6/4 punkin amps 318 +3/240 +5/174 +8/174 pmps 237 +3/258

Status
Not open for further replies.

julie & punkin (ga)

Member Since 2011
yesterday

he's been acting like he's starving for the past several days. lots and lots of yowling this morning. i'm wondering if i should increase his dose by .5? other than that, he seems pretty good. if i can, i'll wait for an answer. shot due soon.
 
Re: 6/4 punkin amps 318 - should i increase?

dONT KNOW the protocol with acro as far as dose creases--so wait till someone with dosing help can come & advise you--OK?- I would not increase any dose by more than 0.25U which is the protocol for most cats here not sure about acros..-Not that much higher than yesterday..You are doing a great job.
Just focus on him, loving him, and hope he gets some food soon :lol: :lol: :lol: --
Did you shoot already?
 
Re: 6/4 punkin amps 318 - should i increase?

No advice, Julie... just a happy Saturday to you!! Hope you guys have a great day! You hear that, Punkin?? The bean is talking dosecrease!!! Time to get down to the blue floor!!!
 
Re: 6/4 punkin amps 318 - should i increase?

i did - and i increased by .5. as ppl have pointed out, you're looking at a percentage increase and when you're up in the big guns .5 increase is comparable to a much smaller increase on a smaller dose, percentage-wise. what a bad sentence! :lol:

ready with the testing strips and high carb tricks if needed. i think he'll be ok. i looked again at his spread sheet and he's been 11 doses on the 9.0 - we'll see how it goes. hope i did the right thing!

hahaha and just rereading that it sounds like i'm a lot more confident than i feel! :-D

ETA: his last 3 dose increases have been .5 as well. i think that's where we are now.
 
Re: 6/4 punkin amps 318

Hi Julie, No advice on the dosing, especially for an acrocat - you know Punkin best and you're ready with strips and high carb food. It is so frustrating seeing these higher numbers on PS.....keep up the good work with him and have a great Caturday!
 
Re: 6/4 punkin amps 318

thanks everybody, for the support. i feel like we just grew 2 heads (or maybe a tumor on a pituitary gland) with this diagnosis and now no one knows what to do with punkin! oy. but i do appreciate the support, even when you don't feel equipped to suggest anything.
 
Re: 6/4 punkin amps 318

OK so you just taught me something about acros--increases are 0.5--Got it!
Dont focus on the negative, try to accentuate the positive..You will treat this as you would treat any other illness, with your love & to you best ability..That's why I know punkin will be well & happy!
You are a great great bean..
 
Re: 6/4 punkin amps 318

I'm glad I don't have to make decisions based on Punkin's spreadsheet!! It looks so normal you would never know he was acro except for that whopping dose he's on. Good job, Julie, on keeping his numbers below the renal threshold just about always. I know you don't have to worry about keeping numbers down for the pancreas to heal since acro cats have a functioning pancreas. I have to assume then that you just need to keep his numbers down so there's no damage to the kidneys, etc.?

I hope you have a great day, Julie!! :-D
 
Re: 6/4 punkin amps 318 +3/240 +5/174 +8/174

what a nice flat afternoon for punkin. he's retreating downstairs to his favorite rocking chair - nice and cool there, although the whole house is still cool.

he's happy today because i've got shorts on. why? because that means when he's sitting on my lap to be tested, there's a whole lotta leg in front of his face that he hasn't properly washed since last fall. it's a big job, but someone's got to do it. :lol:

:-D it's good to be loved.

i got another fuschia (i'm addicted) and a couple more pots and added a little more to the deck. it is so inviting!
 
Re: 6/4 punkin amps 318 +3/240 +5/174 +8/174

good luck with the new dose!

When you're on a higher dose, it can be tough to know how much to increase or decrease by. With some green in the last few days, you could make an argument for an 0.25 increase. It's only one cycle of green though, so as long as you can monitor as needed then I'm fine with an 0.5 increase. I tend to go with 0.5 increases myself because I like to see results faster. :lol: I only do bigger increases when I'll be around to monitor, though.
 
Re: 6/4 punkin amps 318 +3/240 +5/174 +8/174 pmps 237

Totally understand the "grown 2 heads" comment. It's as if acro is the exception to most of the rules. I'm agreeing with you about remaining mainly in this forum for every day care and support. The idea of an acro based forum is good, but I feel like LL is our home and there simply isn't any other site with better advice, support, and friends. So, one by one, we'll take the days as they come. We wear a different hat, now, that's the difference. Nice to see Punkin doing well. Good luck on the new dose.
 
Re: 6/4 punkin amps 318 +3/240 +5/174 +8/174 pmps 237

Great comments from Bev!

My impression with acro cats, other than working at keeping them in physically healthy numbers, is that it's managing to keep numbers in that healthy range when the tumor revs up or down that's the challenge. The output of growth hormone seems to change unpredictably which means you may have to drop the doses in larger than usual amounts and do so quickly -- often with rapid reductions. You have more flexibility with increasing the dose since you can always use R to bring high numbers down. Just like with all of our cats, though, ECID.

And I, for one, would hate to see any of our new acro kitties and their beans, leave. You all contribute so much to maintaining the sense of community in LL. I think there are many of us, myself included, who want to learn more about managing high dose conditions, as well.

Those are very nice looking blues today!!
 
Re: 6/4 punkin amps 318 +3/240 +5/174 +8/174 pmps 237

that's so kind of you to say, sienne! thank you.

bev, i agree with you completely. everyone here has just been so great and i'm not convinced that we can't take care of our kitties here as well as anywhere.
 
Re: 6/4 punkin amps 318 +3/240 +5/174 +8/174 pmps 237

Hi guys - so nice to see the blues today. Go Punkin. I, for one, am glad to read that you plan on staying with LL. Your experiences help us all learn.
 
Re: 6/4 punkin amps 318 +3/240 +5/174 +8/174 pmps 237

Nice blues today Punkin. Good luck with the dosecrease, Julie.

I would be heartbroken if you or Bev or Lauren left LL. Don't even think about it....this is your home!!!!
 
Re: 6/4 punkin amps 318 +3/240 +5/174 +8/174 pmps 237

if any of you leave, i'll hunt you down! seriously! don's try me! :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top