6/8 Momo AMPS~384 +6~433 New for Lantus, need dose advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

akilo

Member Since 2013
I have a friend started using Lantus instead of Caninsulin from today's morning. yesterday discussion
She is not good at English and the place she live there is no vet that know anything about Lantus, so she post at the internet seeking for help. I think I can help her to post here.
Due to Momo's(her cat) weight is 5.2kg, she started dose at 1u for safety.
But Momo was use Caninsulin 3.5u before.
She said Momo has been at high nadir for more than 1 week and afraid that the start dose should be more.

I set up momo's ss for her. Momo's ss
Due to her Caninsulin was 3.5u, should she increase dose at PM shot? How many dose should she shot?
Thanks for reading.
 
Re: 6/8 Momo AMPS~384 +4~424 New for Lantus, need dose advic

Welcome your friend and Momo to LantusLand! I will let a more experienced member advise on the dosing but I would stay with the 1 unit unless Sienne or Marje recommends a different dose.
Liz
 
Re: 6/8 Momo AMPS~384 +6~433 New for Lantus, need dose advi

How long was your friend's cat on Caninsulin? From the SS, it's hard to tell if 3.5 Caninsulin was the right dose. My Neko started on Caninsulin, but we started at 1 unit and went up gradually to 5 units over 2 months. When we started Lantus we just started back at 1.0 unit. Neko was a similar weight to Momo.
 
Re: 6/8 Momo AMPS~384 +6~433 New for Lantus, need dose advi

Thank you, Liz and Wendy. :-D
Momo used Caninsulin from 3/29 to 6/7. I don't think that is the right dose too.
She said that her vet told her if there shows the bounce, she has to reduce the dose, even when the nadir is more than 200.
I'm not sure is this true or is there any misunderstand inside, but somehow, Momo's nadir has been over 250 most of the time for about one and half month.
She said that's why her vet told her changing the insulin and seeking for help at the internet.
Due to so long time momo stayed at high nadir, she wants to know if nadir is still at high, can she increase dose after 2 or 4 circles.
 
Re: 6/8 Momo AMPS~384 +6~433 New for Lantus, need dose advi

It's very generous of you to be helping your friend. One quick question -- does Momo have any medical problems? In particular, does Momo have any history of ketones?

I don't think it will make sense for your friend to increase the dose that quickly. The dose can be fast tracked but not quite that quickly since the depot needs to form.

You may need to help your understand some of the differences between Caninsulin and Lantus:
  • Lantus is a depot-type of insulin. Caninsulin doesn't form a depot. It takes several days for the depot to form and for Lantus to start to work the way it it does with Dumdum.
  • Dosing is based on the nadir with Lantus. With Caninsulin, doses are typically adjusted based on the pre-shot.
  • Lantus is long-acting and Caninsulin is a much shorter acting insulin. As a result, the nadirs are at different times and it takes longer for Lantus onset to start.
  • There is no overlap between cycles with Caninsulin.
  • Your friend does not need to feed Momo at least 30 min. before a shot. Caninsulin starts to work quickly so it's important that a cat eats before a shot. As you know, that's not the case with Lantus.
 
Re: 6/8 Momo AMPS~384 +6~433 New for Lantus, need dose advi

Aikilo,

I see you took our advice over in Health and are posting for your friend here in Lantus TR. Thank you for creating the spreadsheet for your friend and posting for her.

You should be able to add Momo's SS to your signature link. There is a character limit of 255 so not sure how many characters you have left to use. Several people have multiple SS's and profiles and other links in their signatures.

Would it be possible to create a profile for Momo like you did for DumDum?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top