6/4 Merlin AMPS 258,+5/89,+6/64,+7/43,+8/43 PMPS 224, +3/308

Status
Not open for further replies.

Merlin

Very Active Member
6/4
AMPS 258; 1u

Oh boy another yellow morning. I think I am going to give him another 1u. He was only 30 points higher yesterday morning and I tested him at +5 at a 154. So I think I have room to be good and possibly in the green today. Will probably plan to catch another +5 test today.
 
Re: 6/4 Merlin AMPS 258

All right! Sunshine! Sue made a great point that Merkin seems to take a few doses to settle in to a new dose...my girl was the same. Some kitties need that. I think 1 is great. Hoping he gets some green today!
 
Re: 6/4 Merlin AMPS 258,+4/120,+5/89

6/4
AMPS 258; 1u
+4 - 120
+5 - 89

Thanks. So since he dropped 30 points in one hour, can I almost assume that if his nadir is in one more hour, it could be 59? We shall see in one hour...
 
Re: 6/4 Merlin AMPS 258,+4/120,+5/89,+6/64

6/4
AMPS 258; 1u
+4 - 120
+5 - 89
+6 - 64

Well it was close to 59. Do you think I need to check at +7? Or is a another time better for data?
 
Re: 6/4 Merlin AMPS 258,+4/120,+5/89,+6/64

If it will make you feel safer, you'd know whether he is moving up or further down. But nice numbers!
 
Re: 6/4 Merlin AMPS 258,+4/120,+5/89,+6/64

Beautiful cycle today! Now, stay away from that trampoline, Merlin! (anti-jinx)

How's he feeling?
 
Re: 6/4 Merlin AMPS 258,+4/120,+5/89,+6/64,+7/43

6/4
AMPS 258; 1u
+4 - 120
+5 - 89
+6 - 64
+7 - 43
+7.3 - 39

Yikes - Didn't expect that number. I don't think I have seen him nadir at +7. Well he has been sleeping for the past couple of hours. He is up now and I am giving him LC food.

+7.3 Update - Now am giving him mc food. Will check in 20 minutes.
 
Re: 6/4 Merlin AMPS 258,+4/120,+5/89,+6/64,+7/43,39

As long as Merlin is under 50, I'd suggest tests every 20 minutes like you're doing. Hopefully, the MC will pull him up. If it doesn't bring him up above 50, I'd suggest the HC with him dipping into the 30's. But, you've been through this before, so I'm sure you've got it under control! :-D
 
Re: 6/4 Merlin AMPS 258,+4/120,+5/89,+6/64,+7/43,39

I just tested him again and it is 38. So he got another tsp of HC. I wasn't sure that MC was doing it and once it got into the 30's, I pulled out the HC.

6/4
AMPS 258; 1u
+4 - 120
+5 - 89
+6 - 64
+7 - 43 - LC food
+7.3 - 39 - MC food
+7.7 - 38 - HC food
+8 - 43 - No food
+8.3 - 56 LC food

Looks like he is coming up. I didn't give him any food at +8. What is the right or wrong thing to do? Am I suppose to keep feeding him until I get three rising numbers?

So in learning today. I guess 1u is too much for 258, correct? Next time I get a similar number, I probably should give him .8u. Also why did he keep going lower after his normal nadir past +6?

Thanks.
 
Re: 6/4 Merlin AMPS 258,+5/89,+6/64,+7/43,39,38,+8/43,56

It's three rising numbers you are looking for. You did perfect with the food - first LC then MC Then HC. If you don't want to fill him up, you can always give a teaspoon of gravy off HC. The mix of food and numbers is a judgement call. As long as he is rising, you did good!

I think the .8 might be okay if you can monitor. You know me, I am conservative. Since he dropped into the 30s, I might do .6 for a 250 range. As for the late nadir, sometimes you see that if the dose is too high.

If he bounces, I would still be cautious with dosing.
 
Re: 6/4 Merlin AMPS 258,+5/89,+6/64,+7/43,39,38,+8/43,56

That all makes sense. It may be time to decrease his dose after he gets out of this upcoming, future bounce he is going to have. We talked about after his vet visit on Friday to lower his consistent dose to .8u (unless it is say 200-250 then maybe it should be .6u) earlier this week.
 
Re: 6/4 Merlin AMPS 258,+5/89,+6/64,+7/43,39,38,+8/43,56

6/4
AMPS 258; 1u
+4 - 120
+5 - 89
+6 - 64
+7 - 43 - LC food
+7.3 - 39 - MC food
+7.7 - 38 - HC food
+8 - 43 - No food
+8.3 - 56 LC food
+9 - 70
 
Re: 6/4 Merlin AMPS 258,+5/89,+6/64,+7/43,+8/43 PMPS 184

AMPS 258; 1u
+4 - 120
+5 - 89
+6 - 64
+7 - 43 - LC food
+7.3 - 39 - MC food
+7.7 - 38 - HC food
+8 - 43 - No food
+8.3 - 56 LC food
+9 - 70
PMPS 184; Stall...
7pm - 224; .4u Update***

His numbers didn't go up as high as I thought they would at PMPS...that is probably later. So guess I am stalling again, right? Oh he is sooooo hungry as well as all of the other cats that are bugging me. Maybe it won't be as long as last time I stalled. Do you think if I tested in one hour would be good enough? Looks like I will probably shoot another .4u if I can get just above 200? I think we thought that possibly anything with 200-250 now may shoot a .6u but after today, probably should be lower? Very open to suggestions.

**Update - At 7pm (one hour later), I got a 224 in which I will shoot a .4u. This is similar to 5/29. Hopefully that is going to be ok.
 
Re: 6/4 Merlin AMPS 258,+5/89,+6/64,+7/43,+8/43 PMPS 184; 22

Looks good. No big bounce so far, good dose choice. Hope you have a calm, quiet night.
 
Re: 6/4 Merlin AMPS 258,+5/89,+6/64,+7/43,+8/43 PMPS 184; 22

Thanks Sue for the confidence. I really appreciate it when you all tell me if I am made the right choice or when I don't. It all helps in the BIG learning curve. Your comments previously helped me come to that conclusion.
 
Re: 6/4 Merlin AMPS 258,+5/89,+6/64,+7/43,+8/43 PMPS 184; 22

Wowie! I guess Merlin has made it clear that he wants less than 1u. I think you made a good choice with the .4u tonight. It looks like he is coming up, but he's not rocketing into outer space. I gotta think that his less-than-stellar cycles as of late have been bounces. Hopefully, he'll give you a little movement tonight with the 0.4 units. If not, gotta pull up those patience pants and remember that bouncing can last for up to 72 hours. I'll be curious to see if his being done with meds affect his numbers at all. If I remember, he's was on ABs and bupe. I know lots of cats feel yucky from the ABs, and bupe can make them spaced out, and some of them get some tummy troubles like constipation from the bupe, too.

If you get a chance, you may want to grab a test around +2 or +3 which should give you some idea what to expect for tonight's cycle.
 
Re: 6/4 Merlin AMPS 258,+5/89,+6/64,+7/43,+8/43 PMPS 184; 22

Ok ... will do regarding the +2 or +3. I will probably test at +3. I hope he doesn't go low again cause I can barely keep my eyes open right now. Thanks a bunch for the testing suggestion. Actually he is getting Clavamox and Torbugesic not bupe. The first 3-4 days, he would be so out of it but now the pain med doesn't phase him too much. He seems to be quite alert even after I give it to him. Stay tuned....
 
Re: 6/4 Merlin AMPS 258,+5/89,+6/64,+7/43,+8/43 PMPS 224, +3

AMPS 258; 1u
+4 - 120
+5 - 89
+6 - 64
+7 - 43 - LC food
+7.3 - 39 - MC food
+7.7 - 38 - HC food
+8 - 43 - No food
+8.3 - 56 LC food
+9 - 70
PMPS 184; Stall...
7pm - 224; .4u Update***
+3 - 308

Well I guess it is safe to go to bed... :sad:
 
Re: 6/4 Merlin AMPS 258,+5/89,+6/64,+7/43,+8/43 PMPS 224, +3

Yep, looks like you can get some sleep tonight. That said, with as low as he went today, can't blame him for bouncing a bit tonight. ;-) Hopefully, he'll clear it out quickly, and be ready for anther good cycle soon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top