6/6 Indigo AMPS 195, +2 110, +3 90, +4 71, +5 73, +6 64, +7 74, +11 119, +2 168, +3 168

Just catching up with you and Indigo. I had a chuckle that your vet wanted him more regulated before doing a dental.:rolleyes: Neko's first dental she started the day over 400 - which wasn't unusual for her then. Maybe your vet would be willing to refer you to a dental specialist who is much more experienced giving dentals to older and diabetic animals? Indigo's numbers are a lot more regulated than many cats I've seen have dentals.
 
Just catching up with you and Indigo. I had a chuckle that your vet wanted him more regulated before doing a dental.:rolleyes: Neko's first dental she started the day over 400 - which wasn't unusual for her then. Maybe your vet would be willing to refer you to a dental specialist who is much more experienced giving dentals to older and diabetic animals? Indigo's numbers are a lot more regulated than many cats I've seen have dentals.

I was thinking the same thing, also how can you really know how he is doing from a fructosamine number and 1 days curve :rolleyes: He would not even look at his sheet, said he likes the "format" of a curve :spam:
Unfortunately this is the vet we found who was willing to do a dental on a diabetic cat so I'm walking the line with him to try to keep him happy cause I need him. Any other time I would have taken him on over the instructions he has tried to give.
I am going to take over another "curve" tomorrow as well as print out a couple of weeks of numbers in hope he will take a look and hopefully he will be comfortable enough to set a date for the dental. He did say when we do the dental Indi should only have 1/2 dose of insulin in the am. I'm thinking about suggesting skipping the am dose completely if he (and me) would be more comfortable? I would be more comfortable if he was higher I think, I'm super nervous. :nailbiting:
 
Go with your intuition on the shot before dental. Most of the time Neko had aneasethesia she had a half dose. One dental I didn't trust her and gave a token dose - she got 1 point away from a reduction on their AT at the clinic.:rolleyes:
 
Go with your intuition on the shot before dental. Most of the time Neko had aneasethesia she had a half dose. One dental I didn't trust her and gave a token dose - she got 1 point away from a reduction on their AT at the clinic.:rolleyes:

I know we aren't there yet but would it be out of line to give a half dose the night before and skip the am shot? Depending on how his numbers are at the time? I know even skipping the am the depot could still effect him :nailbiting:
 
Back
Top