6/8 Rhinog amps 425 +10~302 +11~275 pmps344boing?eyes please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ruth and Rhinog

Member Since 2010
I'd be grateful for any eyes on Rhinog's spreadsheet.

Last night I thought we were doing really well with yellow then at +10 back in the red. Did Rhinog bounce back to red or did he just run out of insulin? He can't have eaten anything at that time.

This morning I gave him a fat 0.5 and at +11 this evening he came down instead of going up.

Could he be rebounding? Is he going low enough to rebound? Does he have to go down to blue or green for a rebound or can they still happen in yellow? I thought he was less likley to rebound on Lantus.

Maybe he's not rebounding? Sorry, so many questions. I'm very confused.

I gave 0.75units tonight because thet's what I'd planned to do. We'll see if it makes any difference.

My vet took a huge leap of faith in me by prescribing Lantus. She has no experience of it and I really want to show her how great it can be. I'm trying to be patient.

Thanks for looking.
Ruth

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=16658
 
Hi Ruth,

yes kitties can seemingly rebound in yellow-if they have been in higher numbers for a while, kitty's body can panic and think it's too low.
Not sure that's what is happening.
I know the Pred. is having an effect but as it's not something I've used I woudn't like to comment further. My suggestion would be to change your tag line-and add-Pred users comments please (or something like). Then ask if they can share their experience of Pred and how it affected their kitties numbers. This may give you some guidance.

Kitties on occasion do have a double dip (some more than others). Don't think anyone really knows what causes it, not a drama, but if happened frequently it becomes something you have to factor into dosing.

I'd say the .75u was a good call, want to get him under the renal threshold as much of day as possible.

I'm sure your vet isn't going to think this was a bad idea-ethos here, it's a marathon, not a sprint :mrgreen:

Keep a note of the 5 p's too. Eating ok?, no stress? anything like that can have an effect.

Your doing really well-lets see some more blue Rhinog :mrgreen:
 
Ruth and Rhinog said:
I'd be grateful for any eyes on Rhinog's spreadsheet.

Last night I thought we were doing really well with yellow then at +10 back in the red. Did Rhinog bounce back to red or did he just run out of insulin? He can't have eaten anything at that time.

I gave 0.75units tonight because thet's what I'd planned to do. We'll see if it makes any difference.

My vet took a huge leap of faith in me by prescribing Lantus. She has no experience of it and I really want to show her how great it can be. I'm trying to be patient.

Hi Ruth,

I'll try to answer some of your questions, but I must point out of few things first. I will try to be kind, but sometimes i come across as a little blunt, so pls forgive me.

A lot of us learned to "lantus" on the internet and had to convince our vet to 'give us' lantus. The protocol isn't willy nilly though, it is a solid scientifically based protocol which is based on science and on data.... Ok, i'm biased because I'm a scientist and therefore I like data, however, what else exist out there to back the protocol up?

Lantus and the Tilly protocol (see sticky) likes things to be consistent. You need to shoot at +12 as much as possible. (Yes, sometimes you can shoot early, but under special circumstances). You also need to work your way up and down the dosing scale at the rate of the protocol - for several reasons including cat safety. If you wish to shoot 0.75U, stick to this dose until you see whether it's too much or not enough. Bounces are normal, look around at other SS...Some kitties are trampoline artists.... it's all part of liver training school.

Food and snacks "should" be given in a relatively consistent fashion too.... well, you do what you can. The less things you will monkey around with, the more you will be able to 'see' really what is doing on.

Tonight you're seeing blue, so good... :-D but you should get a few tests in to see what Rhinog will do on that dose.

I'm sorry I don't have any experience on pred. Hopefully someone else can shine a light on that.

I hope the information was helpful to you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top