6/8 Phoenix AMPS 95 +1 97 possible OTJ soon????

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lindsay & Phoenix

Member Since 2011
Hello all, I have been very busy moving lately and have not had the internet. I have been writing down numbers and filling them in when I can. In my opinion, things are looking great. I am finding that on some days, 2 drops is too much because then he ends up in the 20's. I am monitoring carefully still but am wondering if going off the juice is in our future. Please take a look if you can.

I'm not sure how to post a link for my last post but I hope this works... viewtopic.php?f=9&t=44655
 
Hi Lindsay, I've been peeking at Phoenix's SS. ;-) You've got a lot going on with the move on top of your busy schedule!

I think you're doing great! I would not shoot more than 2 drops at this point. When he dropped into the 20s, that was more from the 0.25u dose than the 2 drops you shot that day....shed action....so you did the right thing to go down to 2 drops. I would practice measuring 1 drop...that would be the next step down. I do think OTJ is not far away, just keep doing what you are doing...shoot when you can, skip when you have to, reduce when he goes too low....use your gut, it's working well. It's an unconventional path to OTJ, but you gotta do what you gotta do!
 
Thanks Laurie... I appreciate your feedback. I always forget about the shed and forget that he's not just affected by the shot I just gave him but by the last couple as well.
 
It certainly looks like Phoenix is heading down the dosing ladder!

I'm wondering about an alternative approach to what Laurie suggested. I know you have a challenging schedule. I didn't know if you were skipping for schedule reasons, low numbers, or both.

I'm wondering whether it would make more sense to lower the dose to one drop and shoot twice a day rather than two drops and have times where you need to skip. When a cat is on this low of a dose, we try to keep the kitty on insulin as long as the cat will let us so that you're giving as much support to the pancreas as possible. Ideally, this would be the best preparation for a successful OTJ trial.

There's no "right" way here. I'm just putting an alternative idea out there for your consideration.
 
I like Sienne's suggestion too....I don't like to give unearned reductions, but it if allows you to shoot more consistently, it makes sense to do that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top