6/7 Harvey AMPS 132 +3.75 126 +6.25 109 AM+8.5 129 PMPS 147 +3 116 +5 127

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
6/6 Recap
.5 units bid
AMPS: 113
AM+3: 121
AM+6.75: 132
PMPS: 148
PM+5: 104
PM+7: 120


Yesterday

Today did not start out well. I was awakened by a phone call from a woman saying she was from the CA Renewable Energy Program, wanting to set up a home inspection. It all sounded very reasonable to my sleepy brain, so I set an appointment for tomorrow afternoon. There really was nothing suspicious about the call - she didn't ask for any personal info, already had our names and address. She only asked about the age of our appliances, HVAC, windows, etc. She even gave me the name of the person that would be showing up. The last thing she said was to call if I had any questions. After I hung up, more awake, I realized she hadn't given me a phone number. I used caller ID to call back and got a message saying the Google customer was not available! RED FLAG!! I am usually really good at spotting scams, but she caught me when I was not awake (literally) and therefore vulnerable. I googled the number and turns out it is registered to MCImetro Access Transmission Services. Further research revealed they are scam artists! :facepalm: I tried calling again and was able to leave a message (don't know if anyone will actually get it) saying I needed to cancel the appointment as my husband would be working from home and did not want to be disturbed. I called the police to ask what to do if they show up and was told not to answer the door. They said if the person is persistent to call them and they'll escort them off the property. Geez!!! I'm sharing this all to warn you how easy it is for even someone pretty savvy about scams to be taken in. I can't stress enough how legit this woman sounded, the details she went into about the inspection, etc. Turns out CA Renewable doesn't call you about inspections - you call them. :banghead:

So, after all that trauma, I went to give Harvey his breakfast and discovered I had once again been fooled by Purina. The can of food I left out for Harvey's t/f/s meal, which I thought was FF Classics Salmon & Shrimp, is actually GRILLED Turkey & Gravy!!:banghead::banghead::banghead: I would have noticed the error as soon as I opened the can, but DH doesn't know the difference, so Harvey got about 1/3 can of 17%. :arghh: He mostly just licked the gravy off it. :rolleyes: Luckily, it didn't send him into the rafters, and he got 4% for breakfast, which he ate after only about a 10 minute hesitation. No doubt he was hoping for more gravy. So now I'm getting ready to fire off an irate e-mail to Purina about putting two different kinds of food in identically colored cans! :mad: This is the second time I've been tripped up by that. I started reading each label as I put them in the cart after the first one, but this can was purchased before the first incident. Guess I have to go check my shelves for any other infiltrators now. :confused:

At least for today I know why Harvey is in all blue. And he's eating, without meds, so that's good. :)

I have 5 weeks and 2 days to go on the Autoimmune Protocol (AIP) diet. It's the same as the Whole 30 but you also cut out eggs, nuts and nightshade vegetables (potatoes, peppers, eggplant, tomatoes) since they can cause inflammation. Nearly 2 months down, 1 to go! Can't believe I'm excited about adding back eggs. :rolleyes: But I'm beyond bored with what I'm eating so I'm counting down the days until I can add back some variety. Hopefully I'll be able to identify the foods that cause inflammation otherwise I'll be :mad:. Not that eating healthy is a bad thing, but it's just really hard when so many foods are cut out.
Shane, I feel for you! After my 30 days is up, I have to go through 10 days of gradually reintroducing the different categories, one at a time, with two days of the full restrictions in between each one. I.am. so. sick. of. eggs. I don't think I'll want another for some time once this is over! I can only imagine how hard it is for you, with those additional restrictions! I hope the last month flies by and you get your answers! Hopefully it isn't something that you just love that is causing the issues.

I've wasted so much time today on that stupid phone call. Now I really need to get my exercises done and get busy with other tasks.

Sending healing vines to those in need and hugs to all their beans. :bighug:
 
So glad you were able to realize it was a scam beforehand. That's pretty scary. I hope they don't show up and if they do, please be careful!

Glad Harvey is eating well and without meds too. That's always a great day! :bighug:
 
Yikes on the same looking labels! Maybe mark the top HC with a sharpie? I am lucky that HC is in a pouch so a different form factor than real food. Nice low blue in spite of the gravy treat today. :cool:

Bummer on the scam artists. I am always worried about someone shifty calling my parents. I have gotten so I don't respond to anyone I don't know on the phone. Got a call last week from Arizona, I did hesitate, but it turned out to be Marje. :) New York numbers are usually computer scammers. :rolleyes:
 
I have gotten so I don't respond to anyone I don't know on the phone.
I normally don't, either, but this was a local number, and I was half asleep. I have the nomorobo on my phone, so I don't get robocalls at all. It's very unusual for a call to come through that is not legit.
 
What a good thing you thought twice about the scam! It's so annoying that that kind of crap chewed up your day.

Harvey probably didn't mind a bit getting HC food, I know someone who wouldn't mind either. Those closely colored labels are my pet peeve. I keep them separated in different areas of the kitchen but, every now and then some mo -mo stock person puts them together on the shelf. :banghead:
 
Good thing you figured out it was a scam! Harvey is still patrolling the shore despite the HC. Super annoying that the cans are the same color.

The countdown is on for you to add back something delicious! What's the first candidate to be added back? Chocolate, wine, cheese? Drool, drool, drool.
 
Sorry about the hassle with the scam call. I hope they don't show up. Sorry about the mix-up with the food. At least Harvey didn't go sky high.
 
I did the same thing with FF roasted Chicken and FF chicken classic.
Yeah, Peg, those were the ones that this happened to me with the first time. I did fire off an e-mail. I'm sure I'll get the usual generic response.

What's the first candidate to be added back? Chocolate, wine, cheese?
I'm leaning heavily toward wine. After today, that sounds really, really good! But then, wine always sounds good to me!! :p
 
What a crazy day you've had Tricia!! I don't blame you a bit for looking longingly at your wine collection tonight!!

I hope there's no problems tomorrow with the scam "inspection", but it's nice that the police told you to give them a call and they'd make sure they left your property if they do show up!

For somebody that had a gravy shot for T/F/S, he sure did a good job of sticking close to shore today!!

Maybe you can get him to give a holler to China and bring her in a little....she's a little close to the sharks tonight!
 
Maybe you can get him to give a holler to China and bring her in a little....she's a little close to the sharks tonight!
Done. He's got the rope ready. Did she forget her water wings again?

Harvey ate all his dinner and is working on seconds. I'm particularly shocked because it's not FF! It's Merrick salmon pate, which he used to love and hasn't touched for the past couple of months or so. Suddenly he really likes it! Cats!
icon_rolleyes.gif
 
Good Catch with scam, and definitely call the police if they won't leave.

Harvey may be at the shore patrolling today but not bad for a kitty with a belly full of gravy.

sending vines for continued good appy.
 
Guess I have to go check my shelves for any other infiltrators now.

I just went through my entire collection of FF and sorted them into different boxes by carb content and fish vs. chicken/turkey/beef before I left for Germany. There really seems to be on rhyme or reason to their color coding.

...very glad though that the extra gravy didn't have much of an impact.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top