6/6 Butch AMPS 211, +4 135, +7 221, PMPS 314, +2 285, +5 293

I think you could increase. You have not seen green since 6/2. What do you think? Can you monitor l?

@tiffmaxee Butch BG was high today in the 200s and 300s. I am not sure if it could be the stress of Layla absents. I was thinking the same thing about the increase. Would it be 0.25u? My concern is on certain nights I am not able to monitor passed +4 and this coming Tuesday day after Butch's AMPS, I won't be able to monitor till +9. Any suggestions?

Thank you so much
 
@tiffmaxee Butch BG was high today in the 200s and 300s. I am not sure if it could be the stress of Layla absents. I was thinking the same thing about the increase. Would it be 0.25u? My concern is on certain nights I am not able to monitor passed +4 and this coming Tuesday day after Butch's AMPS, I won't be able to monitor till +9. Any suggestions?

Thank you so much
It would be a .25 increase. Monitoring until +4 will be okay. If necessary you can feed higher carbs and leave out higher carbs. You will have 3 days to see how the increase is doing and there’s always the option of a token dose Tuesday or even skipping if necessary. I want to make sure that you are following TR though. It would be great to add it to your signature. Do you hav3 an auto feeder? That will come in handy at night and when you are away.
 
@tiffmaxee Thank you. I will add the TR to my signature. I do have an auto feeder. What percentage of a higher carbs would be best? I am not sure how accurate the Libre is because I believe it reads lower than other home monitors. Unfortunately, that is my only way I can monitor Butch due to my hand dexterity. I currently have two people given Butch his insulin. I do check the measurement of the insulin in the syringe before they shoot. I was wondering if there was a pattern to maybe if one is not shooting correctly. This could sound like a silly question, but when measuring whole & half units of the insulin should the plunger be exactly on the line or should it be under where I can see the line of the unit?

Thank you!
 
No silly questions here. The plunger should be on the line. Just make sure they are consistent. Tge Libre does usually read lower at least in lower numbers. You won’t need higher carbs unless the bg is lower than usual and you can’t be around at the test before you leave or dropping into low blue or low green early in the cycle and you want to slow the drop. How much and whether to give mc or hc depends on how carb sensitive your cat is and you will learn that by trial and error. Most of us give too much carbs are first to keep our cats safe and gradually learn how much the cat needs. Max was carb sensitive so he just needed a small amount of hc to bring up his bg. I definitely overdid it more than once when I saw a bg in the 30’s or 40’s. If ever not sure what to feed at any point just ask us. Add a question mark prefix and what to feed to the subject.
 
No silly questions here. The plunger should be on the line. Just make sure they are consistent. Tge Libre does usually read lower at least in lower numbers. You won’t need higher carbs unless the bg is lower than usual and you can’t be around at the test before you leave or dropping into low blue or low green early in the cycle and you want to slow the drop. How much and whether to give mc or hc depends on how carb sensitive your cat is and you will learn that by trial and error. Most of us give too much carbs are first to keep our cats safe and gradually learn how much the cat needs. Max was carb sensitive so he just needed a small amount of hc to bring up his bg. I definitely overdid it more than once when I saw a bg in the 30’s or 40’s. If ever not sure what to feed at any point just ask us. Add a question mark prefix and what to feed to the subject.

@tiffmaxee Thank you so much. When I saw Butch in the 50's, I did get nervous and gave him probably more carbs than he needed. Butch does tend to drop early in the cycle. I try to feed him at the +2 usually a snack tsp or 2 of FF classic or some boiled tilapia fish. When he does show me blue and green, he bounces. The same person shot the last 3 cycles. Tonight, cycle was another person who shot. I am going to see if there is a difference in this cycle. I'll start the increase of .25 tomorrow.

Thank you!
 
Back
Top