? 6/8 Benny AMPS 299 +8 96 +9 105 +10 99 PMPS 165 Monitoring Q

Ben&Squirrel

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-6-benny-amps-549-2-428-basaglar-pen-question.264244/

Hi everyone! Hope you are all staying cool.

Since increasing his dose to 1.75, Benny has started showing improvement. (Knock wood.)

A couple of days ago his PMPS was 189. I was so worried about him that I stayed up most of the night measuring his BG. Tonight it was 165.

Can anyone give me some info about how PM monitoring can/should happen? I'm worried that he will go low while I'm asleep, yet...I have to go to sleep this time. How do you handle that?

Thank you!
 
Did you give the dose of insulin at PMPS? Not in the SS at this point.
If you gave the shot, I would get a +1 and a +2 to start with to see what Benny is doing.
Testing after that will depend on what the BGs are.
When I had to stay up several nights in a row, I set the alarm to wake up at the next due test.
Are you OK with waking up with alarms? ….you may need to set more than one and don’t have it too close to you so that you can reach up and turn it off.
 
Did you give the dose of insulin at PMPS? Not in the SS at this point.

Not sure what happened with the SS; I did give him his 1.75 u of insulin. His +1 is 210.

When I had to stay up several nights in a row, I set the alarm to wake up at the next due test.
Are you OK with waking up with alarms? ….you may need to set more than one and don’t have it too close to you so that you can reach up and turn it off.

Unfortunately due to health reasons I can't wake up multiple times a night regularly. Several nights in a row is not possible for me medically. No one else can do this either. Can this be regularly managed with food or some other strategy?
 
It takes a bit of time to get a feel for patterns, but +2 is usually a good place to start, since that can often be a good indication of whether you need to watch the cycle more closely. If the +2 is much lower than preshot, you will need to pay closer attention, with additional tests, if the +2 is much higher, that often means it won't be much action and likely a bounce in play.

Keep in mind, nadirs can, and do move around, they aren't always at +6. One of my favourite sayings by Sienne one of our moderators, and long long time member about her cat Gabby is that "Gabby's nadirs were around +3 except for when they weren't".

You may find a bounce starting tonight, since it looks like a bounce from greens on pm cycle of June 6th broke today, and bounce breaks usually have later nadirs like you saw in the am cycle today.
 
It takes a bit of time to get a feel for patterns, but +2 is usually a good place to start, since that can often be a good indication of whether you need to watch the cycle more closely. If the +2 is much lower than preshot, you will need to pay closer attention, with additional tests, if the +2 is much higher, that often means it won't be much action and likely a bounce in play.

Keep in mind, nadirs can, and do move around, they aren't always at +6. One of my favourite sayings by Sienne one of our moderators, and long long time member about her cat Gabby is that "Gabby's nadirs were around +3 except for when they weren't".

You may find a bounce starting tonight, since it looks like a bounce from greens on pm cycle of June 6th broke today, and bounce breaks usually have later nadirs like you saw in the am cycle today.

OK, that helps, thank you! This might be a dumb question, but how do you know when you can just go to sleep?
 
OK, that helps, thank you! This might be a dumb question, but how do you know when you can just go to sleep?
No, not a dumb question at all, but the answer isn't necessarily simple. It depends on the cycle, and as I mentioned it takes time to get a feel for things, since how your cat responds to carbs and insulin isn't the same as mine. I found over time, I was able to be more confident as I gathered data, to where I had a good feel for onset, nadir and duration on Lantus. And whenever I wasn't sure how the cycle might go, and needed to get sleep, I'd leave higher carb food out and drink a seriously huge glass of water before bed, knowing that would wake me up, and I'd get a middle of the night spot check then go back to sleep. Not ideal, but not every night is one with active cycles :). Then we started Levemir, and I had to relearn his new patterns all over again on the new insulin :rolleyes:
 
Back
Top