6/7 Indigo AMPS 316, +2 252, +4 181, +5 143, +7 100, PMPS 76, +2 79, +3 69

Carole & Indigo

Very Active Member
Yesterday

Dropped of 6 days of numbers for the vet today and he did call me back shortly after.
H went over the numbers 1 by 1 which was tedious as I saw then when I wrote them down, then said he was very concerned about his health. He does not understand his low days and high days. He was concerned about his dose because it drops him low, he sometimes has a late nadir but it’s not enough to keep his numbers down. I tried to explain how he bounces but he wasn’t on board. He expressed his concern again about us feeding throughout the day as well as feeding a variety of foods. Insisted that diabetic cats need to be eating the same food, ideally DM at the same time every day and our schedule makes no sense.
I tried to explain the idea of feeding the curve to him and he was not getting it. I got into it with him that the idea of feeding a huge breakfast and dinner with NOTHING in between more suited to dogs or cats on other insulin’s and got into the difference between hard hitting insulins and depot. Told him my concerns about Indi not having any food at +3 or 4 when his insulin starts to do his thing. He said that if that was the case the dose is to high :banghead:
I asked what his concern with a variety of foods was and he said Tiki Cat was junk food and consistency is key. I asked what ingredients in DM are better for a diabetic cat compared to Tiki and he admitted he was not familiar with Tiki as a vet he prefers prescription foods.
I didn’t want to keep arguing with him so I said look I want to be very upfront with you, I’m really not looking for help with his diabetes it is his teeth that we need to get done. What do we need to do to get there?
Then we really got into it. He got very defensive and said I was putting Indi at risk and he’s concerned for his more than just his health and he wants him in for a in office curve so he can do it properly. :mad:
I snapped and said look we have been dealing with his diabetes for years and I understand how having so much info can be confusing when you’re usually basing dosing off a 1 day curve but I have not been getting these numbers for you this is our everyday. He is very closely monitored and his health and his safety is the MOST important thing to me.
He backed down a touch and said he would be sending his number to a friend who is an internal specialist to see if he is safe for anesthesia.
I suggested a half dose the night before and skipping in the am. He said it’s not the usual approach but he would look into it. He said he will give me a call next week.
I do like that he seems genuinely concerned for Indi but his treatment for diabetes is frustrating and his idea of feeding and foods is awful.
I’m glad that he wants to be super safe before putting him under anesthesia.
The worst part is I did catch myself second guessing myself for a bit after I got off the phone, it took me a while to shake it off :blackeye:
 
Sheesh - your vet makes my head hurt. Ingredients in DM:
Meat by-products, water, chicken, salmon, soy protein isolate, oat hulls, L-Lysine monohydrochloride, artificial and natural flavors, guar gum, potassium chloride, calcium sulfate, sodium bisulfate, taurine, Vitamin E supplement, carrageenan, choline chloride, salt, thiamine mononitrate, L-Carnitine, zinc sulfate, ferrous sulfate, niacin, calcium pantothenate, Vitamin A supplement, menadione sodium bisulfite complex (Vitamin K), pyridoxine hydrochloride, manganese sulfate, copper sulfate, riboflavin supplement, Vitamin B-12 supplement, biotin, folic acid, Vitamin D-3 supplement, potassium iodide

Ingredients in Tiki Cat - I picked the chicken After Dark one for comparison
Chicken, chicken broth, chicken liver, chicken gizzard, chicken heart, tricalcium phosphate, potassium chloride, choline chloride, magnesium sulfate, salt, taurine, ferrous sulfate, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin E supplement, tuna oil, niacin (vitamin B3), zinc oxide, vitamin A supplement, biotin, vitamin B12 supplement, copper amino acid chelate, manganous oxide, calcium pantothenate, riboflavin supplement (vitamin B2), sodium selenite, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), folic acid, potassium iodide, vitamin D3 supplement

Notice any differences? Real meat for protein and no gums in the Tiki Cat. I've heard that in Canada, someone from Hills does the "training" on nutrition in vet school class.

Sometimes you just have to smile and nod and the vet and go and do your own thing. You have been managing his diabetes for 2 years now. And Indi is still here. :bighug:

Typically vets want recent blood work done before anaesthesia. In case they need to do something different. For example, if kidney numbers going up will modify fluids given.

You really don't need to give half dose the night before and skip in the AM. Almost all kitties here have full dose the night before and half in the AM, or a skip. Depending how much work has been done, and how sore mouth is, the PM following may get a reduced dose.
 
Sheesh - your vet makes my head hurt. Ingredients in DM:
Meat by-products, water, chicken, salmon, soy protein isolate, oat hulls, L-Lysine monohydrochloride, artificial and natural flavors, guar gum, potassium chloride, calcium sulfate, sodium bisulfate, taurine, Vitamin E supplement, carrageenan, choline chloride, salt, thiamine mononitrate, L-Carnitine, zinc sulfate, ferrous sulfate, niacin, calcium pantothenate, Vitamin A supplement, menadione sodium bisulfite complex (Vitamin K), pyridoxine hydrochloride, manganese sulfate, copper sulfate, riboflavin supplement, Vitamin B-12 supplement, biotin, folic acid, Vitamin D-3 supplement, potassium iodide

Ingredients in Tiki Cat - I picked the chicken After Dark one for comparison
Chicken, chicken broth, chicken liver, chicken gizzard, chicken heart, tricalcium phosphate, potassium chloride, choline chloride, magnesium sulfate, salt, taurine, ferrous sulfate, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin E supplement, tuna oil, niacin (vitamin B3), zinc oxide, vitamin A supplement, biotin, vitamin B12 supplement, copper amino acid chelate, manganous oxide, calcium pantothenate, riboflavin supplement (vitamin B2), sodium selenite, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), folic acid, potassium iodide, vitamin D3 supplement

Notice any differences? Real meat for protein and no gums in the Tiki Cat. I've heard that in Canada, someone from Hills does the "training" on nutrition in vet school class.

Sometimes you just have to smile and nod and the vet and go and do your own thing. You have been managing his diabetes for 2 years now. And Indi is still here. :bighug:

Typically vets want recent blood work done before anaesthesia. In case they need to do something different. For example, if kidney numbers going up will modify fluids given.

You really don't need to give half dose the night before and skip in the AM. Almost all kitties here have full dose the night before and half in the AM, or a skip. Depending how much work has been done, and how sore mouth is, the PM following may get a reduced dose.

I swear I almost emailed him the ingredients! I held back though.
He had bloodwork done on the 3rd and he was happy with that. It’s just his numbers that have him concerned. Hopefully his colleagues will give him the information he needs to be comfortable with Indi having anesthesia
 
Back
Top