6/7 Henry - AMPS=298 +9=315 Ketones 1.3 +11=320 PMPS=312 +5=309 +10=298 Ketones = 2.0

John & Henry

Member Since 2022
Hi Everyone!

This is Henry's first condo on the Lantus forum. If you're interested and haven't been following his on-going post-DKA saga this thread and this thread on the new members forum should get you up to speed.

His ketones have been running high (last tested @ 2.7 on 6/5), then we ran out of strips. More strips are due in today. I'll update as soon as I have this new information. His spirits are high and his hunger is ravenous. He inhales fancy feast and is constantly begging for food, despite being fed frequently. Drinking is also very good. Fingers crossed the ketones go down.
 
Hi John,
I’m glad you got home safely and Henry is doing OK. Christy did a good job looking after him.
Please let us know what the ketones are when you get the strips.
Just a reminder that you need to be getting a mid cycle test in each cycle at least to do TR and it is best you do TR with a recent DKA.
Just read back on the last thread and see you have covid. I hope you are not feeling too bad.
 
Hi Everyone,

Well, I do in fact have covid, and I've been feeling very very crumby. Been barely leaving bed. Got some paxlovid so I really hope it starts working soon.

Henrys appetite is back to what it was before he had his DKA crisis. He is absolutely ravenous! He is constantly begging and inhales every last bit of food he's presented. He was just given a can of fancy feast which he ate within minutes and started aggressively begging for more, so he was given a second can which he also completely consumed in just a few minutes.

The Ketone strips arrived yesterday and he was 1.3 +9 AMPS. Just tested again and he's at 2.0 (+10 PMPS). This is really concerning me, and also the fact that his BG doesn't seem to be controlled in the least. I'm thinking I should call the vet again and get her input (since she's supposed to be in today). I will say she never told me to feed him a ton or anything about him drinking lots of water (which seems to be the consensus of how to deal with ketones around here), so I'm thinking she's not going to be very helpful, but I would really like some opinions on what to do? I feel like his insulin does isn't enough.

I have a hard time sleeping at night, so every time I wake up I'm going to start testing his BG. I got one in last night.
 
Hi John glad to see you made it to the LLB! Sorry to hear about the 'rona. I hope you feel better soon and the paxlovid helps!

yes ketone levels can jump around but if Henry's appetite remains strong, no lethargy, he is getting 150% of his normal calories, and drinking a lot of water to help flush out the ketones....there is likely nothing for the vet to do. I used to fret about Hendrick's ketone levels as well so I totally get it but as long as they are not high PLUS symptoms, he is probably fine.

don't miss-understand that drinking water is the cure to ketones, it's just one piece of the puzzle. Some cats have ketone levels that bounce around and go pretty high but they seem unaffected. I believe @Suzanne & Darcy can comment on this

as far as an increase, you're following TR which is very aggressive with increases. I don't have the experience to help you with dosing but others will, if an increase is warranted.
 
I’m sorry you have covid John and I hope you are feeling better soon.
The ketones are better than they were. Over 2.4 is of concern. Keep testing at least once a day or twice if higher.
Other things to look for which are red flags are lethargy, not eating or drinking, vomiting.
You can increase the dose to 1.5 units after 6 cycles as long as Henry doesn’t drop to green BGs in the meantime and you make sure you are testing the BG during both the am and pm cycles.*
*It might be best to wait until tomorrow morning to do the increase, because you didn’t get any tests in during the pm cycle 5/6 and we don’t know if he dropped low that cycle and is bouncing now.
 
I’m sorry you have covid John and I hope you are feeling better soon.
The ketones are better than they were. Over 2.4 is of concern. Keep testing at least once a day or twice if higher.
Other things to look for which are red flags are lethargy, not eating or drinking, vomiting.
You can increase the dose to 1.5 units after 6 cycles as long as Henry doesn’t drop to green BGs in the meantime and you make sure you are testing the BG during both the am and pm cycles.*
*It might be best to wait until tomorrow morning to do the increase, because you didn’t get any tests in during the pm cycle 5/6 and we don’t know if he dropped low that cycle and is bouncing now.

Thank you for the reply Bron. Good news his ketones are down to .2 tonight! Looks like the 4 cans of food he's inhaled today may be helping. No vomits or lethargy. BG has been incredibly steady all day today. Vet wants me to do a curve tommorow. Will be getting more PM tests in.
 
Back
Top