? 6/7 Black |AMPS 121 | Nervous shooting blues

Did you shoot? Looks like he is heading up from the green last night. It's possible he just might bounce.
 
I did, a skinny 1.25 because I may not be here when he hits his nadir.
You don't want to change the dose based on preshots. That just confuses the depot and you do not know which dose is working. Also, Lantus being a depot insulin, the previous depot continues to affect the first part of the cycle even if you shoot a lower dose.

For future reference, what you can do, is test before you leave and feed higher carbs, if necessary.
 
You don't want to change the dose based on preshots. That just confuses the depot and you do not know which dose is working. Also, Lantus being a depot insulin, the previous depot continues to affect the first part of the cycle even if you shoot a lower dose.

For future reference, what you can do, is test before you leave and feed higher carbs, if necessary.
Thank you. Just nervous about <50 drops, which he seems to get into frequently now.
 
All of the times he's gone below 50 previously, were following bounce breaking cycles. So if you look at the cycles just before the low drops, he's gone from a high number down to a blue preshot, then low that next cycle. That's a sign of a bounce breaking. The momentum from that carried onto the following cycle and took him below 50. He doesn't always go to low greens following a bounce breaking cycle, but it's a pattern worth looking out for.

Usually patterns follow a few cycles in a row. If you look at the cycles two before he's gone low, Jack has done the "high before the bounce break". Meaning that cycle for the most part has been steadily rising to a high preshot. Once I figured out some of Neko's patterns on Lantus, I had a heads up when an action cycle would occur.

The other thing at play today is that skip the PM of the 6th. Until whatever dose you did last night, the depot was still building from the skip.
 
All of the times he's gone below 50 previously, were following bounce breaking cycles. So if you look at the cycles just before the low drops, he's gone from a high number down to a blue preshot, then low that next cycle. That's a sign of a bounce breaking. The momentum from that carried onto the following cycle and took him below 50. He doesn't always go to low greens following a bounce breaking cycle, but it's a pattern worth looking out for.

Usually patterns follow a few cycles in a row. If you look at the cycles two before he's gone low, Jack has done the "high before the bounce break". Meaning that cycle for the most part has been steadily rising to a high preshot. Once I figured out some of Neko's patterns on Lantus, I had a heads up when an action cycle would occur.

The other thing at play today is that skip the PM of the 6th. Until whatever dose you did last night, the depot was still building from the skip.

He's 3+ 48. I gave him a spoon of high carb wet food and pumpkin, hopefully this won't go any lower.
 
Did you test again? You should test within 1/2 hour of giving him high carbs, to make sure he's come up to safe numbers.
 
congrats on the reducie! I see progress in Black's SS, less black and red more blue and yellow, great to see. He is one gorgeous feline!

reducie pics are required you know.... :D :p
 
Did you test again? You should test within 1/2 hour of giving him high carbs, to make sure he's come up to safe numbers.
I was unable to get back home fast enough, but I just tested him, he's 40 now. This is after eating a spoonfull of high carb, he was also given some maple while I was gone and someone fed him his chicken ez mix with pumpkin. I am back now to monitor - he seems fine, just the that number bothers me.
 
congrats on the reducie! I see progress in Black's SS, less black and red more blue and yellow, great to see. He is one gorgeous feline!

reducie pics are required you know.... :D :p
Here is the old man!
 

Attachments

  • a744b955-0c29-4d88-be61-3017a7d515b5.jpg
    a744b955-0c29-4d88-be61-3017a7d515b5.jpg
    51.4 KB · Views: 79
oh good he's on the rise. Whew.

re: picture...what a majestic cat! He reminds me of an oriental shorthair that used to own me, GA in 2008, HaiHai

upload_2022-6-7_17-20-9.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-6-7_17-20-9.png
    upload_2022-6-7_17-20-9.png
    598.7 KB · Views: 133
Congrats on the reducie! He's still hovering under 50, so it would be worth checking 30 minutes from your last test. He's already earned a reduction, so he's got nothing left to prove :D
 
It's always a good idea to continue to monitor closely when the cat is lingering under 50 and particularly when he has been fed HC or syrup, since the effects of the high carbs can wear off quickly and numbers can bobble around, sometimes they'll pop up above 50 then drop again, which is why follow up testing is so important.

Just something to be mindful of in the future, and here is a good summary info on how to handle low numbers
 
Back
Top