? 6/8 Squeaks; AMPS 149-Dosing Question

I can't give dosing advice but I will say your Squeaks is looking really good and consistent. Love his sweet face! Does he make squeaky noises when he talks? Is that why you call him Squeaks.
 
Hi Betsy, the nadirs in the 60s with blues mixed in always makes this a hard call. I have been in your position many a time and have held doses for weeks, hoping for some change, and then suddenly, it changes. Tagging @tiffmaxee and @Wendy&Neko to give you some guidance.
 
If you're following TR, you might have room to fatten the dose. Remember, Squeeks was diagnosed in Feb. of 2020. He's a more than a year past diagnosis so your dose reduction point is numbers below 40. Alternatively, if he's in the 50s on 3 separate cycles, you can lower the dose or if he's in mostly green numbers for a week you can drop the dose. The headache is that there are a lot of AMPS numbers that are still not great.

(I'm not sure which dosing method you're following. Could you include the information in your signature?)

Are you giving Squeeks a snack later in the PM cycle? Given how good his numbers are, food may stimulate his pancreas to produce endogenous insulin. This may be why you're seeing a lot more green PMPS numbers than AMPS numbers. Well, that and the AMPS is often the last number to fall into line. I would hate to tell you to get up at PM +8 or +9. If you have a timed feeder, it may be worth seeing if giving a snack has the desired effect.
 
Thanks @PerfumedCatMom! It's definitely hoping I see some good changes!

@Sienne and Gabby (GA), following TR. Yeah, the blue AMPS has me scratching my head too. He does get a 230a feeding (which is a +8 after PM shot). I'm obviously not up at that time, do you think the blue AMPS could be because it's too big of a serving or possibly he's not eating it at 230A and is actually a few hours later, which may be skewing the AMPS? I have a timed feeder so I'm definitely able to change it up if you think that would help? Let me know your thoughts!
 
Do you have the 5 chamber feeder? If so, program the next cycle to open at +10 and don't put anything in it. That way, there's no food out after +10. If you have the 2 compartment feeder, I'm out of ideas!!!

Do you use the timed feeder during the AM cycle? If so, is the amount of food the same as at night? You could always reduce the amount of food at night and see if that works.

Some of the issues around food are essentially an experiment. You have to see what works for your cat.
 
I do have the 5 compartment one! The only feeding I use it for is the overnight one. I'll play around with setting it to a +10 and trying to reduce the amount at night and see if either of those work to get his AMPS down a bit! Thanks for your help :)
 
Back
Top