6/5 Jack amps 192 +3 85 +4 78 +6 63 +8 71

Status
Not open for further replies.

saltycat

Member Since 2016
A nice smooth weekend for Jack. He was a nice consistent kitty and kept it in the low blues and high greens. Last night I'm glad I got a +5, he went from 127 to 74 in 2 hours and got a little extra food and a couple extra tests. I think I over-carbed him up a bit, I just couldn't stay up all night. This resulted in todays strange numbers where amps was high and he dropped quick then leveled out. I'm still watching him, but think that is what is occuring. I thought I was shooting through a developing bounce, but in hindsight, all I did was shoot through a carb-hangover:D.

Jack has managed to rip the acrylic cover and plastic guard off the autofeeder so the last few nights I've been feeding the old fashioned way. I had to hammer the acrylic in place it was so tight and it is the same stuff we use to hold hundreds of pounds of water in fish tanks... This cat goes superman style when he smells food. Planning on thru bolting some things in this time to see if that can keep him stymied for a little while.

Since he hit 40's last night a reduction is in order. Planning on a smallish depot drainer tonight and picking up on a new dose tomorrow. Not sure whether to try 22 or 21. I'm leaning toward 22u. In the past 2u steps seemed to result in an increase not long after.

Hope all the kitties are doing good and if anyone has a pill that makes it feel like you actually got some sleep let me know!
 
Bummer on the lack of sleep. Darn nocturnal animals! :cat:

Congrats on the reducie, you can always try one unit and if it's too little, Jack will let you know.

Other than the super cat strength, how is Jack doing? Good luck on Jack proofing the feeder. :p
 
Other than the super cat strength, how is Jack doing?
He is surpassing my expectations to say the least. He had a little rough patch at the beginning of the year which had me starting to prepare myself for the eventual "decision." Nowadays, it rarely crosses my mind. He is always underfoot, especially in the kitchen and has his hangout spots in the high traffic areas.

The cosequin has really helped out his stiff leg walk. When he eats now, it looks more normal. Before the zobaline, one leg tended to scoot out on him when he sat. Yesterday morning actually he stood up to see what was on the table at breakfast(an old favorite trick of his). He is a big kitty and can put his paws on the table and look around at all the tasty fuds. Bacon must have smelled really good and his back leg strength earned him a taste as a reward.

The biggest battle right now is figuring out why he is leaving "landmines" once or twice a week outside the LB. There are 2 LB's and they get scooped 4-6 times a day. No real rhyme or reason why, more of a minor annoyance then anything.

I've lost count on which round this is on the autofeeder battle. I won't complain, it's kind of fun trying to out think something that licks its own butt:p

Liking all the greens he is giving you lately
Between Phoebe, Bronx and Jack, green sure is the fashionable color these days.:D
 
Great Jack report! They really do love the bacon don't they.:):cat:
The biggest battle right now is figuring out why he is leaving "landmines" once or twice a week outside the LB. There are 2 LB's and they get scooped 4-6 times a day. No real rhyme or reason why, more of a minor annoyance then anything.
Same question I asked of Paul - has Jack ever had an abdominal ultrasound? Maybe it's just my heightened sensitivity of the issue, but it can sometimes be a sign of IBD or gut issues. Neko used to occasionally do the same, but once we started her on the budesonide, which reduced her gut inflammation, she was on target again. Ditto with the civie, caught him a few times in the wrong spot, and no more after treatment.
 
I was considering it during the last run of p'titis flareups, but they went away before it got scheduled. I know budesonide is a steroid, I'm guessing not too many concerns on the FD side since Neko took it? How often did you have to give a course of treatment? It will get added to the list to look into and mention at next vetty visit. I can live with the landmines, but I know that going outside the LB can be indicators of health issues as well. With the acro I worry about the slow thickening of various organs/linings.
 
Budesonide didn't seem to raise Neko's BG's. We've had a few other IBD/FD kitties here on budesonide. And it's doesn't have some of the other side effects of pred. It's also better if kitty has a heart issue. But it's also ECID and may not work as well as pred for some cats. Tracey's Jones seems to do better on pred. Once you start budesonide, if IBD or SCL, it's for life. A lot of our acrokitties seem to get GI issues of one sort or the other.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top