6/6 Ann & Maggie PMPS 137- Comparing Alpha Tr & Relion

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/6 Ann & Maggie AMPS 118

Very pretty AMPS, today, Maggie.
Hope you enjoy your day :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/6 Ann & Maggie AMPS 118

Wow - lots of people with low numbers today! Kasha hit her all-time low today - 32!

Way to go, Maggie!

Breakfast update: Today - Hotcakes and scrambled eggs again. Even decided it was a coffee day when I saw her numbers start to drop!
 
Re: 6/6 Ann & Maggie AMPS 118; 102

Breakfast update: Today - Hotcakes and scrambled eggs again. Even decided it was a coffee day when I saw her numbers start to drop!

:-D That sounds so good, especially the coffee; I have to skip out for a while but feel good about Maggie's blues. Not sure what kind of take out, as I've been up so early I think I've had lunch first, then breakfast later, I'm all mixed up today!
 
Re: 6/6 Ann & Maggie AMPS 118; 102; +6 119

surf, Maggie, surf!

I was reading through your last few condos and saw that you are using the AlphaTrak meter. Interestingly, in the latest version of our protocols, Dr. Rand does note a difference in readings between the AlphaTrak and human meters. In the new protocol, Dr. Rand suggests doing dose reductions at 80 for cats using an AlphaTrak.
 
Re: 6/6 Ann & Maggie AMPS 118; 102; +6 119

Libby and Lucy said:
surf, Maggie, surf!

I was reading through your last few condos and saw that you are using the AlphaTrak meter. Interestingly, in the latest version of our protocols, Dr. Rand does note a difference in readings between the AlphaTrak and human meters. In the new protocol, Dr. Rand suggests doing dose reductions at 80 for cats using an AlphaTrak.

Oh wow, that is interesting. Then am I on track with doing a skinny .50? I am going to get my Relion meter and compare the two meters. I may even be doing less than a skinny. I remember being surprised at the difference in the two meters when I did it a while ago! I thought my Relion may have not been correct! It may have been a 10 or more point difference between the two meters. Maggie's sure had a few 80's but then seems to go up mid day. I know I could probably catch some 80's at night time checks.
 
Re: 6/6 Ann & Maggie +6 119 - Comparing Alpha Tr & Relion

Hi Maggie....Mama is playing with her meters so you are going to be in trouble today...watch out for your ears! Poor Maggie.... nailbite_smile
 
Re: 6/6 Ann & Maggie +6 119 - Comparing Alpha Tr & Relion

Hi,
I just retrieved my Relion Micro Meter and compared it with my Alpha Trak to see the difference in bg readings. I don't know if my Relion Micro is incorrect, but it read 90 the first time, and my Alpha Trak read 135. That's a huge difference, so I did another prick to retest the Relion, and it read 107. Poor Maggie; I did a 3rd retest of the Relion Micro and got a bg of 101. No need to retest the Alpha Trak, as it's the one I've been using. It's hard to believe the Relion could be correct. I did have my Alpha Trak in to be checked at the Vet not that long ago, and it was fine. I think there was some difference between mine and the Vet's but not much as I remember.
 
Re: 6/6 Ann & Maggie +6 119 - Comparing Alpha Tr & Relion

Here is what Rand says:

link: http://www.uq.edu.au/ccah/docs/diabetesinfo/link4.pdf

You can use whichever you want, but I would pick one and stick with it for consistency.

NB. The blood glucose values were based on using portable glucose meters (Ascensia Contour, Bayer,
Leverkusen, Germany; Accu-Chek Aviva, Roche Diagnostics, Basel, Switzerland) which use ≤0.6 μL of
blood per test. These meters measure blood glucose concentration in whole blood and are calibrated for
use with human blood. Measurements from meters calibrated for human blood which provide plasmaequivalent
values are approximately 10% higher.

NB. It is very important to note that blood glucose concentrations measured using a whole blood
glucose meter calibrated for human blood may measure 30-40% lower in the low end of the range than
glucose concentrations measured using a serum chemistry analyser or a plasma-equivalent meter calibrated
for feline use. Therefore, if using a meter calibrated for feline use (eg. AlphaTRAK, Abbott
Laboratories, CA, USA), or a serum chemistry analyzer, add approximately 30 mg/dL (1.7 mmol/L)
to the target glucose concentrations (see Table 3B). For example, a target > 50 mg/dL (2.8
mmol/L) becomes > 80 mg/dL (4.4 mmo/L) when using a meter calibrated for feline use. Instead of
aiming for 50-100mg/dL (2.8-5.6 mmol/L) , aim for 80-130 mg/dL (4.4-7.2 mmol/L [round numbers
4.5-7.0 mmol/L). Meters calibrated for feline use may read higher or lower than the actual value, in
contrast to consistently lower readings for meters validated for human blood.
 
Re: 6/6 Ann & Maggie +6 119 - Comparing Alpha Tr & Relion

Ann:

I saw your question about how you earn a reduction in Krys/Kasha's condo. Take a look at the Lantus/Levemir: Tight Regulation Protocol sticky. There are also links in there to the Tilly and Rand protocols.

Modified Protocol said:
Reducing the dose...
--- If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

--- If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.

--- Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.
 
Re: 6/6 Ann & Maggie +6 119 - Comparing Alpha Tr & Relion

Thanks Libby, for the link and information regarding the difference in human meters and the meter for felines. So Maggie's BG #'s would actually be 10 or more points lower on the human meter than on the Alpha Trak. When she reads 80 in the mornings, she could actually be in the 70's or lower on the human meter. I'm so used to the Alpha Trak meter right now, so I'll probably stick with it. My Vet works with me on the Alpha Trak bg readings. The only down side are the strips are so expensive. If Maggie is in this for a long run, I may need to switch to a human meter. At times the strips are hard to get thru the Vet, as they have to order them, but I've found a way to order them thru Amazon.com. They come on time and are very reliable. Thanks again. Maggie would look really good with the human meter.
 
Re: 6/6 Ann & Maggie +6 119 - Comparing Alpha Tr & Relion

Thanks Sienne,
I just saw your response to my question on earning a dose reduction. I need to go back and review the stickies more often.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top