6/7 Mali AMPS 569

Status
Not open for further replies.

RG & Mali (GA)

Member Since 2013
Previous Condo

Marje,

That's ok, I know you have more babies to take care of and it you did have your hands full yesterday.

I hope you are right on the "new dose wonkiness". It's pretty frustrating when she throws a blue pretty quick after the new dose and then stays red and black from then on. She certainly didn't try to surf overnight. She did get a little FF LC around +9 when she starts making a pest of herself, but that shouldn't have given her 569 at AMPS. I don't know if you ever saw any of this condo, but there are other issues complicating Mali's regulation that I don't know how much effect it has on her BG numbers. The vet thinks they complicate it. She goes back in Saturday morning for blood work and checkup so hopefully we will know more then.

Let's hope for better numbers today.

Great day to all in LL :!:
 
RG

Sorry...I just got up...I'm three hours behind and was up with Gracie last night.

Thanks for linking that condo. I'm going to read it and also see if I can Jill or Libby to look at her SS again. I know both are pretty tied up right now. We have to figure out how to get Mali in better numbers. I also thought she was looking better.

I still feel certain she is going low somewhere. Maybe next time she starts clearing the bounce, we test every couple hours and see if we can pick it up?

Hang in there..we will get it figured out. Please keep posting.
 
Hi RG. Bummer that Mali hit a black number again. We have our fingers crossed that Mali is experiencing NDW and her numbers will come down.

Is it possible to get a few more test done during each cycle? They might be able to help you pin point the beginning and end of the swings.

Keep posting, we all want to see Mali get on track.

OT: Looks like we're going to have some nice weather this weekend. Hope you have a chance to get out doors and enjoy it.

Have a great day.
 
Hi RG, I just took a quick look at Mali's profile a noticed she is on 8mg of Cerenia every day except Weds? That seems like a lot to me. Our cat Zener is on 1 mg 3 days per week. My understanding is Cerenia should not be given every day in the long term but I can't give you the reason why not. The packaging of Cerenia is confusing, because it says 16 mg but that is split among 4 pills so each pill is 4 mg. We use the Greenie's pill pocket, dog version, duck and pea (no sugar but does have carbs) to give Zener his many meds. Paws crossed, it works so far.

You are doing a great job! Mali is "challenging", just like our Zener. :-D :-D
Liz, Zener's other mom
 
RG & Mali said:
I hope you are right on the "new dose wonkiness". It's pretty frustrating when she throws a blue pretty quick after the new dose and then stays red and black from then on. She certainly didn't try to surf overnight. She did get a little FF LC around +9 when she starts making a pest of herself, but that shouldn't have given her 569 at AMPS.
Well Hello RG and Welcome to Our Family! I see you're a new member; I'll keep an eye on your posts, and please ask, ask, away! should you have any questions; keep in mind that the ONLY dumb question is the one you didn't ask :-D Real quick introduction: My cat Gobbles was diagnosed in 11/12 and joined the Lantus Tight Regulation protocol a few months later--this was by far the wisest choice I made for him and most likely literally saved his life! I'm happy to report that exactly 6 months on insulin, he was no longer needing it; he's a newbie in the remission department; the last day he had any insulin was on 5/17/13. So enough about him. So what's your first name? And Mali is your sugar baby, correct?

With regard to new dose wokiness--oh yes, most likely that's what it is--and it is completely normal! Gobble was up and down the dosing scale many, many times, so I know all about the wonkiness :lol: Don't let those high numbers upset you--completely normal as well. I know it is frustrating, but just have some patience; your baby is in good hands and you are at the best place you can be; we are more than happy to help you every step of the way.

I am going to read the second half of your post, and will comment here shortly...
 
RG & Mali said:
I don't know if you ever saw any of this condo, but there are other issues complicating Mali's regulation that I don't know how much effect it has on her BG numbers. The vet thinks they complicate it. She goes back in Saturday morning for blood work and checkup so hopefully we will know more then.

Let's hope for better numbers today.

Great day to all in LL :!:
Hi again-I looked that post you've referenced, and with all the medical issues, it is way over my head--(sorry)--I'm sure you're/you will get some good advice. What a little sweetie she is; she's now added to my prayer list (and you, too!!!)
 
Also, I just wanted to add that you're are doing a really, really great job. I took a peek at Mali's SS, and you made a good choice bumping Mali back up to .75 u. -- here's where those "patience pants" are very useful! Further, the ReliOn Confirm is a great meter! Just a word of advice, unless you have already done so: if you don't already have a back up meter--get one becuase you never know when any meter can break, be way off (thus you test the same drop of blood with each meter), battery dies and/or it is the middle of the night and you run out of strips (and have to make a trip to Wallyworld in the middle of the night! Or even worse, for some reason--like maybe dangerous low numbers--you cannot leave your house) Looking at the past few days--definitely a wonky and bouncy little cutie. Be advised, though, it is not too uncommon for a cat to drop a few 100 points during a cycle (this happened just yesterday with Tashie--she was 387 at AMPS & only 54 at AM+3.5). My own Gobbles bounced one day from black to blue in one hour. I can see that you're being proactive about Mali's FD, which is a great thing and should keep Mali safe. If you'd like some reassurance on the wonkiness, bounces, black and red numbers, and finally greens and blues--feel free to take a look at Gobbles' SS when you have some time :-D
 
Marje and Gracie said:
RG

Sorry...I just got up...I'm three hours behind and was up with Gracie last night.

Thanks for linking that condo. I'm going to read it and also see if I can Jill or Libby to look at her SS again. I know both are pretty tied up right now. We have to figure out how to get Mali in better numbers. I also thought she was looking better.

I still feel certain she is going low somewhere. Maybe next time she starts clearing the bounce, we test every couple hours and see if we can pick it up?

Hang in there..we will get it figured out. Please keep posting.


Hi Marje,
No apologies needed. We all have to sleep sometimes and you keep on lot on your plate. Hope Gracie is well. I think that is a good idea if she ever clears a bounce again :lol: She just threw a Hi at us at +8. We will see what PMPS brings. Yes, I will keep posting. :-D
 
Hi RG, Marje asked me to keep my eyes out for your daily condo. I usually stay over in Health more but looks like you could use a few more eyes on you over here in lantus land. I'll be looking out for you every chance I get.

One thing while I try to catch up on your condos and take a look at the SS.

In your profile, would you add those ultrasound possible findings. I realize the cancer is not confirmed but it could be impacting Mali's body and making the diabetes more difficult.

Any other notes in that google profile that you think may help us. We will certainly want an update on how Mali is doing after the vet visit tomorrow. ;-)

A tip for you. Since I spend most of my time in the Health forum, then scanning the ISG's to see if someone has a question, put that question mark icon on your post. Otherwise, people may think everything is fine and you will be missed. Don't want that to happen. Our volunteer corps is good about keeping on top of things but the occasional slip up can occur.

I start my day over in Health, look for 911's first, then questions, then read everything else in Health, then skip over to the ISG's. 3-4 hours later, my 3 kitties start to clamor for second breffis and I take a break.
 
Frosty said:
Hi RG. Bummer that Mali hit a black number again. We have our fingers crossed that Mali is experiencing NDW and her numbers will come down.

Is it possible to get a few more test done during each cycle? They might be able to help you pin point the beginning and end of the swings.

Keep posting, we all want to see Mali get on track.

OT: Looks like we're going to have some nice weather this weekend. Hope you have a chance to get out doors and enjoy it.

Have a great day.


Hi John, yeah, these black numbers can really get us down, but we just have to keep on keepin' on. I have been trying to get a +4 or so to detect an onset and then a +8 -+10 to pick up her nadir, but just not getting any consistency. I will keep on stickin', shootin' and postin' and we will get her figured out yet.
Have a good one.
 
RG

Several of us are looking closely at her SS; it sometimes takes us a bit of time to discuss it and see what the best action is so hang in there. We haven't forgotten you. I promise :-D :-D :-D
 
Anne & Zener said:
Hi RG, I just took a quick look at Mali's profile a noticed she is on 8mg of Cerenia every day except Weds? That seems like a lot to me. Our cat Zener is on 1 mg 3 days per week. My understanding is Cerenia should not be given every day in the long term but I can't give you the reason why not. The packaging of Cerenia is confusing, because it says 16 mg but that is split among 4 pills so each pill is 4 mg. We use the Greenie's pill pocket, dog version, duck and pea (no sugar but does have carbs) to give Zener his many meds. Paws crossed, it works so far.

You are doing a great job! Mali is "challenging", just like our Zener. :-D :-D
Liz, Zener's other mom

Hi Liz, I don't have a clue on the dosage except that the vet said sometimes 1/4 tab was enough, but gettng that small amount can be problematical. The split in the tab makes it easier to just pop it in two. Actually we haven't been consisisten with even that dose because she finally "sniffed out" the pill in the cream cheese. I disolved it in a teapspoon of chicken stock yesterday and shot it like the other liquids so i suppose that is what I'll continue to do.
We are starting on Metronidazole (antibiotic) that was compounded into liquid. She is not very happy by the time I stick, shoot and squirt all the liquids in her angry(2)_cat
Thanks for stopping by and don't be a stranger.
 
Marje and Gracie said:
RG

Several of us are looking closely at her SS; it sometimes takes us a bit of time to discuss it and see what the best action is so hang in there. We haven't forgotten you. I promise :-D :-D :-D


Not a chance....I won't let you forget about me :dizcat
 
TheBowHuntress said:
RG & Mali said:
I hope you are right on the "new dose wonkiness". It's pretty frustrating when she throws a blue pretty quick after the new dose and then stays red and black from then on. She certainly didn't try to surf overnight. She did get a little FF LC around +9 when she starts making a pest of herself, but that shouldn't have given her 569 at AMPS.
Well Hello RG and Welcome to Our Family! I see you're a new member; I'll keep an eye on your posts, and please ask, ask, away! should you have any questions; keep in mind that the ONLY dumb question is the one you didn't ask :-D Real quick introduction: My cat Gobbles was diagnosed in 11/12 and joined the Lantus Tight Regulation protocol a few months later--this was by far the wisest choice I made for him and most likely literally saved his life! I'm happy to report that exactly 6 months on insulin, he was no longer needing it; he's a newbie in the remission department; the last day he had any insulin was on 5/17/13. So enough about him. So what's your first name? And Mali is your sugar baby, correct?

With regard to new dose wokiness--oh yes, most likely that's what it is--and it is completely normal! Gobble was up and down the dosing scale many, many times, so I know all about the wonkiness :lol: Don't let those high numbers upset you--completely normal as well. I know it is frustrating, but just have some patience; your baby is in good hands and you are at the best place you can be; we are more than happy to help you every step of the way.

I am going to read the second half of your post, and will comment here shortly...

Hey thanks for stopping by! You have done a magnificent job with Gobbles. I looked at the SS and I long to get Mali to that point...great success story :!:
Robert, first name and Mali is the little tuxedo sugar baby....and don't worry, I will be here making an absolute pest of myself and I have a BW that will attest to the pest part.
 
TheBowHuntress said:
RG & Mali said:
I don't know if you ever saw any of this condo, but there are other issues complicating Mali's regulation that I don't know how much effect it has on her BG numbers. The vet thinks they complicate it. She goes back in Saturday morning for blood work and checkup so hopefully we will know more then.

Let's hope for better numbers today.

Great day to all in LL :!:
Hi again-I looked that post you've referenced, and with all the medical issues, it is way over my head--(sorry)--I'm sure you're/you will get some good advice. What a little sweetie she is; she's now added to my prayer list (and you, too!!!)


Over my head, too :sad: Thanks for the prayer list addition...can never have too much of that :!:
 
TheBowHuntress said:
Also, I just wanted to add that you're are doing a really, really great job. I took a peek at Mali's SS, and you made a good choice bumping Mali back up to .75 u. -- here's where those "patience pants" are very useful! Further, the ReliOn Confirm is a great meter! Just a word of advice, unless you have already done so: if you don't already have a back up meter--get one becuase you never know when any meter can break, be way off (thus you test the same drop of blood with each meter), battery dies and/or it is the middle of the night and you run out of strips (and have to make a trip to Wallyworld in the middle of the night! Or even worse, for some reason--like maybe dangerous low numbers--you cannot leave your house) Looking at the past few days--definitely a wonky and bouncy little cutie. Be advised, though, it is not too uncommon for a cat to drop a few 100 points during a cycle (this happened just yesterday with Tashie--she was 387 at AMPS & only 54 at AM+3.5). My own Gobbles bounced one day from black to blue in one hour. I can see that you're being proactive about Mali's FD, which is a great thing and should keep Mali safe. If you'd like some reassurance on the wonkiness, bounces, black and red numbers, and finally greens and blues--feel free to take a look at Gobbles' SS when you have some time :-D

Thanks again for the accolades on the SS, but when I look at some of the others, I think I'm not getting near enough entries and info on it.
I've never worn patience pants very well, but as I get "longer in the tooth", I try to wear them more...don't know if I do, but I'm trying :-D
I started out with the vet induced AlphaTrak glucometer, but soon found out on FDMB that there were cheaper routes to go without sacrificing reading accuracy, so I do have that along with some strips for the "breakdown" occasion.
Looking at your interests, being a "born and raised in Texas boy", I share many with you.
Thanks for stopping by.
 
Deb & Wink said:
Hi RG, Marje asked me to keep my eyes out for your daily condo. I usually stay over in Health more but looks like you could use a few more eyes on you over here in lantus land. I'll be looking out for you every chance I get.

One thing while I try to catch up on your condos and take a look at the SS.

In your profile, would you add those ultrasound possible findings. I realize the cancer is not confirmed but it could be impacting Mali's body and making the diabetes more difficult.

Any other notes in that google profile that you think may help us. We will certainly want an update on how Mali is doing after the vet visit tomorrow. ;-)

A tip for you. Since I spend most of my time in the Health forum, then scanning the ISG's to see if someone has a question, put that question mark icon on your post. Otherwise, people may think everything is fine and you will be missed. Don't want that to happen. Our volunteer corps is good about keeping on top of things but the occasional slip up can occur.

I start my day over in Health, look for 911's first, then questions, then read everything else in Health, then skip over to the ISG's. 3-4 hours later, my 3 kitties start to clamor for second breffis and I take a break.

Hi Deb, been a while. Thanks for looking in on Mali. When I take Mali in tomorrow morning for her blood work, I will try to get a little more definition on the ultrasound findings and I will indeed post that and her current b/w.
I was using the ? over in Health because it seemed all my posts were questions. In LL, I seem to be just posting her findings, previous condo and a few thoughts and letting the members that know a lot more than I pick up on her readings and let me know what they think. I realize you all have your hands full and I think you do a fantastic job of keeping a lookout for all the sugar babies here.
Thanks for stopping by and I still look at Wink and think Mali is a close relative :cool:
 
RG & Mali said:
When I take Mali in tomorrow morning for her blood work, I will try to get a little more definition on the ultrasound findings and I will indeed post that and her current b/w.
Hi Robert, I'm anxious to see how she's doing... I don't know if you've ever seen it on some of our SS's, but some members keep their kitties lab results in their SS (separate tab). When it was suggested to me "back in the day" to maybe try this, I thought....omg--that's a lot of work! However, it has proved to be real helpful; both to me and Gobbles' vet. I had moved a few times, but tracked down Gobbles' labs all the way back to 2009. There's not a lot of work involved once you get it set up and earlier lab results entered; each time Gobbles has labwork done, I just fill in the cells with the numbers :-D If you want to see what I mean, go to his SS and find the tab at the bottom that reads "Gobbles Labs"...
 
RG & Mali said:
Thanks again for the accolades on the SS, but when I look at some of the others, I think I'm not getting near enough entries and info on it....
You can put as little or as much information as you'd like. It is real helpful when you have enough, though I admit that at times I think I over did it :lol: However, back in early March, Gobbles had a bout of diarrhea that lasted a month, and in that time frame, the extra notations were extremely helpful. Here's a giggle that, as I can tell you're a hunter, I think you'll get a kick out of: I have 3 cats. When the diarrhea was daily, I did think it was Gobbles (due to LB placement), but not sure (and honestly, not hoping so), so I set up the deercam in the basement to keep track of WHO had the squirts and WHEN they did so :lol: Here's a link to a classic picture I got: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=91532&p=981221&hilit=gobbles+deer+cam#p981221If you scroll down, you'll see Gobbles in his LB as well as Nigel...also, keep scrolling down and you'll see the Redneck Kitty Condo (house) that I made him :lol: Both of the pictures of Gobbles in that post were used in his OTJ Party Video (link in my signature below)
 
RG & Mali said:
...You have done a magnificent job with Gobbles. I looked at the SS and I long to get Mali to that point...great success story :!:
Robert, first name and Mali is the little tuxedo sugar baby....and don't worry, I will be here making an absolute pest of myself and I have a BW that will attest to the pest part.
Thank you so much for your compliment; did you notice just how many times he was high? It used to break my heart, because during those high times, he would be very lethargic and stayed in his bed, in my bedroom--I learned to just let the poor thing be, and would turn off the light for him :-| Your Mali is soooooooo cute--gotta love a tuxedo kitty! You think you're going to be a pest? Let me tell you, I have you beat by a landslide--drove these wonderful people here nuts, I'm sure. I wasn't "right" until about 4 months into his diagnosis. My poor husband, but he was awesome through The Dance.
 
RG & Mali said:
...Looking at your interests, being a "born and raised in Texas boy", I share many with you...
Yah-Hoo! Deerburgers (esp. doe burgers!!!), Deer Chili, Deer Lasagne, Deer Steak, Deer Bologna, Deer Jerky, Deer Meat Loaf? Antler Soup :lol: :lol: :lol: ???
 
TheBowHuntress said:
RG & Mali said:
...Looking at your interests, being a "born and raised in Texas boy", I share many with you...
Yah-Hoo! Deerburgers (esp. doe burgers!!!), Deer Chili, Deer Lasagne, Deer Steak, Deer Bologna, Deer Jerky, Deer Meat Loaf? Antler Soup :lol: :lol: :lol: ???

Love the smell of venison in the morning :lol:
 
We started with the AlphaTrak, too, and it was very expensive. I'm glad we switched and wished we'd done it sooner. Do you use a pill splitter? They work pretty well to get quarter pills.
Liz
 
TheBowHuntress said:
RG & Mali said:
Thanks again for the accolades on the SS, but when I look at some of the others, I think I'm not getting near enough entries and info on it....
You can put as little or as much information as you'd like. It is real helpful when you have enough, though I admit that at times I think I over did it :lol: However, back in early March, Gobbles had a bout of diarrhea that lasted a month, and in that time frame, the extra notations were extremely helpful. Here's a giggle that, as I can tell you're a hunter, I think you'll get a kick out of: I have 3 cats. When the diarrhea was daily, I did think it was Gobbles (due to LB placement), but not sure (and honestly, not hoping so), so I set up the deercam in the basement to keep track of WHO had the squirts and WHEN they did so :lol: Here's a link to a classic picture I got: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=91532&p=981221&hilit=gobbles+deer+cam#p981221If you scroll down, you'll see Gobbles in his LB as well as Nigel...also, keep scrolling down and you'll see the Redneck Kitty Condo (house) that I made him :lol: Both of the pictures of Gobbles in that post were used in his OTJ Party Video (link in my signature below)

OJT party film is a riot :!: Love the Redneck Kitty Condo....came up huntin' everything ie; deer, ducks, geese, doves, quail, etc. but kinda put it all away a few years ago. My little brother is still on a deer lease in the hill country and is a bowhunter.
I will get her report recorded when I get back with it tomorrow.
Thanks for stopping by and have a great weekend!
 
Anne & Zener said:
We started with the AlphaTrak, too, and it was very expensive. I'm glad we switched and wished we'd done it sooner. Do you use a pill splitter? They work pretty well to get quarter pills.
Liz

I do have one, but as I say, the vet opted for the 1/2 pill and "what do I know"?
 
Vets are amazing, treating so many different species and so many different conditions. I have total respect for them. On the other hand, we live one specific condition, feline diabetes, 24/7. You will quickly become more knowledgeable than your vet in FD treatment, just because of the knowledge and expertise here. At least treatment by crazy cat people like us. :lol: :lol: Hopefully, your vet will see that as a positive and not feel threatened by your suggestions. As Sienne likes to say, knowledge is power and the more information you have, the better decisions you can make. Mali is lucky have such caring beans. :-D
Liz
 
Hello Robert :)

I just wanted to introduce myself. It looks like we have a few things in common. J.D. is 18 1/2 and just had a dental and had one canine removed (along with 7 other teeth, that makes a total of 14 out of there in two dentals). He had a diagnosis of pancreatitis last year around this time when he was 17 1/2 and was on 1/4 Pepcid for tummy acid, 1/4 Ondansetron for nausea, and cyproheptadine as needed and occasionally some buprenex in the beginning. And take a look at our spreadsheet (J.D. is a bouncy boy). I will try to keep a watch out for you too, although, I'm not on as much as the other members, but will add Mali to my prayer list as well. Hang in there.
 
Welcome, Robert and Mali,
You certainly have a lot on your plate. I hope your vet can give you some answers tomorrow. I have little experience with the multiple health issues that Mali is living with, but I can offer support.
We'll be thinking good thoughts for your vet appointment tomorrow.

Ella & Rusty
 
Anne & Zener said:
Vets are amazing, treating so many different species and so many different conditions. I have total respect for them. On the other hand, we live one specific condition, feline diabetes, 24/7. You will quickly become more knowledgeable than your vet in FD treatment, just because of the knowledge and expertise here. At least treatment by crazy cat people like us. :lol: :lol: Hopefully, your vet will see that as a positive and not feel threatened by your suggestions. As Sienne likes to say, knowledge is power and the more information you have, the better decisions you can make. Mali is lucky have such caring beans. :-D
Liz


Thanks, Anne. Point well taken on the 24/7 FD management here on the board. Much knowledge to gain from all of you :smile:
 
Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) said:
Welcome, Robert and Mali,
You certainly have a lot on your plate. I hope your vet can give you some answers tomorrow. I have little experience with the multiple health issues that Mali is living with, but I can offer support.
We'll be thinking good thoughts for your vet appointment tomorrow.

Ella & Rusty


Thanks Ella for the good thoughts and support :smile:
 
Dyana said:
Hello Robert :)

I just wanted to introduce myself. It looks like we have a few things in common. J.D. is 18 1/2 and just had a dental and had one canine removed (along with 7 other teeth, that makes a total of 14 out of there in two dentals). He had a diagnosis of pancreatitis last year around this time when he was 17 1/2 and was on 1/4 Pepcid for tummy acid, 1/4 Ondansetron for nausea, and cyproheptadine as needed and occasionally some buprenex in the beginning. And take a look at our spreadsheet (J.D. is a bouncy boy). I will try to keep a watch out for you too, although, I'm not on as much as the other members, but will add Mali to my prayer list as well. Hang in there.

Thanks for stopping by, Dyana! Yes, it does look like Mali and J.D. have quite a bit in common with the bounciness and extra "stuff" to contend with.
Thanks again for the thoughts and prayers :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top