oz of food, are you? (If you are, is Buca part mountain lion?)
 
Re: 6/9 Buca PMPS 145, +1/133, +2/68

WOW oops! lol I'm not sure why I had that in my head... it's 85g!
 
Re: 6/9 Buca PMPS 145, +1/133, +2/68, +3/43

Heather...

Looks like he needs a couple tsp of LC or MC to get him up. He earned a .25u reduction with that 43.
 
Re: 6/9 Buca PMPS 145, +1/133, +2/68, +3/43

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Heather...

Looks like he needs a couple tsp of LC or MC to get him up. He earned a .25u reduction with that 43.

He's got a full dish of fresh LC that he's been working on... it still doesn't seem to bring up his numbers. I've tried the FF, and the Whiskas LC... all I have is HC gravy food otherwise, should I try some of that yet? What is MC?
 
Re: 6/9 Buca PMPS 145, +1/133, +2/68, +3/43

MC is medium carb -- between roughly 10% - 15% carb.

I'd give Buca a bit of gravy to prop up the numbers. This is an early drop and there's some momentum behind it. And, like Marje said, Buca has nothing more to prove since you've already gotten a dose reduction.
 
Re: 6/9 Buca PMPS 145, +1/133, +2/68, +3/43

Sienne and Gabby said:
MC is medium carb -- between roughly 10% - 15% carb.

I'd give Buca a bit of gravy to prop up the numbers. This is an early drop and there's some momentum behind it. And, like Marje said, Buca has nothing more to prove since you've already gotten a dose reduction.

Okie dokie. Thanks ladies :) I just tested him at +3.5 and he's 48. I'll give him a little of the gravy, but even just this slight increase with only LC is good right?
 
Re: 6/9 Buca PMPS 145, +1/133, +2/68, +3/43

It's the same number. And it's early so I'd give him some more and retest in 30. I'll be here.
 
Re: 6/9 Buca PMPS 145, +1/133, +2/68, +3/43

It's good but it could also be meter variance. I'd rather see Buca surfing in the 50 to 60 range. It gives you a bit of a margin if the numbers start to wobble.
 
Re: 6/9 Buca PMPS 145, +1/133, +2/68, +3/43

hand fed him 2tsp HC with some LC and now he's at 64 :smile:

I'll keep testing him to make sure he doesn't dive again... but usually he's good once he starts coming back up a bit... So in the morning, I can start with .5u?
 
Re: 6/9 Buca PMPS 145, +1/133, +2/68, +3/43

Ok...good to stay on top of it. You want two rising numbers with no food influence, ok? Remember carbs can wear off after about two hours. I'll be up for a while.

If he bounces over 300, you can shoot the .75u through the bounce in the morning and reduce to .5u tomorrow night. If he doesn't bounce, shoot .5u in the morning.
 
Re: 6/9 Buca PMPS 145, +1/133, +2/68, +3/43

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Ok...good to stay on top of it. You want two rising numbers with no food influence, ok? Remember carbs can wear off after about two hours. I'll be up for a while.

If he bounces over 300, you can shoot the .75u through the bounce in the morning and reduce to .5u tomorrow night. If he doesn't bounce, shoot .5u in the morning.

Okay. So should I take the food away now and just let him ride it out and keep testing for the rest of the night? unless his numbers take another dive, I'll repost in two hours.
 
Re: 6/9 Buca PMPS 145, +1/133, +2/68, +3/43

I think I'd give him a little LC and let him come up a little more. Then retest in 30. I think you want him up in the 70s or higher before you stop feeding because it is early.
 
Re: 6/9 Buca PMPS 145, +1/133, +2/68, +3/43

Marjorie and Gracie said:
I think I'd give him a little LC and let him come up a little more. Then retest in 30. I think you want him up in the 70s or higher before you stop feeding because it is early.

K. :)

I updated the SS because my half hour readings were confusing me lol he went up and then back down a little. But is eating a bit more.
 
Re: 6/9 Buca PMPS 145, +1/133, +2/68, +3/43

He's up to 90 now so I've removed his food. He hasn't really eaten much of it for about an hour now anyways.
 
Re: 6/9 Buca PMPS 145, +1/133, +2/68, +3/43

Sounds good. If his next test is up, you're good to hit the sack.

Good night.
 
Re: 6/9 Buca PMPS 145, +1/133, +2/68, +3/43

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Sounds good. If his next test is up, you're good to hit the sack.

Good night.

He was up to 111 ;-)

This morning's amps was 250 so I gave him .5u! :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top