6/8 Klinger AMPS 295; PMPS 299

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marcy & Klinger (GA)

Member Since 2010
Good morning,

Klinger seemed a little better last night - dealing with the heat, allergies, change in dose, etc. He was even in the bedroom with the ac on...finally!

2nd day of 1.5
AMPS 295, 1.5

Have a great day!
Marcy & Klinger
 
Re: 6/8 Klinger AMPS 295

I was trying to pull up your spreadsheet but it won't come up. Might be my computer?
Hope Klinger has a good day! You too! :mrgreen:

We are getting a few hot days coming. Starting today. 98 today and hi 90's until the weekend. Mickey is already miserable tho.
 
Re: 6/8 Klinger AMPS 295

We are on day 3 in the mid 90s - supposed to break tonight with thunderstorms and then barely 70s for a couple of days. Such weird weather. I have the AC running so the heat isn't really effecting the cats. They are anxious to go out on the balcony and I won't let them. But aside from the temps and humidity, I think weather pressure changes effect them (and us, I have a headache starting). I bet that can impact their BGs too when things are so delicately balanced between dose, food and activity.
 
We're finally out of the 90 degree weather and into the 80s. I think it's a delicate balance too Sheila.

PMPS 299. DH thinks he gave a fur shot at PM shot time.

One more day and then I can get some mid-cycle tests in. :smile:

Peggy, I'm not sure what's going on with my ss...were you ever able to open it?
 
Your spreadsheet opened fine for me. There has been a delay in them opening for a while now. I don't know if it's Google or what.

Sorry about the fur shot, 'cause he was looking better on 1.5U. My advice about furshots is if you think it happened, feel for wetness and/or smell. Levemir smells awful, you can't mistake it. I know it's not advised to do this, but if it seems like nothing went in (there is wetness and smell), check BG in a couple hours and if it's gone up considerably like it did, consider giving a token dose, maybe half their current dose. That way they don't completely loose their shed.

Do you use 5/16th" needles or 1/2" needles?

If it makes you feel better, I was not with it this morning when I gave Gandalf his second split dose and I forgot to measure it with my micrometer, I just drew it to about .5U and gave it to him without realizing I hadn't measured it, until I was pushing the plunger in! So it was a bit over because he must have rebounded as he was upper 300s tonight. I knew it wouldn't hurt him to get what I shot, but I figured I would come home to either a low preshot or a high rebound preshot.
 
DH said he felt a little wetness and asked if the insulin smells like bandaids. :lol: I hadn't thought of it, but a good comparison. I probably should have given him a token dose because his is AMPS 484.

Thanks, Vicky, it helps to know that we all do these types of things and we can't be to hard on ourselves.

Have a great day everyone!
 
I forgot to answer your question...sorry, we do use the 5/16th" needles. We used the long ones in the beginning, but they seemed to hurt him.

The board is very sad and angry tonight. Sadness shared for Kris & Janie, Larry & Mitten, and Skipper. Skipper's passing was such an act of ignorance, blatent selfishness, and laziness...I just don't know what to say. :cry:

Lets not forget Moe. He was supposed to be going to his new forever home and his new Momma's vetty bean talked her out of adopting Moe. :evil:

I'm going to go give Klinger some extra cuddles...have a peaceful night with your furbabies my friends... :YMHUG:
 
Yes, I'm very upset about Skipper too. :evil: He did not deserve that. None of them do, that's the really sad thing.

I really think we need to do something more to educate owners about pet food. I fed Hill's Hairball control food to Gandalf for almost 7 years! I had no idea that the food plus the steroids he received for eosinophilic granulomas he got (a skin condition) was a sure-fire cocktail for diabetes. And so many people think they're doing the right thing for their pets by feeding the "veterinary" brand. I know I did.
 
Yeah, we were feeding the high carb gravy foods along with leaving dry food out and all of those treats. Klinger was also getting shots for his allergies twice a year for years...the new vet did say those shots definitely contributed to his dx.


On a good note:
6/10 AMPS 217 - lowest his been so far. :smile:
 
PMPS 407 1.5 u's trying a new shot location...maybe we'll see a little action.
So, what's our next move? Increase tomorrow morning or wait another cycle?

We had a great time playing with the "laser" today. :-D
 
At this point it does not look like he's getting enough insulin. My vote is for an increase to 1.75U. I know we said dose could be 1.5U, but his shed has really emptied out. He's been on 1.5U for 2 cycles longer than the 1.25U and it should have done more than the 217 by now and stopped this 400 business.

Unless someone else thinks we have a rebound situation (high, flat numbers) an increase in the morning should be on the agenda, IMO.
 
Good luck with the increase! I made a decision to go with one today too. Will keep my fingers crossed that these 2 have a good weekend!

Hope you have a good w/e too, Marcy!
 
I don't really know anyone's schedule. So will just suggest that if this is a day any of you can get tests in more than once mid-cycle, try to do so. Dose increases can sometimes cause a surprise. Not often, but it can happen.
 
Not too horrible today. A few more yellows mixed in with the pinks.
+6 246
+7 268
PMPS 298 1.75u

Time to reduce his k/cal intake again. He really needs to get the extra weight off.
 
I say playing and peeing less are good signs. I don't think it's going to change his BGs much, but if you reduce his caloric intake, he may go lower. Playing is exercise and that will help him loose weight too.
 
I agree with you, Vicky, but he is obese (19.5 lbs.) and will do better overall if we can get him to lose a little more weight.


Don't tell him I called him obese...
 
Marcy & Klinger said:
I agree with you, Vicky, but he is obese (19.5 lbs.) and will do better overall if we can get him to lose a little more weight.


Don't tell him I called him obese...

:lol:


Haha! You and Peggy are too funny!

Klinger is doing OK on 1.75U, but probably needs more since he's at that steady-but-not-going-down-much stage. And I agree he needs to loose weight. Gandalf at his largest was 18 pounds and he's an almost 3' long form nose to tail tip Maine Coon type cat.

I hate to keep harping on diet and getting people to use raw food, but after reading Dr. Hodgkins book I am thoroughly convinced that many diseases cats experience are diet related. Probably not hyper-T as that can be other things in environment, there are so many chemicals/poisons in the atmosphere and in our homes. But CRF and diabetes definitely are diet related.

Keep playing with him and keep feeding him the lowest carb he will eat. Consider raw if you can. I have never attempted to make my own, but I bet it's not as hard as it sounds once you do it a few times. Please read Dr. Lisa about making your own food, 'cause she covers all the bases, explains where to get stuff from the grinder to the supplements. Or you might be able to get a butcher to grind chicken or turkey for you by the pound.

They make a laser thing which automatically spins so you don't have to do all the work. Some cats love those. Mine are especially fond of feathers and I buy the ones on sticks. Fur mice are great too, but all of ours end up under the fridge....if he'll play with the bigger ones, get those.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top