6/6 Dyson AMPS 285 +3 254 +6 262

Got a call back... talked to the vet that we had worked with for our other diabetic cat (yes, we have/had another...) Rory. He always had lower numbers and now has seemingly gone into remission. I asked him to teach Dyson how to do so.

But I digress. Talked to the vet and explained what was going on, how we are doing the monitoring, the increases, etc. She listened and seemed glad we had found a protocol that seems to be working, and understood that I wanted to give Dyson the best care we could, so have done a lot of reading up on it.

She's going to be finding out for me if they do the IAA and Acromegaly tests in-house or whether we would have to be referred to an internist. (I mentioned the MSU thing and she said that if we did want to send something off-site, in case they don't do the tests, we'd have to work with management. That's a battle for another day.) For now, I explained we didn't want to work with the previous vet, and we felt more comfortable with her knowledge and care. Difficult conversation. But important.
 
The tests will not be done in house - the IGF-1 (for acromegaly) test needs special equipment and so far only a couple places in the world that do it, MSU being the only one in North America. There has been a very recent change in test technology that means more can roll it out, but it won't be done in house at a vet clinic, maybe another big lab.

My vet tried to fire me to an internist too. I refused that until Neko got more complicated. I liked my vet as I'd been with her for years, so didn't to an internist for a few more years.
 
Back
Top