6/5 Pudge AMPS 264 +5 222 +8 246 +11 311 PMPS 308 +5 235 +9 242

kitten68

Very Active Member
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...217-6-236-pmps-341-6-246.290794/#post-3184729

reading better this morning :cat:.. things coming along too. routine is bit better. administering shot is better. scaling back time has worked well tho not as soon as would have liked due to delays….. posted a question on syringe in advance slightly if anyone can maybe chime in :woot: but pretty much kinda been doing that.. have been trying to keep it close to shot time but would be so helpful if could prepare slightly in advance.. so all can be grabbed and done together without a lot of stress..

eh. (some of the syringes had like small small chunks (silicon?) in em that were not noticeable prior to withdrawing today.. to that beautiful insulin, rip.. honestly.. had to go through more syringes.. ugh.)

we’re ok rn.. think should get him started on some milk thistle.. sigh.
 
well if following SLGS understand to do a curve after a week (tmw..)

but not sure i can be home all day to do this :blackeye: and it was suggested anyway from get go he could start at 1.5 U.. think even 1.75.. (currently on 1 U..) vet discouraged 1.25 because its hard to do.. and could try but not sure. know its .25 increments.. but considering everything, think 1.5 would be ok.. and so not sure if should even do curve; just continue on and start 1.5 U…. Tried also taking a lot of readings this week as we started so as to have some good data. Any thoughts?? :) plz lmk.. ugh.

@Shell @Diane Tyler's Mom @Wendy&Neko @Suzanne & Darcy @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Bandit's Mom @JL & Cooper @tiffmaxee @cecile & bella
 
well if following SLGS understand to do a curve after a week (tmw..)

but not sure i can be home all day to do this :blackeye: and it was suggested anyway from get go he could start at 1.5 U.. think even 1.75.. (currently on 1 U..) vet discouraged 1.25 because its hard to do.. and could try but not sure. know its .25 increments.. but considering everything, think 1.5 would be ok.. and so not sure if should even do curve; just continue on and start 1.5 U…. Tried also taking a lot of readings this week as we started so as to have some good data. Any thoughts?? :) plz lmk.. ugh.

@Shell @Diane Tyler's Mom @Wendy&Neko @Suzanne & Darcy @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Bandit's Mom @JL & Cooper @tiffmaxee @cecile & bella

Hey! My cat was only diagnosed a little over 2 months ago, so I’m new too and won’t give dosing comments, etc. But, I know it’s been mentioned in your other discussions that you’re testing frequently enough to do TR, which may mean there’s currently enough data to make a dosing decision without an official curve tomorrow. :) But let a veteran member confirm that for you, of course.

My vet also discouraged 0.25 increases/decreases but they’ve quickly become my favorite doses….. it’s easier for me to eyeball the gap underneath the line, than to line up the black line of a half/whole unit, with the black plungers on my syringes. Cooper is currently on a whole number again and I’m just begging for him to earn a reduction and drop back to a quarter. Haha! So don’t be afraid to try them, you may be pleasantly surprised.

And yay for week 1! Good job! :bighug:

oh and don’t forget to add in your data from yesterday’s PM cycle
 
How long do you want/need to be away tomorrow? A curve can be either testing every two hours for 12 hours, or every 3 hours for 18.

You don't have to always do the curve on 7 days, you could also do it on day 5, 6 if that's better for you. Today is day 7, not tomorrow, so today would have been curve day. You don't want to hold a dose more than 7 days if it's not getting him into nadirs between 90 and 149.

I have mentioned to you before the option to follow Tight Regulation for dosing as that would allow you to make quicker increases. As long as you are feeding 100% low carb wet or raw food, and testing as you have been, you can follow TR. But it's entirely up to you. The dosing method has to be in your comfort zone too.

I think you started too low a dose. I think you'd be fine jumping to 1.5 units as it's closer to where you should have started. But I'd only do that on a day where you can monitor closely.
 
How long do you want/need to be away tomorrow? A curve can be either testing every two hours for 12 hours, or every 3 hours for 18.

You don't have to always do the curve on 7 days, you could also do it on day 5, 6 if that's better for you. Today is day 7, not tomorrow, so today would have been curve day. You don't want to hold a dose more than 7 days if it's not getting him into nadirs between 90 and 149.

I have mentioned to you before the option to follow Tight Regulation for dosing as that would allow you to make quicker increases. As long as you are feeding 100% low carb wet or raw food, and testing as you have been, you can follow TR. But it's entirely up to you. The dosing method has to be in your comfort zone too.

I think you started too low a dose. I think you'd be fine jumping to 1.5 units as it's closer to where you should have started. But I'd only do that on a day where you can monitor closely.
I see.. well the instructions on the website should probably be edited to say this. I followed what it said.. if I had known, I could have done it today... but it said do the curve after a week; week is 7 days.. today was 7. next day is day 8. :) good to know for future then..

you sure did :) just am afraid of having to shoot low numbers.. but will consider this. will read the stickies again.. and see.

and I understand this; which is why im just seeing if skipping a curve considering all of this would be just fine. just will increase tmw. it's encouraged to not "sail past" a dose I know.. but 1.25 is also too low to a few here as well, right?.... and I see. do understand that too. :) that's right.. need to try to be home if can when upping doses (lowering too?..eh).
 
Hey! My cat was only diagnosed a little over 2 months ago, so I’m new too and won’t give dosing comments, etc. But, I know it’s been mentioned in your other discussions that you’re testing frequently enough to do TR, which may mean there’s currently enough data to make a dosing decision without an official curve tomorrow. :) But let a veteran member confirm that for you, of course.

My vet also discouraged 0.25 increases/decreases but they’ve quickly become my favorite doses….. it’s easier for me to eyeball the gap underneath the line, than to line up the black line of a half/whole unit, with the black plungers on my syringes. Cooper is currently on a whole number again and I’m just begging for him to earn a reduction and drop back to a quarter. Haha! So don’t be afraid to try them, you may be pleasantly surprised.

And yay for week 1! Good job! :bighug:

oh and don’t forget to add in your data from yesterday’s PM cycle
hey! that's ok! any wisdom appreciated :) :) apparently I am.. just TR scares me. lol maybe will eventually.. will look into more. went with SLGS cause its similar to Vetsulin and less strict. will consider .25 doses in future! :) the plunger does kinda get in the way haha. but have been ok here so far.. will consider, will consider. :cat::cat:

and ty!!!! :) :) thanks! :bighug:
 
When a decrease is earned the higher dose often influences the next 4 cycles or so until the depot drains. So it’s good to get a few extra tests when you decrease. Sometimes the cat will bounce and have higher BG at first.
 
The problem with increasing tomorrow is you said you might not be able to be around. With a larger increase, you'd want to be around to monitor closely.
 
When a decrease is earned the higher dose often influences the next 4 cycles or so until the depot drains. So it’s good to get a few extra tests when you decrease. Sometimes the cat will bounce and have higher BG at first.
could you explain this a little more? sorry not getting some of it.. :banghead:
 
The problem with increasing tomorrow is you said you might not be able to be around. With a larger increase, you'd want to be around to monitor closely.
this is true too!!! thank you for reminding me.. Wendy I swear w everything I got going on, my head is in ten places. had a bunch of stuff drop in my lap today. :( :( im going to try to be home as much as I can tmw.. but it is a weekday. :( been trying to do best around everything (and weekends make me nervous as well.. so no to increasing then.. curving sure :) )

thing is too Wendy.. how do ppl who have to work, have obligations, which is mostly everyone, manage being home all the time?.. are people always able to be home when things change?.. :/ how to do that?
 
Last edited:
These (depot) insulins tend to display a cumulative effect, meaning that what happens in one cycle can affect the next cycle, or even cycles over the next several days. This is this action that allows Lantus and the glargine biosimilars (i.e, Basaglar and Semglee) and Levemir to create those beautiful, flat curves, so it is worthwhile to spend the time to understand the depot.

The quote above is from the sticky on what is the depot.

These insulins tend to display a cumulative effect, meaning that what happens in one cycle can affect the next cycle, or even the next several days. This is part of what allows Lantus, Basaglar, and Levemir to create those beautiful, flat curves, so it is worthwhile to spend the time to understand the depot.
Here’s a link to the sticky.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/what-is-the-insulin-depot.150/
 
These (depot) insulins tend to display a cumulative effect, meaning that what happens in one cycle can affect the next cycle, or even cycles over the next several days. This is this action that allows Lantus and the glargine biosimilars (i.e, Basaglar and Semglee) and Levemir to create those beautiful, flat curves, so it is worthwhile to spend the time to understand the depot.

The quote above is from the sticky on what is the depot.

These insulins tend to display a cumulative effect, meaning that what happens in one cycle can affect the next cycle, or even the next several days. This is part of what allows Lantus, Basaglar, and Levemir to create those beautiful, flat curves, so it is worthwhile to spend the time to understand the depot.
Here’s a link to the sticky.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/what-is-the-insulin-depot.150/
yess I did read that.. will have to research the depot more. far as I can tell it builds up in the system, etc.
 
Yes. The insulin builds up. That’s why cats get longer duration than with Vetsulin. Since what happens in one cycle effects the next one, if a reduction is earned that build up needs to dissipate. The higher dose affects the next 4 cycles. Then you see if the reduction holds. So those cycles might be active since the previous dose influences the bg. It’s also why it can take 6 cycles for an increase to build and to see how the increase effects the bg.
 
Yes. The insulin builds up. That’s why cats get longer duration than with Vetsulin. Since what happens in one cycle effects the next one, if a reduction is earned that build up needs to dissipate. The higher dose affects the next 4 cycles. Then you see if the reduction holds. So those cycles might be active since the previous dose influences the bg. It’s also why it can take 6 cycles for an increase to build and to see how the increase effects the bg.
thanks for explaining a bit more! yes right :) that's why its best to hold a dose at least 7 days right, unless you're TR.. so how does that work for TR? especially since things need to build up.. cause know doses are increased sometimes after just 3 days (?) ~ does that allot enough time?? :cat::bookworm: how do you know?? (am testing enough could do this method if can swing it.. but am not sure)
 
Last edited:
It takes usually no more than 4-6 cycles for the depot to rebuild. Sone cats need longer. If you see blue or green you hold the dose format least 10 cycles. By testing and mixing up the tines you test you learn if your cat needs more time on a dose. Testing and intervening with higher carbs if dropping too fast or too low keeps our cats safe. When I say if you see blue or green I mean more than one nadir.
 
It takes usually no more than 4-6 cycles for the depot to rebuild. Sone cats need longer. If you see blue or green you hold the dose format least 10 cycles. By testing and mixing up the tines you test you learn if your cat needs more time on a dose. Testing and intervening with higher carbs if dropping too fast or too low keeps our cats safe. When I say if you see blue or green I mean more than one nadir.
ahh I see. ok. since we just started noticed w mine it took some time longer..

and just woof that's my thing with it.. to bring em back from the brink yikes. maybe with time might be comfortable to try.. but am really terrified of this. :blackeye: o_O what if not around?.. guess you would have to be home a lot for things like that (?). also understand w food sensitivities, if must, can add syrup/honey to LC food? might you kno more on this?
 
Please start a new condo for today and link this one. We can continue discussing there. New day new condo. Thank you.
 
Back
Top