6/5 Buca amps356, +3/230 +5/93 +6/99

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bucasmom

Member Since 2012
Coming out of a rollercoaster from last night but we managed to get him out of the woods and into a more comfortable range last night, and even earned him a dose reduction :)

still coming down a little fast this afternoon maybe? Thoughts? I'm going to test again in a half hour before I leave to go back to work. He has been eating this morning, as I gave him more LC after his +3 reading.
 
Re: 6/5 Buca amps356, +3/230 +5/93

Morning Heather! I'm glad you shot through the bounce....looks like Buca took it seriously ;-) and it got him back down. This is all insulin depot talking so you want to be absolutely sure you take him down tonight to .75u so that depot can start to drain a little. The insulin depot from one dose can affect up to six subsequent cycles. Typically, you would see if affecting 3-4 but in some cats, it does affect more.

Yes...please test him again and if he's not headed up, you'll want to leave out some of his food with some HC gravy on it.
 
Re: 6/5 Buca amps356, +3/230 +5/93

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Morning Heather! I'm glad you shot through the bounce....looks like Buca took it seriously ;-) and it got him back down. This is all insulin depot talking so you want to be absolutely sure you take him down tonight to .75u so that depot can start to drain a little. The insulin depot from one dose can affect up to six subsequent cycles. Typically, you would see if affecting 3-4 but in some cats, it does affect more.

Yes...please test him again and if he's not headed up, you'll want to leave out some of his food with some HC gravy on it.

Before I left for work he was 88 at +5.5 so I gave him a little more food and with some gravy on it... Just tested him at +6.5 and he's at 99. I'll give him a little more food, and be back in an hour or so to test again, and then after that it'll be another hour and a half until my work day is done.
 
No worries. He's back up to 151.
So you think that reducing the dose by .25 should be ok from now on? Can I expect these dips for a while until he gets used to it?
 
Question 1: on a newly diagnosed cat, the reductions are .25u. Are you asking if we should be reducing by more? If that's your question, then I'd say "no". When he's ready for a reduction, he'll let you know. Also...because of the depot, we are careful about not taking back to back reductions.

Question 2: do you mean the dives? Some cats are divers like Sienne's Gabby. She's been at this three years and Gabby still dives but Sienne also does a good job of catching it and controlling it. But, check out Mikey's SS: Mikeys SS

Mikey was a +2 diver that almost drove Amy crazy. She learned how to control his dives and he eventually flattened out. Buca might flatten out on his own or you might have to start feeding to control the dive. I'd give him a little time and see what he wants to do.
 
Marjorie and Gracie said:
Question 1: on a newly diagnosed cat, the reductions are .25u. Are you asking if we should be reducing by more? If that's your question, then I'd say "no". When he's ready for a reduction, he'll let you know. Also...because of the depot, we are careful about not taking back to back reductions.

Question 2: do you mean the dives? Some cats are divers like Sienne's Gabby. She's been at this three years and Gabby still dives but Sienne also does a good job of catching it and controlling it. But, check out Mikey's SS: Mikeys SS

Mikey was a +2 diver that almost drove Amy crazy. She learned how to control his dives and he eventually flattened out. Buca might flatten out on his own or you might have to start feeding to control the dive. I'd give him a little time and see what he wants to do.

Cool. Thanks! That makes sense then.
 
Nice to know that Buca is doing great! And earned his reduction too. You're managing very well now, Heather.
Have a nice day!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top