6/8 Binie AMPS 494, +3 299, +6 152

Heike & BInie

Very Active Member
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ps-373-3-335-8-52-libre-78-accu-check.290868/

Good evening,

our last days have been a bit tiring. Binies well-being is up and down. So is her bg. Her appetite become better again, which is a huge relief.

After the active AM cycle on thursday where she earned the reduction she had another active pm cycle as well, even with the reduced dose. She was again dropping fast and I tried to slow it down a little with hc food but not too much. At +6 and +7 she was surfing between 80 and 100 on the libre. I didn't try to test her on the handheld as she was still annoyed from the day. I always have to be careful not to annoy her so much that she rejects her shots. That would be the worst. When the libre showed that she was dropping faster below 80 I stopped it with a hc treat, because she lost appetite in the hc kibble and I was scared I couldn't manage anymore.

On Friday I had to be outside because of my job serveral hours throughout the day so I bumped up the carbs to not let her go too low. It doesn't feel good to do so but I was scared to leave her alone like that. But it seems she bounced anyway so maybe she would not have gone that low anyway. In the evening again we had a fast drop, which made me nervous. Again I fed small portions of hc throughout the evening until she went up after +6.

It is so surprising to me she is dropping so fast and so deep now even though I feed lots of hc, which I decided to reduce some days ago. Maybe even though the wound is an ongoing problem there is some form of healing?

Anyhow the situation makes me scared to leave the house. I feel I always have to actively feed her something to "shape the curve". Next thursday I have to be a full day out, leaving directly after am shot and come home for the pm shot. So I decided this morning to do another reduction, even though the last < 90 have been only on the libre and not the handheld. I don't know if that was a wise idea. The last time I did that in april it did not work out and I had to go up again. But keeping her safe is a priority and at the moment I feel she is not safe without me being around and making feeding decisions based on her bg. We'll see what I can learn from this.

Hope everyone enjoys their weekend! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ps-373-3-335-8-52-libre-78-accu-check.290868/

Good evening,

our last days have been a bit tiring. Binies well-being is up and down. So is her bg. Her appetite become better again, which is a huge relief.

After the active AM cycle on thursday where she earned the reduction she had another active pm cycle as well, even with the reduced dose. She was again dropping fast and I tried to slow it down a little with hc food but not too much. At +6 and +7 she was surfing between 80 and 100 on the libre. I didn't try to test her on the handheld as she was still annoyed from the day. I always have to be careful not to annoy her so much that she rejects her shots. That would be the worst. When the libre showed that she was dropping faster below 80 I stopped it with a hc treat, because she lost appetite in the hc kibble and I was scared I couldn't manage anymore.

On Friday I had to be outside because of my job serveral hours throughout the day so I bumped up the carbs to not let her go too low. It doesn't feel good to do so but I was scared to leave her alone like that. But it seems she bounced anyway so maybe she would not have gone that low anyway. In the evening again we had a fast drop, which made me nervous. Again I fed small portions of hc throughout the evening until she went up after +6.

It is so surprising to me she is dropping so fast and so deep now even though I feed lots of hc, which I decided to reduce some days ago. Maybe even though the wound is an ongoing problem there is some form of healing?

Anyhow the situation makes me scared to leave the house. I feel I always have to actively feed her something to "shape the curve". Next thursday I have to be a full day out, leaving directly after am shot and come home for the pm shot. So I decided this morning to do another reduction, even though the last < 90 have been only on the libre and not the handheld. I don't know if that was a wise idea. The last time I did that in april it did not work out and I had to go up again. But keeping her safe is a priority and at the moment I feel she is not safe without me being around and making feeding decisions based on her bg. We'll see what I can learn from this.

Hope everyone enjoys their weekend! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Heike, glad Binie is eating better. That is very helpful.
I know it’s so hard to balance all of the circumstances of her care.
I also have to not poke Ivy constantly or she won’t let me give her insulin shot. Which is obviously so essential. That’s why I use the Libre.

I know you need to feel you are keeping her safe especially if you can’t be home with her so adjusting the dose down may be the only way to go for the moment.
Maybe you can get some advice with this plan from the ladies with the best information
Any ideas for Heike? @Wendy&Neko @Angela & Cleo @tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom

Wishing you a safe night and a good sleep :bighug::bighug:
 
Next Thursday is a long way away in terms of feline diabetes. I wouldn't take action now to prepare for next Thursday.

There is no harm in leaving high carb food out if you need her to stay safe. That only affects the one cycle.
 
Hi Heike, glad Binie is eating better. That is very helpful.
I know it’s so hard to balance all of the circumstances of her care.
I also have to not poke Ivy constantly or she won’t let me give her insulin shot. Which is obviously so essential. That’s why I use the Libre.

I know you need to feel you are keeping her safe especially if you can’t be home with her so adjusting the dose down may be the only way to go for the moment.
Maybe you can get some advice with this plan from the ladies with the best information
Any ideas for Heike? @Wendy&Neko @Angela & Cleo @tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom

Wishing you a safe night and a good sleep :bighug::bighug:

Thank you so much Staci! :bighug::bighug::bighug: It helps to hear that I am not the only one who struggles with testing. Sometimes she doesn't mind too much but most of the time she doesn't let me. And it is only possible with a lickable treat in front of her which I also use for the injections. If I poke her too much or against her will, she will go away as soon I come up with the treat. So that also gives me a problem with injecting. I already tried to give different treats for injecting and for poking but it didn't make a big difference.

And yes, keeping her safe is so difficult but I come to a point where I have to leave the house again for work but in the long run also for my own sanity. I live alone with Binie and not having any social life starts to take its toll. But I hope solutions will come up sooner or later. Hope you have a relaxed night after the exhausting night yesterday! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Next Thursday is a long way away in terms of feline diabetes. I wouldn't take action now to prepare for next Thursday.

There is no harm in leaving high carb food out if you need her to stay safe. That only affects the one cycle.

Thank you so much Wendy! :bighug::bighug::bighug: I also thought about that but I am scared she will not eat on her own. At the moment I am still handfeeding a lot and sometimes I am surprised that she takes it from me with a good appetite but doesn't bother to get up and eat on her own. On the days where the bg goes down so quickly I constantly handfeed to keep her safe. So I hoped to find a dose which is safe without constant feeding. I will see what the next days bring. So far it doesn't look like 2.5 IU is enough for her so maybe I have to go up again but I want to try a few days. Hope you have a relaxed sunday! :cat:
 
Back
Top