6.4 Trouble AMPS 92, +3 58

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carrie & Trouble

Active Member
I have had a couple days of good numbers. I wonder what the vet will recommend? Still no ketones for me...Trouble must be so shy. If I even get close, he bolts from the box.
Hope everyone is having a good morning.
 
Hi Carrie,
Nice start to your Trouble's day.
Will you be around to do more testing today? Looks like he had similar numbers last night at +3. Would be good to know where he is heading between +3 and PM.
 
I have heard you can put saran wrap in the box over the litter. The cat will crumple it all up when they are done peeing but there should still be some drops in there.
 
+5=62

Should I get a +7 and +9?

Thanks for the advice about the saran wrap.

My vet said she wants me to stay at current dose for another week or two. She doesn't want Trouble's numbers going below 100. Seems like a lot of people here are below 100 and loving it. I wonder why she would recommend this?
 
Lookin' good for Trouble. I think sometimes vets aren't as "in the know" on FD as they should be. Mine keeps telling me to keep it in the 200 range, and she's happy. I hear that is what they consider regulated. I personally feel that those here on the board are more lantus savvy, and know better.

have a good one today - keep up the good work Trouble!
 
For future reference, if you get a +3 that is in the 50s, I'd get either a +3.5 or +4. It's early in the cycle and you want to see where the numbers are going.

Vets are not used to having patients whose beans test the way we do. The average person rushes their cat to the vet because they notice symptoms of hypo or if they happen to be testing, they are not given instructions on how to manage low numbers with HC food. Vets will set arbitrary cut offs as far as what they consider safe because people don't home test or don't know what to do other than take the cat to the ER. From the perspective of keeping the cat safe in the case of an uneducated consumer, the vet's instructions make perfect sense.

However, we know how to manage low numbers and we believe in empowering the members here with the knowledge of how to steer the curve and to encourage home testing. If your vet endorses the dosing protocol that we use, which has research to support its use, then in order for Trouble to reduce his dose of insulin he will need to have numbers that drop under 50.

To be honest, my vet doesn't really get overly involved in my management of Gabby's FD. The extent of her involvement at this point is that she calls in prescriptions as I need them. Once she saw my SS and she closed her mouth after the initial wave of astonishment passed, she asked what happened on a day of low numbers. I told her about feeding with HC and she just nodded her head. Her comment was, "That makes sense." She also noted that they don't get taught to manage low numbers that way in vet school.

I wouldn't say to ignore your vet's advice. What I would suggest is to try to appreciate your vet's perspective. She may not be fully aware of all of the skills you are acquiring along with all of the knowledge about FD that you are amassing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top