Staci & Ivy
Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...s-do-i-give-pain-meds-now-if-nauseous.278225/
* +2 edit, just gave tsp MC food 72 bg now, dropping fast (reading on Libre 3). What to do to slow drop?
Ivy has decided to finally start working the dose. She’s currently on 3.25 units Lantus. This is day 3 of dose as we are returning to increasing dose from reduced doses last week when she broke her leg and had surgery.
The first day of this dose she was in pink range. Yesterday became yellow 200s and overnight. *This am she’s been dropping and in Blue range.
** she’s finally decided to work this dose. This morning her pre-shot was 157
30 minutes ago, and dropping fast. She dropped to 117 at +.25 on her Libre 3 device.
It’s not uncommon for her to have these very late nadirs in her cycle and do a very fast drop within the first hour right after her dose.
(She was already dropping. Here’s hoping she doesn’t continue to drop like a rock I plan to give her +1+2+3 small low carb snacks.
Any ideas why she tends to have these intense drops either day two or three into a new dose to her, (even though she has been at the stairs a few weeks ago), please see spreadsheet for details.
Please advise dosing suggestions for Ivy, trying to follow TR as she recovers from surgery and on lots of meds. I want to keep her safe with meds but still bring her bgs down to a better range.
Surgery update:
She still on buprenorphine and gabapentin for her pain. And clindamyacin which dues mess with her and we’ve had some nausea. **Need to keep her eating so we can dose the insulin!
However, she’s definitely starting to feel a lot better and trying to walk around a bit on the leg and wants to be out of her confined space and, she still hates wearing the cone on her head when I’m not watching her so she won’t disturb her surgery site.
@Wendy&Neko @Bandit's Mom @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Sienne and Gabby (GA)
Thank you.
Here’s what her overnight looked like:
* +2 edit, just gave tsp MC food 72 bg now, dropping fast (reading on Libre 3). What to do to slow drop?
Ivy has decided to finally start working the dose. She’s currently on 3.25 units Lantus. This is day 3 of dose as we are returning to increasing dose from reduced doses last week when she broke her leg and had surgery.
The first day of this dose she was in pink range. Yesterday became yellow 200s and overnight. *This am she’s been dropping and in Blue range.
** she’s finally decided to work this dose. This morning her pre-shot was 157
30 minutes ago, and dropping fast. She dropped to 117 at +.25 on her Libre 3 device.
It’s not uncommon for her to have these very late nadirs in her cycle and do a very fast drop within the first hour right after her dose.
(She was already dropping. Here’s hoping she doesn’t continue to drop like a rock I plan to give her +1+2+3 small low carb snacks.
Any ideas why she tends to have these intense drops either day two or three into a new dose to her, (even though she has been at the stairs a few weeks ago), please see spreadsheet for details.
Please advise dosing suggestions for Ivy, trying to follow TR as she recovers from surgery and on lots of meds. I want to keep her safe with meds but still bring her bgs down to a better range.
Surgery update:
She still on buprenorphine and gabapentin for her pain. And clindamyacin which dues mess with her and we’ve had some nausea. **Need to keep her eating so we can dose the insulin!
However, she’s definitely starting to feel a lot better and trying to walk around a bit on the leg and wants to be out of her confined space and, she still hates wearing the cone on her head when I’m not watching her so she won’t disturb her surgery site.
@Wendy&Neko @Bandit's Mom @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Sienne and Gabby (GA)
Thank you.
Here’s what her overnight looked like:
Attachments
Last edited:


