6/7 Chloe - PMPS HIGH | | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

6/7 Chloe - PMPS HIGH |

Librarianista

Member since 2021
Yesterday’s post:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-6-chloe-pmps-563.248288/#post-2800662

Ended up with some of the better numbers I’ve seen last night. But mornings…

The AMPS is the hardest for us to get because she just wants to eat and is NOT treat motivated to sit for tests. So we struggled. And there was also paving equipment outside this morning. So I’m hoping that this morning’s number was partially due to environment.

My question: I’ve seen on a few threads that you’re supposed to test/feed/shoot within 15 minutes. Why is that? And is it okay to shoot while she’s eating? We were used to a more leisurely pace on her previous regimen (whether we should have been is maybe another topic), so it feels like I’m chasing her after mealtimes now.
 
Hi Alex, the test-feed-shoot thing is a thing we tell newbies getting accustomed to their cats numbers and habits. Testing right before shooting and eating will give you the most accurate number before insulin is administered. The cat should have no food for two hours before the shot so we know that the number is not carb influenced and is safe to shoot. This does not apply to Chloe right now whose numbers are very high, only for preshot numbers that are very low that you might not want to shoot. I give Ruby her shot with her head in the bowl, but if she doesn't want to eat, I give her the shot anyway because I know that Lantus does not onset for another two hours. As long as I can get food into her then, I know her numbers won't plunge from the insulin. The food helps keep the numbers more steady as the insulin takes effect.

Morning numbers will usually be much higher than the rest of the day. It's not really known why. They've studied it in humans and it's called the Dawn Phenomenon. Lots of tightly regulated kitties here who get greens all day get blue preshots in the morning.

If you're following TR and you don't see any blue numbers today and tonight, you can increase her dose to 3.25 tomorrow morning to try to break through the toxicity that has built up that might be causing insulin resistance.
 
If you're following TR and you don't see any blue numbers today and tonight, you can increase her dose to 3.25 tomorrow morning to try to break through the toxicity that has built up that might be causing insulin resistance.
TR recommends an increase by 0.5 units if nadirs are greater than 300.

Going to tag @Wendy&Neko for @tiffmaxee for confirmation that you can go to 3.5U tomorrow morning.
 
I can totally relate to your struggles with morning testing before feeding. When Chico was in black/red preshots he was very nervous in the morning before the preshot, it was a job for 2 people to hold/test. It got better relatively quickly though, so patience is the key word at the moment.
 
I give Ruby her shot with her head in the bowl, but if she doesn't want to eat, I give her the shot anyway because I know that Lantus does not onset for another two hours. As long as I can get food into her then, I know her numbers won't plunge from the insulin. The food helps keep the numbers more steady as the insulin takes effect.

Morning numbers will usually be much higher than the rest of the day. It's not really known why. They've studied it in humans and it's called the Dawn Phenomenon. Lots of tightly regulated kitties here who get greens all day get blue preshots in the morning.

So funny (to be read as annoying :D) how Chico is all reversed :D:D His morning numbers are better than evening and he onsets by +1 and nadirs by +1.5 :rolleyes: This is to show how ECID is soo true
 
Mostly just hangin in her current favorite box today.

upload_2021-6-7_14-12-45.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-6-7_14-12-45.jpeg
    upload_2021-6-7_14-12-45.jpeg
    58.5 KB · Views: 128
Rough night a Chloe’s house…

Took several tries to get a good sample for her PMPS (the worst is when the ReliOn just turns itself off after finally getting a good stick). And then I think her PM dose might have been a fur shot :confused:

To top it off, as I was drawing the 3.5 U for tonight, I had several moments of doubt that maybe I was reading these new syringes wrong and I’ve only been giving her 2U instead of 3 these last few cycles. So if that’s the case, would a jump to 3.5 be too much if I was giving her the wrong amount? Should I do 3 for another few cycles?
 
Do you want to share a picture of the syringe with the 3U drawn up (that you thought was 2U)?

The problem is I don’t remember if I pulled it to the correct 3 or just to the 2. The 3.5 looked like more than usual, but it could have been my brain compounded by the stress of trying to get her PMPS. My own mental health is not in a great spot right now.
 
Ok, deep breath. :bighug: I just looked up Walgreens and they don't have their own brand. Can you add a photo of the package? Are they BD brand syringes?
 
They say Walgreens. I just looked at one again. I pulled the stopper to 2, and that looked wronger than the shot I pulled earlier. I’ve probably been doing 3. I just need a good 12 hours of sleep…

upload_2021-6-7_21-34-17.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-6-7_21-34-17.jpeg
    upload_2021-6-7_21-34-17.jpeg
    59.2 KB · Views: 106
If you gave Chloe 3.5 tonight, just monitor her and see how she's doing. If her numbers don't drop too much, you know you gave the right dose and didn't do a fur shot. It gets easier, don't worry. :bighug:
 
If you gave Chloe 3.5 tonight, just monitor her and see how she's doing. If her numbers don't drop too much, you know you gave the right dose and didn't do a fur shot. It gets easier, don't worry. :bighug:

Thank you for the advice and encouragement. I always stroke her after her shot and this time it felt wet, which is why I assumed I missed some. Forgot to do the smell test at the time. Does that smell stick around after it’s dried?
 
Thank you for the advice and encouragement. I always stroke her after her shot and this time it felt wet, which is why I assumed I missed some. Forgot to do the smell test at the time. Does that smell stick around after it’s dried?
I have smelled Lantus on Ruby's fur hours later. Only one way to find out!
 
Back
Top