6/8 Ivy Amps 119,+3.25 141,+7.25 132,+10 258,Pmps 251,+2 155,+4.5 42 L Libre,+5 Lo L/87 C,+8 58Libre

Staci & Ivy

Very Active Member
6/7/24
Amps 119 Libre
Early start today. At +11 (5 am) the Libre alarm went off. Ivy was at 59 on Libre (which is usually over 100 on a handheld meter, but still, lower). Normally, when she goes lower like that at the end of a cycle, she will continue to go down.
Would you give a teaspoon of low-carb food about an hour before feed and shoot time since I can see what’s going on on the Libre?
Just curious since the general rule is not to feed anything within 2 hours before feed and shoot time. Low carbs for Ivy usually don’t do too much in terms of a bump. (I did not give her anything but was vacillating).
She did bump up a bit before feed time on her own, but I was conflicted with what to do.
I didn’t want to get off schedule since we are on a tight schedule tonight, going out to dinner.

Yesterday am cycle was unremarkable. Kind of flat. Last night was a decent mostly blue (Libre cycle). I stayed up late to monitor her since it looked like she was going to have some action. I did feed some snacks through about +6. Yawn :coffee::coffee:

Hoping if she has action it’s today during daylight cycle (headed out to dinner tonight for my son’s birthday so he won’t be home either). Ivy will be completely on her own. Will feed 12.5% meal and snacks. Hope she will be safe for a few hours.
Happy Saturday and weekend everyone safe surfing :cat:
 
Wow! nice cycle of blues and greens last night! My guess is she will slowly go up today and then you might have to keep your eye/ear on her in the middle of the night tonight. You never know with these furry ones though. They definitely have a mind of their own! Have a great time with you son tonight. :)
 
Hi Staci,
Beautiful cycle with lowering in the early morning. That's a tough call. I know that, in general, we don't want to feed 2 hours prior to the feed/shoot time as the food-influenced preshot number is hard to gauge. But ECID and you know your Ivy's pattern. I'll tag @Angela & Cleo for her input.

Hope Ivy surfs nicely today and good but nonthreatening PM cycle, at least while you are away. Overall though, Ivy is doing so much better and you have been doing such a fantastic job managing her! Hope your day will be relaxing and you get to enjoy (ie, worry-free!) time eating out.

Happy Saturday, Staci and Ivy :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Looks like Ivy was doing one of her famous "double dips" at the end of the cycle. Its good that you didn't feed based on the data that you do have. And as you see, she came up substantially right at shot time.
The don't feed 2 hours prior to shot time is not a strict rule for those that know onset, nadir, duration, food bump, bounce clearing cycle, overlap, double dip, etc. Basically, lots of data :joyful:.

Happy B-day to your son. Hope you guys have a great time out!
 
Looks like Ivy was doing one of her famous "double dips" at the end of the cycle. Its good that you didn't feed based on the data that you do have. And as you see, she came up substantially right at shot time.
The don't feed 2 hours prior to shot time is not a strict rule for those that know onset, nadir, duration, food bump, bounce clearing cycle, overlap, double dip, etc. Basically, lots of data :joyful:.

Happy B-day to your son. Hope you guys have a great time out!
Hi Angela, I do think it was one of her famous double dips, you are right. And based on the fact that I know she doesn’t get a long lasting bump from 6%, I was thinking that maybe I wanted to give her a little something that would get her to shot time without her going too low. I didn’t want her not to get the shot on time.

Sometimes she comes up as she did today and sometimes she does not when she’s in one of those double dip end of cycle drop.

And then I’m on the fence at 5 AM thinking about what to do.
Could I have given a tsp of low-carb at that point or do you think it was better that I didn’t give it?

Of course hindsight is 20/20 since we see she did come up, but I just never know what she will do:banghead:

Thanks @Angela & Cleo so much for your good wishes and your support:bighug:
 
Wow! nice cycle of blues and greens last night! My guess is she will slowly go up today and then you might have to keep your eye/ear on her in the middle of the night tonight. You never know with these furry ones though. They definitely have a mind of their own! Have a great time with you son tonight. :)
Hi Heather, I agree with your prediction. But then again with Ivy, I just never know. Stay tuned.
You guys have a great day safe surfing:bighug:
 
Hi Staci,
Beautiful cycle with lowering in the early morning. That's a tough call. I know that, in general, we don't want to feed 2 hours prior to the feed/shoot time as the food-influenced preshot number is hard to gauge. But ECID and you know your Ivy's pattern. I'll tag @Angela & Cleo for her input.

Hope Ivy surfs nicely today and good but nonthreatening PM cycle, at least while you are away. Overall though, Ivy is doing so much better and you have been doing such a fantastic job managing her! Hope your day will be relaxing and you get to enjoy (ie, worry-free!) time eating out.

Happy Saturday, Staci and Ivy :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Kit, thanks for your thoughts and assisting here with some additional support with Angela. I appreciate your help trying to figure out a plan for the next time Ivy pulls one of her double dips. Which, she will since she likes to do them. :rolleyes:
When I get that alert at either 4 or 5 AM, it’s jarring. And of course unless I’m already awake, My brain is just jumbled. :facepalm:
I hope our girls have nothing fancy in their plans for today or tonight.
Hope you guys also have a wonderful weekend :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci, what a night! :cool::D:cool::D I can imagine this bump at +12 was scary. I am happy for you she is a bit higher today so you can go out and celebrate without having to worry. Hope you have a wonderful time with your family! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci, what a night! :cool::D:cool::D I can imagine this bump at +12 was scary. I am happy for you she is a bit higher today so you can go out and celebrate without having to worry. Hope you have a wonderful time with your family! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Heike, it was quite an alarming wake up alert. They are never fun. Ivy has a habit of a late nadir or a double dip late in the cycle. And many times 4-5 am. It’s not fun.
I hope you and Binie are doing well today and tonight.
Thanks for your sweet wishes. It’s nice to give my sweet son the appreciation he deserves.
We just need Ivy to cooperate so I don’t have that worry!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Happy birthday to your son. I hope the celebration was enjoyable and Ivy cruised nicely while you were out. :)
Thank you Janet. My son is Ivy’s biggest fan but sadly she won’t let him touch her. He’s the most gentle soul and she’s just not having it with him. (I think she never forgave him for when he went away to college).
We had a lovely celebration and now it looks like she wants the attention tonight so Mom is back on duty when I get home shortly.
Hope you are having a nice and safe night :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Active night after a blue and yellow am cycle. Sleeping on the sofa again. Womp womp.
At +5 Lo on Libre was 87 on Contour.
:coffee::coffee::coffee:
:facepalm::facepalm:
 
Back
Top