6/6KahluaPMPS=208+3=278

Hi Maria, how long does Kahlua have to be on the Flagyl and antibiotics for? She is still getting them in syrup form, with sugar, right?

I think you want to increase her dose. It doesn't take very long for their bodies to get used to higher numbers and for glucose toxicity to set in. You can always reduce once she completes the course and the infection is clear.
 
Hi Maria, how long does Kahlua have to be on the Flagyl and antibiotics for? She is still getting them in syrup form, with sugar, right?

I think you want to increase her dose. It doesn't take very long for their bodies to get used to higher numbers and for glucose toxicity to set in. You can always reduce once she completes the course and the infection is clear.
I wondered about that. The vet opens in 45 minutes, so I'm holding off on her antibiotics until I talk to the vet. Kahlua is on them for 11 more days. If we get new meds this a.m., should I increase the dose tonight or hold off and see what happens?
 
I am not sure it's only the sugar in the meds that's causing the high numbers. Since she gets it only twice a day? If you get the new meds, you could try that tonight and increase tomorrow morning if she is still high.
 
I am not sure it's only the sugar in the meds that's causing the high numbers. Since she gets it only twice a day? If you get the new meds, you could try that tonight and increase tomorrow morning if she is still high.
What should I increase to tomorrow? 0.85 dropped her to a 49 super fast, but that was before the meds.

The vet said the amoxicillin does not have sugar in it and she's pretty sure the metronidazole doesn't either. She had me stop the metronidazole for a couple days and see how the numbers do. She thinks the high numbers are stress. Can that happen?
 
Stress does raise numbers, but is there anything stressing her out? Infection and inflammation can raise BG. How is she doing but for the numbers?

I would take her up to 1U from tomorrow.
 
Stress does raise numbers, but is there anything stressing her out? Infection and inflammation can raise BG. How is she doing but for the numbers?

I would take her up to 1U from tomorrow.
The vet thinks she's stressed from being given the meds. She seems fine.....her usual self......with less pee and less stinky poop.
 
Back
Top