6/4 Mike'sBuddy PMPS#311 ~food change?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mike&Buddy

Member Since 2011
Its almost 400 this afternoon. It was 177 around 5am, strange. :?:

As for figuring it out it's been an long hard road of maybe this and maybe that. Pros and cons of vet visits with speculations and perhaps-es.

Previous:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=46829
 
Re: 6/3 Mike's Buddy AMPS#385 ~increase or investigate

I'm bumping you up so some others with good advice can chime in.

Hope you can figure out what is going on with Buddy. If he keeps having high numbers and that is not normal for him, you may want to rule out anything else, such as an infection or UTI.
 
Re: 6/3 Mike's Buddy AMPS#385 ~increase or investigate

Kathy/Kitty wrote: 1. FF: Possible allergies? Would testing a food change be worthwhile? We have had great luck at first, and then Kitty appears to develop allergies to it. In our case, he throws up, but a skin allergy could be possible.

Mike/Buddy replied: It was considered; but these things come and go. He has been eating FF for about two years now. What would be the best question is; Why only now and then these sores appear and when he has eaten the same stuff for a while. (We eliminated all poultry for the meantime).

Allergies can develop after exposure. If you were feeding beef and fish flavors (which are the two that cats are most often allergic to) and then stopped for a bit and re-started, there may have been enough time for a histamine build-up and an allergic reaction. You could try feeding Buddy a novel protein -- duck or venison -- and see if the sores get better.

I would increase Buddy's dose.
 
Re: 6/3 Mike's Buddy AMPS#385 ~increase or investigate

Just FYI, Kitty seemed to get allergies to FF Chicken. Maybe a switch to another brand, as well as another flavor, would be worth the try.
 
Re: 6/3 Mike's Buddy AMPS#385 ~increase or investigate

Well, we had a reason to believe (some speculation of course) that he was allergic to all poultry foods. Should we go back to trying that and stay away from the FF beef and tuna?

Also; most of the other FF brands have a lot of wheat gluten in them if I remember correctly..

Of course if this is suggested what should it be for a kitty that is a FDB cat? Whats a good food for a FDB these days besides FF brands? As well as just duck, etc?

Someone also suggested maybe lowering his dose, reverse concept to make the liver kick in and level things off?

Mike
 
Re: 6/3 Mike's Buddy AMPS#385 ~increase or investigate

I feed Wellness chicken and turkey flavors (both are 4% carb). I've also tried Merrick Before the Grain (also chicken and turkey, 2% and 1%). The Before the Grain line also has quail (2%) which would be a novel protein. EVO has both duck and venison (5 and 6%, respectively). All of the Blue Wilderness varieties are 2% carb and they have duck.

There's no reason to lower Buddy's dose. The "reverse" idea is ostensibly for chronic rebound. At least to me, Buddy doesn't look like he's in a state of chronic rebound.
 
Re: 6/4 Mike'sBuddy PMPS#311

Hi, I will look into these foods thanks!

Well he was a 289 ITD, come shoot time he went to a 311. I guess he was glad I was home and ready to eat.

His sores are leveling off for now; just only to his right side around his whiskers. I am cleaning them with hydrogen peroxide and using neosporin using a q-tip.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top