6/5 Tessa AMBG 299 +8.5 338 PMPS 315 - dental and lymph node update

tessa's mom

Member Since 2022
Previous: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...198-pmps-275-2-281-dental-appt-advice.290779/

Tessa had her follow up appointment today. The vet was finally able to get into the server at her clinic to look at the x-rays from April 30th and confirmed that there were no tooth fragments left behind and no sign of any bad teeth that were missed. She did not end up needing to do x-rays today so no anesthetic was given. Unfortunately all of this happened after the time frame where we normally give Tessa insulin so the insulin was skipped today.

The vet said she looked over Tessa's mouth today and she believes that the problems she has been having are from lip entrapment. She said a callous is forming so hopefully her pain will be gone very soon but if it does not get better we can bring her in again.

I forgot to put this in my update yesterday but we got the lymph node test results back yesterday - non-specific hyperplasia. Not super helpful because that could be anything but is unlikely to be lymphoma which was the big concern we had. The vet said today that she thinks it is related to inflammation from the sore on her lip. She said her lymph node felt normal size today.

She also said that Tessa already has gingivitis again and it's only been a little over a month since her cleaning. She said it's still mild but that we may want to consider full mouth extraction if it continues to get worse. She said that every 6 month cleanings are another option we can try.

There was a miscommunication between my husband and the vet tech this morning and even though we sent food in case they didn't do anesthesia, they never actually gave her any food. UGH. I tested her ketones as soon as she got home and they were 0.3 mmol/L ketones on the blood meter which is very normal.

Her blood sugar when she got home was 338 which isn't surprising considering how stressed she was today. She was a little feisty when I tested her (I don't blame here with all the stress today) but I gave her a small snack and she has calmed down. She's rooting around for any crumbs of food she can find but otherwise seems to be acting pretty normally.

I can't decide whether to stick with 1.75u tonight or go ahead and increase to 2u. I've got a couple hours to think about it though.

EDIT: stuck with 1.75u since skipping the shot this morning technically reset her cycle count so I need to stick with 1.75u for 6 more cycles before increasing

Based on this info: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/reminder-counting-cycles.50880/
 
Last edited:
Poor little girl must have been hangry when she got home! Hope you've fed her already.
 
Poor little girl must have been hangry when she got home! Hope you've fed her already.

Yes, I gave her a small snack at first so she wouldn't scarf and barf and then gave more food a little while later, I didn't think to write down the time.
 
Back
Top